We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great things come in small packages!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jefferson, Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Jefferson, Washington DC to your Saves list
The Jefferson, Washington DC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Buy 2 Nights Get 3rd Free
Ranked #1 of 137 Hotels in Washington DC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great things come in small packages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a wonderful small boutique hotel perfectly located in D.C. We walked (albeit a healthy walk) to each of the memorials, the White House, and several restaurants in the area.

However, the greatest feature is the staff handsomely uniformed in grey coat and tails and forever at your service. They could not be friendlier or more helpful.

The room was small, but cozy and beautifully done.

I hope to return as soon as I can!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Living_in_Paris_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great Hotel with a lovely staff. This place is worh the money! The room are clean and the entire staff is pleased to help. I had forgotten to bring some of my personal items and the front desk was very happy to help me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
238 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Warm welcome to DC the minute you walk in the door. The concept and design of the "front desk" is unique in itself and thus starts a classic and clean theme seen throughout the hotel and restaurant/bar/meeting areas. The hotel is one of a kind and the service top notch. Each guest room is unique, some providing for those who prefer silence and other for those with four-legged friends. The on-site spa does it all and offers services to guests on and off-site. I enjoyed the dog themed room and its thoughtful decor and array of in-room amenities. Many thanks to the kind staff throughout the hotel. Job well done!

Room Tip: There is something for everybody. Express your interests from the start and the helpful staff with g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reppop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, MI
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Jefferson's renovation is a stunner, from the gorgeous lobby all the way to the bathrooms. I stayed in a smallish room with a king bed (room 602) but was completely satifsfied with the decor, amenities, the comfort of the bed, and the near-silence of the heating and cooling system. Internet WAS included, as was an extensive and pampering turndown service, and the bathroom mirror had a tv embedded in it, enabling me to put on eyeliner and watch Good Morning America simultaneously. The location is great, very safe, and the bar is wonderful. I have stayed at both The Madison and the Hay Adams and this compares very favorably to both, perhaps right in between the two in amenities and luxury but nipping at the heels of the delightful Hay Adams. I rank all three "excellent" and would absolutely return to The Jefferson again on a future business trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Opinion8ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Spent 2 days in autumn with my partner. While rather pricey, it delivers on location, comfort, service and style. Recent restauration has brought out the best in this beautiful building. No complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tortellinipanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

True, it is an elegant looking property in a great location, but I did find that either the room, the amenities or the level of service justified the price. As I have mentioned in some of my other hotel reviews, when paying top dollar, I expect the internet to be included and there to be a Nespresso machine or equivalent in the room. This property has the old-school prototypical setup with everything being an "extra". While we did enjoy the Quill bar, the lunch service at the Greenhouse Restaurant was glacially slow and the maitre d' had an attitude problem. Perhaps we were there on a bad day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cshackle72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, General Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear cshackle72,

I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. As you mentioned in your review, you have every right to have high expectations when staying at a luxury hotel such as The Jefferson and I wish that we would have been able to provide you the experience that you deserve and can expect from us.

Although we have not previously offered Nespresso machines in all guestrooms, you will be pleased to know that in addition to the existing Nespresso machines in our suites, we are planning to add them to all of our rooms.

I am sorry to hear that you were unaware that our internet is in fact complimentary to all guests throughout the hotel. We will review the information provided on our log-in page to ensure it is not confused with that of other hotels that charge for this service.

The service levels you experienced in our Greenhouse Restaurant were not to the standards that we strive for and I can assure you that we will work diligently to address our service issues. I hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next visit and show you the high standards of a true Jeffersonian experience.

Sincerely,

Robert Jenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel is absolutely beautiful. Traditional and classic decor. The hotel staff is excellent and their treatment of the residents is impeccable. The food at the restaurant was very good to excellent. Location was very good. Just 5 blocks from the White House. Easy walk to many attractions. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 906 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,654 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Washington D.C.
Four Seasons Washington D.C.
#2 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#7 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,373 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#1 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 95-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing