We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, consistently wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hay-Adams to your Saves list
The Hay-Adams
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006 (National Mall)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Leading Celebrations
Ranked #3 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Ft. Lauderdale
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous, consistently wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We just stayed at the Hay-Adams Hotel for the 5th time. It is our favorite hotel. Refined, quiet, excellent service, great bar, divine restaurant, super bed.......this is a wonderful Hotel. Weekend rates are very fair. We had a room with view of the White House - worth paying a little extra for!
Neighborhood is safe for walking at night. No tourist and convention buses pulling up here!
Peaceful & lovely. Carol Hudgins, the reservations manager, was a pleasure to work with. This was a special anniversary trip and Carol as well as the dining room staff went out of their way to make our visit memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the White House - some have balconies. Second best - facing the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Arlene L,

Thank you for your wonderful words of praise, and especially for mentioning Carol. She and our team in the Lafayette will be thrilled to hear that they were able to help make your anniversary special.

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    106
    28
    14
    11
See reviews for
188
254
39
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I switched to this hotel from the Holiday Inn when my husband joined me in DC. It was like taking a breath of fresh air. I immediately felt at home. The decor was traditional like my own home. We had a very large living room and dining room with a full-sized bathroom off of that and then a big master bedroom with another bath. I believe it was called the St John's Church view suite because it overlooked that small old church. It also had a view of the White House and the VPs home but trees blocked the view of that. It was okay because I didn't need to look at those things. The service was impeccable. We had room service several times and it came within about 20 minutes. We had everything in the room from breakfast to dinners. The staff was extremely friendly - everyone from the maids to the bell men out front. We decided that we won't be able to stay anywhere else when we come to DC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Openstudio,

Thank you for the phenomenal review! I can’t wait to share your gracious comments with our staff. They will be truly encouraged by your positive remarks. We are thrilled and delighted to be your new choice destination in DC!

Sincerely,
Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at the Hay Adams and we really enjoyed ourselves. What really stood out for me was the outstanding concierge. Franziska made our time in D.C. amazing! You cannot beat the hotel's location and the hotel's old world charm and service. I felt however, that service in our rooms could've been improved. Also, we had a small unfortunate event with the laundry service- but this was dealt with very well by the staff. Other than these minor points, we had a great stay! And would definitely stay at the Hay Adams during our next visit to DC.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear SID&KAY,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Hay-Adams, and for going out of your way to mention Franziska! She bears wonderful knowledge of the city, and I’m glad she was able to help you make the most of your time in DC. She will certainly appreciate your positive comments. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My friend and I shared a room with a Layfayette Park view....view of the trees. You cannot beat the location; perfect for walking to all of the sights. However, the bathroom of our room was VERY small, only one person at a time can get ready. The staff was friendly with the exception of the "overly" friendly waiter at the breakfast restaurant. He kept calling us "beautiful ladies", was touchy and just awkward. The service there was SLOW. I had to ask for more coffee constantly. I would suggest that the wait staff during breakfast be more attentive for sure. My friend and I are not demanding at all, but having to wait 5-10 minutes for coffee to be poured while the staff is chatting with one another is poor service.
We enjoyed our stay, again the location is superb, the staff in general friendly and helpful but the hotel room and restaurant service does not justify the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Akasully,

I appreciate you taking time to review your recent stay at the Hay-Adams on TripAdvisor. I am alarmed that you were made to feel uncomfortable during your experience at breakfast in the Lafayette. This is not the typical warm, professional service standard that our wait staff delivers. Please be assured that I will review this example with the team so that we can reiterate our strong service standards immediately. While I understand your discomfort and frustration in what you have described, I hope that this incident did not prevent you from enjoying your time in the city.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The best hotel in town . An historical monument overlooking the White House . Superb rooms , very large and comfortable , great service , superb breakfasts in the beautiful dining room .A great bar too .. I love this hotel , definitely my best experience ever in Washington DC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear brutravel,

We appreciate the compliment, and thank you very much for your kind words!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Attended a party in their top floor banquet area. View of the White House couldn't be beat. The food was fantastic. Unbelievable fresh seafood, crab cakes and lobster mac and cheese. Hotel is elegant and under stated.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Richard Y,

Thank you for sharing - your comments are everything we'd hope for from one of our guests!

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had supper in the 'off the record' bar downstairs and had the best lamb chops ever ! Brilliant atmosphere, great supper menu, impeccable service, great wines and cocktails and just a short walk from the Sofitel, where were staying (but don't tell them !)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > National Mall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hay-Adams, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.