We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hay-Adams

Save Saved
You added The Hay-Adams to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006 (National Mall)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover DC
Ranked #2 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Location and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The location by the White House is the Hay-Adams' calling card, and the service during our one-night stay was impeccable. It is definitely "old style" with a modestly-sized and slightly stuffy lobby (The plethora of greeters crowded into the lobby area somehow add to the formal feeling of the place). The front desk is small and seemed low-tech by today's standards, but was surprisingly efficient in checking us in and out.

Our room was beautifully decorated and spotless, though the bathroom was on the small side. One thing that was a little surprising with what I assume are thick walls was that I could hear the floors creaking from people moving around upstairs. Careful with the minibar as it's one of those "automatic charge" setups, which shame on me I didn't notice until well after checkout.

Overall, the hotel has a beautiful "old and formal" feel, but doesn't exhibit the wear that some old luxury hotels do. The service and staff was uniformly very friendly and helpful. I would only stay here again if I felt an absolute need to be near the National Mall, but if that is a criterion I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    468
    89
    21
    12
    10
See reviews for
152
198
30
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The location is unbeatable. You can walk to The White House - it is right across the park - the National Mall and many cool restaurants. The staff is very polite, cordial and accommodating. Great amenities, turn-down service, etc. Everything you expect from a fabulous hotel.

In terms of the room, not all the rooms even in the same category, are created equally. We had two back-to-back stays. The first one, our room faced Lafayette Park. It was a fabulous room, nice size bathroom (especially for a historic hotel), and great views. The second stay we faced the church. The room was a couple of feet less wide than the previous room. Though it didn't really make that much of a difference to the room, it did to the bathroom: one of the lights was right in the mirror above the sink. So you look up, and you are looking at the light instead of your face in the mirror.

And finally, that fabulous location has the drawback of drawing the politician types. Generally speaking, DC is already a stuffy city with the millions of dark-suited folks running around. But we found the Hay-Adams particularly loaded with them. The breakfast scene is like being in a lobbyist organization's board meeting!

Room Tip: Make sure to face Lafayette Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Hay Adams is literally across from the White House. DC is quite small, and this hotel is perfectly located to all major attractions. The hotel rooms are lovely, spacious and warm. The "Off The Record" bar is wonderful.

The only gripe I had with the hotel was that the breakfast service was very slow. We ate at the restaurant and it took about 40 mins for a cold breakfast (cereals, fruit, banana bread). The room service just as slow. The following 2 days we ordered the same breakfast and it took 45 mins each time. I recommend waking, and ordering breakfast asap. It a pricey hotel and you don't even get a complimentary water in the evenings (turn down).

Christine (front desk) and Francesca (concierge) were friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear JacquiObtree,

I appreciate your frank feedback about the breakfast service you received during your recent stay. While we all do our best to always serve our guests with a sense of urgency, I am sorry to hear that the timeliness of your breakfasts were not up to our own standards, or to yours. This kind of feedback is extremely valuable for us, as it is an essential part of our continual improvement process to better serve our guests. Thank you for sharing this, as well as your kind words about Christine and Franziska!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
The Hay-Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We recently spent 3 days in DC, a mix of business and pleasure.
We tried the Hay Adams and will be back for sure.

The common areas and our rooms (a junior suite and an adjoining room) were freshly updated. We are sticklers for cleanliness and our rooms were spotless. The housekeeper was excellent and supportive of our special needs, such as sheets for the floor for morning yoga.

Every amenity was provided -- a nice desk with good workspace, fast free internet access, great shampoos soaps lotion, up-to-date DC maps.

Location can't be beat. We had a wonderful view of Lafayette Park and the White House with the Washington monument in the distance. We were within a block of wonderful dining and within a few blocks of our meetings.

Service was excellent, the type one rarely can find in current times. Doormen and bellmen were efficient and remembered our names. The hotel car was much appreciated. Check in and departure were also flawless. Fedexing our luggage home was handled without a fuss. Room service and the restaurant had excellent food and prompt service. We particularly appreciated the availability of organic food choices.

Worth every penny, as close to the comforts of home as possible while traveling.

Room Tip: view of the park is worth the premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear SEWscout,

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on several aspects of your stay - we appreciate the thorough and positive feedback! I am obverjoyed that you felt at home during your stay with us. I can't wait to pass along your gracious comments to our team members - they will be so thrilled and encouraged! We look forward to serving you again during a future visit.

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
The Hay-Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick Township NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My review refers specifically to the main dining room restaurant. Just off off the main reception area this little jewel is traditional decor at its finest. One can dine in elegance to the mellow tunes of the background (live) piano music. Table service is well appointed and accommodating and we recommend the crab cakes! Everything is top notch there. One can finish the night strolling to the White House just down the street, or with a nightcap at the well stocked, classic paneled bar downstairs adjacent to the rest area.

Room Tip: Areas not marked we're not applicable to our visit. I would consider a longer stay at this estab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Kay C,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. Our team in the restaurant will be reassured by the praise. I hope we helped make your visit to DC special.

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
The Hay-Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending two nites at the Hay-Adams Hotel in D.C while attending a wedding. The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating and pleasant. The lobby, dining room , lounge and bar had the classic old world charm that one might expect from a richly historic hotel. The rooms were elegantly appointed and comfortable. We were fortunate to have a room located at the end of the hallway with a view of the White House. Not only was the view outstanding but it was very quiet. The location was perfect in that we could walk to all the major siteseeing attractions.We found a number of great bars and restaraunts w/in walking distance. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

When my husband and I want a break, we drive five miles south and spend a night or two at the Hay Adams. We can spend the day walking Washington and then relax in the stunning bar and elegant restaurant without even having to commute home to Chevy Chase. Ridiculous to stay so close to home? Perhaps. But we love the Hay Adams' quiet, luxury atmosphere. No bustling Willard or W here. Just attention to detail, lovely rooms and European, sharp as cut crystal service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear MrsRehoboth,

I’m thrilled we are your choice place to “stay-cation!” We look forward to receiving you and your husband for another weekend getaway!

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > National Mall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hay-Adams, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;