We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Hay-Adams to your Saves list
The Hay-Adams
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006 (National Mall)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover DC
Ranked #2 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 11 days, and enjoyed every moment, this was due to the wonderfully friendly and helpful staff working at the Hay Adams. Nothing was too much trouble and every request responded to without delay. The Lafayette restaurant was the best, with a wonderful host, Leah on hand to brighten every visit. The food also was well prepared and tasty. Eric the concierge was equally a great guy, and assisted us during our stay.
Although the hotel is an old building, I think this adds to the charm and warmth of this beautiful hotel. It has quirky creaky floorboards but this also adds character to the place.
The location is superb and central for all local attractions. When we return to DC for another visit The Hay Adams will be the only place for us!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Terry S,

I am so pleased you and your wife enjoyed yourselves during your stay at the Hay-Adams! I can’t wait to share your wonderful comments with Leah, Eric, and the rest of our team. We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
The Hay-Adams Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    98
    23
    14
    11
See reviews for
169
224
35
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is in almost all respects a 5-star hotel. The staff are attentive, particularly the concierge Eric and his colleagues who made (and changed) reservations and gave advice with generosity and professionalism. Our room was beautifully decorated and comfortable. And of course the location is wonderful. The hotel exudes a tasteful, quiet elegance (the dining room had, at breakfast, a rather heavy formality to it, but the corned beef hash was superb).

The only limitation is one that no one can alter: it's an older building with narrow corridors and small (by today's standards) rooms. You want to know going in that you're not getting the spaciousness of a new Hilton out somewhere in the hinterland -- and then enjoy it.

Room Tip: White House view costs more and may be noisy. Rooms on the back (we had 500) are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We loved having lunch at Off The Record at the hotel

Staff was perfection. Arranged for a driver to drive us every where for the whole afternoon . the concierge made restaurant reservations and suggestions and were most helpful
We loved our stay there. Room was perfectly appointed and the bedding most comfortable. Highly recommend the perfect location across from Lafayette Park and the White House

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear MyrnaMary,

I’m so pleased you loved your stay! It sounds like you were truly able to make the most out of the city during your time with us. I hope we can expect you back for another visit!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you want a superb venue for a wedding, this is the place. Views of White House, outstanding food, specatacular service and location. Location, location, location! The room off the lobby is the best for cocktails and appetizers. The Top of the Hay is charming!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel has an unbeatable location just steps behind the White House. Very well decorated classic hotel where you feel to have your tuxedo even at breakfast. Likes: a) very efficient and quick check-in, b) extremely attentive concierge that took care of every needs including last minute reservations, c) very good staff at the restaurant, d) breakfast, e) classic and cozy atmosphere of the lobby particularly when there is an event at the hotel, f) bose ipod dock in the room. Dislikes: a) some parts of the room were in need of renovation, b) rooms in need of serious soundproofing as you may everything from neighbor rooms including the one in your upper floor, c) front desk informed in the morning at 6.00 am that there was no one to pick up the luggage from the room, however this was later solved and somebody was found to pick up the luggage. In room dining experience is important criteria for me while reviewing a hotel and I can easily give 5-stars to the room service. Room service was very attentive and accurate and accurate while getting the complicated orders for the children and quality of the food was quite good. Rooms might be a bit updated with larger bathrooms with their current prices. Nevertheless, I would highly recommend this hotel as a landmark accommodation in Washington DC.

Room Tip: street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear ErolB13,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay! Feedback from our guests is an essential part of our continual aim to make improvements so that we may deliver the very best service to you. I will be taking your comments about soundproofing, bathroom size and luggage service into account in acting to make both long and short-term improvements. Our team will be very encouraged by your remarks. We hope we can welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a reputable old hotel with pedigreed history. It's small and has a boutique feel. What they can't make up for in size they make up in service. The decor Is understated opulence. It's more like staying at a well to do relatives with a full compliment of staff. The door men open the door and you walk into a small lobby with a huge gorgeous flower arrangement, They have a cookie jar full of oatmeal and chocolate chip cookies at the reception counter ( the oatmeal ones are better,as the chocolate chips in the cookies are too small) try and get a Jr. suite- the regular rooms are quite small although they have every amenity - I love the heating lamps in the bathrooms! If views are important to you- you had better ask! Although they have rooms with spectacular views, many don't. The restaurant is very good and the wait staff lovely but service is slow at least for breakfast. They don't have a buffet option. I don't think it is a place for boisterous children- they would really stand out in the serene and elegant atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Hay-Adams is a beautiful hotel that seems to have been recently renovated. A lot of attention is placed on details that are geared to please the guests. Every single one of the members of the staff that I encountered were extremely attentive and pleasant to deal with. My only minor complaint is that the walls between rooms áre a little thin and I could hear some of the conversations or the TV next door. That should not occur at this type of hotel, but is not any of the hotel staff's fault. The bathrooms are very nice and include all imaginable supplies. They seem to think of everything.
Do not miss the view from the roof terrace. it overlooks Lafayette Park, the White House, and further on to the Washington Monument. It is particularly beautiful at sundown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > National Mall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, LHW, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hay-Adams, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.