We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection on every level” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hay-Adams

Save Saved
You added The Hay-Adams to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Hay-Adams
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006 (National Mall)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $50 on select meals
Ranked #1 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfection on every level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We loved having lunch at Off The Record at the hotel

Staff was perfection. Arranged for a driver to drive us every where for the whole afternoon . the concierge made restaurant reservations and suggestions and were most helpful
We loved our stay there. Room was perfectly appointed and the bedding most comfortable. Highly recommend the perfect location across from Lafayette Park and the White House

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear MyrnaMary,

I’m so pleased you loved your stay! It sounds like you were truly able to make the most out of the city during your time with us. I hope we can expect you back for another visit!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    400
    72
    19
    11
    9
See reviews for
124
161
29
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you want a superb venue for a wedding, this is the place. Views of White House, outstanding food, specatacular service and location. Location, location, location! The room off the lobby is the best for cocktails and appetizers. The Top of the Hay is charming!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel has an unbeatable location just steps behind the White House. Very well decorated classic hotel where you feel to have your tuxedo even at breakfast. Likes: a) very efficient and quick check-in, b) extremely attentive concierge that took care of every needs including last minute reservations, c) very good staff at the restaurant, d) breakfast, e) classic and cozy atmosphere of the lobby particularly when there is an event at the hotel, f) bose ipod dock in the room. Dislikes: a) some parts of the room were in need of renovation, b) rooms in need of serious soundproofing as you may everything from neighbor rooms including the one in your upper floor, c) front desk informed in the morning at 6.00 am that there was no one to pick up the luggage from the room, however this was later solved and somebody was found to pick up the luggage. In room dining experience is important criteria for me while reviewing a hotel and I can easily give 5-stars to the room service. Room service was very attentive and accurate and accurate while getting the complicated orders for the children and quality of the food was quite good. Rooms might be a bit updated with larger bathrooms with their current prices. Nevertheless, I would highly recommend this hotel as a landmark accommodation in Washington DC.

Room Tip: street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear ErolB13,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay! Feedback from our guests is an essential part of our continual aim to make improvements so that we may deliver the very best service to you. I will be taking your comments about soundproofing, bathroom size and luggage service into account in acting to make both long and short-term improvements. Our team will be very encouraged by your remarks. We hope we can welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a reputable old hotel with pedigreed history. It's small and has a boutique feel. What they can't make up for in size they make up in service. The decor Is understated opulence. It's more like staying at a well to do relatives with a full compliment of staff. The door men open the door and you walk into a small lobby with a huge gorgeous flower arrangement, They have a cookie jar full of oatmeal and chocolate chip cookies at the reception counter ( the oatmeal ones are better,as the chocolate chips in the cookies are too small) try and get a Jr. suite- the regular rooms are quite small although they have every amenity - I love the heating lamps in the bathrooms! If views are important to you- you had better ask! Although they have rooms with spectacular views, many don't. The restaurant is very good and the wait staff lovely but service is slow at least for breakfast. They don't have a buffet option. I don't think it is a place for boisterous children- they would really stand out in the serene and elegant atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Hay-Adams is a beautiful hotel that seems to have been recently renovated. A lot of attention is placed on details that are geared to please the guests. Every single one of the members of the staff that I encountered were extremely attentive and pleasant to deal with. My only minor complaint is that the walls between rooms áre a little thin and I could hear some of the conversations or the TV next door. That should not occur at this type of hotel, but is not any of the hotel staff's fault. The bathrooms are very nice and include all imaginable supplies. They seem to think of everything.
Do not miss the view from the roof terrace. it overlooks Lafayette Park, the White House, and further on to the Washington Monument. It is particularly beautiful at sundown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
394 reviews 394 reviews
180 hotel reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Had a lovely weekend stay in April 2013. What a wonderful hotel. As others have said, the location is perfect. You're across the street from the White House, a short walk from the mall, and just a few blocks from two metro stops. Perfect for sightseeing and business.
The room was very comfortable and the staff helped us get a quiet one. Housekeeping was spotless. The bed was relatively firm and comfortable with sumptuous linens. Great fluffy towels and an even better robe to relax in. Every single member of staff we interacted with was pleasant and smiley.
I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: You can pay extra for a view of the White House, but that means you're facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear TravelCuties,

I am so pleased you enjoyed our hotel and its unique location! We hope to see you again soon for a repeat visit.

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Hay Adams in April 6th-9th as we were visiting Washington to see the Cherry blossoms. This hotel is absolutely fabulous with attentive staff who could not do enough to assist you. The food was excellent, both in the restaurant and in the bar, superb cocktails as well! The room was lovely with two large comfortable beds and pillows. The location was absolutely perfect for visiting the White House and other attractions. Would recommend this hotel to anyone without a doubt. Just Wonderful. Hope we can go back sometime.

Room Tip: When booking request a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Susan r,

I’m delighted we could host you on your trip to DC to see the magnificent cherry blossoms! Thank you for the wonderful compliments. I hope we can expect you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
The Hay Adams
Hay Adams Washington Dc
Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > National Mall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#1 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LHW, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hay-Adams, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.