We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hay-Adams Hotel Washington DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Hay-Adams to your Saves list
The Hay-Adams
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006 (National Mall)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hay-Adams Hotel Washington DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I along with our 11 year old granddaughter stayed for 5 nights at the Hay-Adams Hotel in Washington DC. We travel frequently (not with our granddaughter) and have had quite an experience with a number of hotels. The Hay-Adams was superb. Our room was accommodating, very clean and (I am picky) right across the street from the White House! The staff were incredible, they met the needs of all our request. We celebrated our granddaughters birthday while there and they made the experience special by surprising here with a birthday treat in her room one evening. The breakfast were outstanding each morning and our one evening dinner was great. Their recommendations for other places to eat were also great. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    113
    32
    14
    12
See reviews for
216
269
43
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

After hours of trying to decide which hotel to stay at on our first trip to Washington (we were trying to choose between the ones closest to the White House), I am so happy that we chose The Hay Adams. Having the White House right across the street and being able to see it right out the front doors was incredible, and after walking around, I don't think we would have got that from the other hotels that we were considering. It did not take long for us to realize that the location was not the only great thing about this hotel. The service was outstanding. Every single staff member always seemed genuinely happy to see us, and they truly made us feel as though we were at home. The beds, shower and restaurant were also all great. In addition, The Hay Adams provided other services during our stay that would have added a lot of extra costs to us. We had a breakfast package (which included full delicious breakfasts, not just a muffin), free WiFi, and they even gave us rides in their courtesy car a few times so we didn't have to get a cab. I have stayed in a lot of hotels in different parts of the world, and the overall value that The Hay Adams provides makes it one of the best.

Room Tip: We didn't have a view from our room, but the being able to walk outside and see the White House...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear TR_2013,

We too are happy that you chose us! Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your stay. I am thrilled that you had a wonderful experience with us. We will be delighted to welcome you back for another visit.

Warm Regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My recent stay at the Hay Adams was lovely in every respect. It is a quietly elegant property, without being stuffy. In short, it is the Meryl Streep of hotels...if that makes sense? Smart, soothing, warm and familiar...not too familiar....and always with a sense of professional excellence. I enjoyed a one bedroom suite overlooking St John's church this time (I have stayed here about 5 or 6 times). I would urge you to do two things when you stay: first, have a drink in the bar downstairs before dinner and second, enjoy breakfast in the dining room! The conversations you will overhear will blow your mind!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Fosdyke,

What an incredible review! Thank you for taking the time to convey your compliments about your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your return!

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Using Trip Advisor recommendations is our common practice and has again and again proved to be reliable. Again the favorable reviews have been so true. Such a wonderful location with beautiful views of Lafayette Park, The White House, and St. John's church from it's rooms. It has the best location - walk out the door and be greeted with history! Walk in the doors and be greeted with quiet, efficient, caring and friendly staff who deliver services without arrogance or a pretentious attitude. Thank you to Mark DuBois for his assistance with navigating the city.

The rooms are beautiful, clean and quite comfortable. Some have spoken of the small bathrooms, but they are sufficient, very clean with a fabulous shower. Those complaining obviously needed a gymnasium to complete their personal hygiene. We ordered room service our first night because the main dining room is closed on the weekends. The food was delivered in a timely manner in a small oven so the food was hot and was quite delicious.

All in all we would definitely return to the Hay-Adams and strongly encourage you to give it a try!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Nyeta,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a well-rounded review of your stay! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience. And I must agree with you – Mark is wonderful at making any exploration of the city fun and easy. He will be very encouraged by your praise! I hope we can expect the pleasure of having you back again with us.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

For my "bucket list" trip to our nation's Capitol, I was not about to pinch pennies. Yes, the Hay-Adams is spendy, but to be treated with top-notch hospitality check in -to check out is a priceless (and rare) treat. The best bar in town is the famous Off The Record in the Hay-Adams lower level. Stiff drinks, friendly bartenders and a nice appetizer menu. Try the Asian wings and three different options for sliders! Off The Record makes obvious out of towers feel like DC locals. Saw some famous faces there too!

Room Tip: Request a room on the 7th or 8th floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear MinnesotaWolf,

We are honored to have made it onto your DC bucket list, and are thrilled you enjoyed your OTR experience! I hope we can welcome you back again soon for another unforgettable visit.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This elegant and charming historic hotel is something very special in Washington. Located adjacent to Lafayette Park, the views of the White House and Washington Monument beyond are wonderful. Its central location gives you convenient access to so many of the city's wonderful places. My girlfriend and I got engaged during our stay in Washington and the experience at The Hay-Adams made our few days all the more memorable. From the patient woman who took my reservation and helped me find the right room for this occasion, to the Off the Record bartender with his fascinating back story, to all the remarkably warm and friendly folks in the Lafayette Room who made every day's breakfast a pleasure, to the simple pleasant greetings from the staff in the lobby as we came and went each day - every interaction with staff was incredibly gracious. In all my travels, I have not experienced such an incredibly high quality of service! I recommend this establishment without exception!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Charles W,

My sincere congratulations on your enegagement, and thank you for sharing your thoughts with the public - what an amazing review! I am overjoyed we were able to make your experience in Washington extra special. It is wonderful comments like these that encourage our staff to continue to provide above-and-beyond service. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another romantic getaway.

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We chose the Hay Adams for our wedding in October and everything was top notch. The staff helped us with florists, the band and every detail of the wedding and dinner. The suite provided for us was spacious and extravagant.

Rebecca, our planner, made sure no detail was overlooked--whether it was providing vegetarian meals for two of the guests to ordering special wines for the big day. The view of the White House from the Top of the Hay was spectacular. I was a 60 year old bride who had second thoughts about doing the whole wedding thing after being widowed for 18 years.
Our wedding was relatively small and the Hay Adams made sure it was a very lovely, intimate event that I will remember for the rest of my life.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Mary Jo T,

I am so pleased we were able to make you comfortable on your special day and leave you with a memorable experience. Rebecca and her team will be delighted and encouraged by your gracious comments. They really do never leave a detail overlooked! I hope we will have the privilege of welcoming you back for perhaps an anniversary.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 136 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 746 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,490 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > National Mall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hay-Adams, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.