We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hay-Adams

Save Saved
You added The Hay-Adams to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Hay-Adams
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006 (National Mall)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $50 on select meals
Ranked #1 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Only the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I travel a lot in Italy where service is superb and old world charm is everywhere. The closest thing t to Italian service and charm in the US is the Hay Adams.

Recently renovated the Hotel is the best combines the best of a historic building with modern conveniences. The staff is charming, attentive without smothering you. The restaurant staff always friendly; remembers your preferences and your name. The food was wonderful and beautifully presented and served.

Our room was large, beautifully appointed with plaster ceilings, facing Lafayette Square and best of all the windows opened allowing fresh air, something all too rare today. The bed was especially comfortable and the pillows just to my liking.

If you are looking for a first class hotel in a first class location choose the Hay Adams in DC. Much of the city is within walking distance; the staff is quite knowledgeable about dining, attractions and exhibits. Oh don't forget to get a cookie at the front desk before retiring for the night, a perfect was to cap off your night.

Karen, New Orleans

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Lafayette Square and the White House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, Hotel Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Karen,

Thank you for the amazing review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every part of your stay in DC. I hope we can welcome you and your husband back again soon for another memorable visit.

Sincerely,

Colette Marquez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    398
    72
    19
    11
    9
See reviews for
123
161
29
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We wanted a romantic getaway weekend in the heart of Downtown DC to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary. The Hay Adams did not disappoint. The hotel was poised, polished, and elegant. We were treated like royalty as the staff greeted us with such warmth and courtesy, extending their congradulations. Champagne, chocolate dipped strawberries, and soft music adorned our room. The view of the Whitehouse was spectacular. Special thanks to the Reservations Coordinator that was so enthusiastic and excited to make sure we had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, Hotel Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Isabel K,

I am so glad we were able to make your 28th anniversary a special one. We hope to welcome you again for your 29th!


Warm regards,

Colette Marquez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Spent one night at this historic address. Very professional and courteous staff. Room itself was fine, but on a cold night the closed windows were nonetheless drafty to the point the curtains undulated constantly. Also, our "executive suite" was simply a room, and our view was to the dingy backs of the adjacent buildings.

Sunday brunch was a big success, however. A variety of salads, cheeses, breads (but no butter), smoked salmon. Good shrimp salad, even better lobster salad with generous quantities of the seafood. Then a menu choice of entree. Our entrees of beef tenderloin and sea bass were excellent, and the service provided by Geovanny and Theodore was impeccable. However, the price of $75 per person, which came to about $100 per person when all was said and done, was a bit high--not unlike our night's stay in the hotel.

Although the made-to-order entrees benefited from their fresh-from-the-kitchen presentation, I couldn't help but wish that they all could have been offered buffet-style. Twenty-five years ago the Americus Cafe at the old Sheraton Washington served a spectacular Sunday brunch, comparably priced, with a much wider selection of entrees, all offered buffet-style. For the price, the Hay-Adams would do well to expand it's offerings.

Everyone at the hotel was nice and helpful, without exception. We definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Definitely request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear OldLineStaters,

Thank you for your insightful comments regarding your recent stay with us. Our staff, especially Geovanny and Theodore, will be very encouraged by your gracious remarks. I will take your response to the drawing board to address the window draft, and to improve upon the style and elaboration of our brunch offerings. We hope to welcome you back for another stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Actually, it wasn't nearly as good as promised. We stayed during the inauguration. When we checked in we were given a room that faced the front of the hotel. We were told this was a good location in the hotel. Unfortunately, it was right above the entrance, and the whistles from the bellman seeking cabs kept us up half the night. In addition, the toilet wouldn't work properly and it took three trips over two days for the maintenance man to get it right. Then to top it off, we received the bill for the extras a few weeks later, and when I called to talk with someone about it, it was impossible. Even though this was an american express fine hotel, getting someone to look at the bill,and to give us the appropriate credits just wasn't possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I took a long weekend in Washington to celebrate our 48th anniversary. We chose the Hay-Adams because we prefer old-fashioned and intimate elegance, rather than modern, more impersonal and interchangeable hotels, even the high-end ones. The Hay-Adams lived up to our expectations completely.

Our room on the fourth floor overlooks Lafayette Park, directly to the White House and the Washington Monument behind it. The view and the downtown location could not be better. Our room itself was spacious and comfortable. It includes all the expected amenities and more -- ranging from an iron and ironing board to a Bose music system, along with fine linens and a down duvet. The wi-fi was free, as it too-often is not, and so was was the shoeshine, available every night. Our room service breakfasts were delicious and sumptuous and served promptly on a wheeled table with food warmer beneath.

When we arrived in the beautiful paneled lobby with a massive floral display, we were warmly greeted and, from then on, most staff addressed us by name. Without exception, from doorman to chambermaid to concierge, everyone was polite, friendly and eager to be helpful.

Although our bathroom was not large, it had every feature one would expect. The turn-down service was meticulous, including a linen mat and slippers at bedside, along with very luxurious bathrobes.

When we called room service and the front desk and housekeeping, our calls were answered not later than the second ring, and the responses to our requests were immediate.

The concierge was knowledgeable and helpful in answering our questions and suggesting things to see.

We had lunch twice at "Off the Record," the downstairs pub at the hotel. The service was excellent, as were our meals. Indeed, the clear fish broth served as the soup du jour one day was as fine an example of simple exquisite cooking as I can imagine.

In sum, the Hay-Adams is, in my opinion, the epitome of old world elegance and personal service, a very rare thing to find nowadays.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Lafayette Park, the White House and the Washington Monument.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel is in an outstanding location with great views of the White House. The food at the hotel is very good and the staff at the hotel are wonderful. This has to be one of the finest hotels in D.C. IT is pricey but will really make your stay even more memorable.

Easy access to the Metro to get anywhere in D.C. also.

I did not see or use the pool or spa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the White House or church across the street from the hotel (the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbs, New Mexico
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We just spent a long weekend at The Hay-Adams in DC and it was marvelous. My daughter and I just wanted to relax and spend time together and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. Our family loves to stay at nice hotels, so I feel like we are a good judge and have seen a lot all over the world. The Hay-Adams was a delight. The service was outstanding. The people were friendly. We truly felt like we were coming home. The food was amazing!!! We ate in the restaurant and also in our room and it was so good. The amenities that were provided were also a delight - just in the way everything was presented. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
The Hay Adams
Hay Adams Washington Dc
Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > National Mall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#1 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LHW, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Amex, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hay-Adams, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.