We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ornamental Fireplace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hay-Adams

Save Saved
You added The Hay-Adams to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006 (National Mall)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover DC
Ranked #3 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Afton, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ornamental Fireplace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Hay-Adams Christmas night. I had requested a room with a fireplace. After the Christmas rush and planning to attend a funeral the next day, we were in need of cozy quiet. I did not realize that "ornamental fireplace" translates to non-working fireplace. This was my mistake. To me, a non-working fireplace is just a hole in the wall. If a fireplace is important to you, I was told that only room 812 has a working fireplace. On the other hand, everyone was friendly and efficient. The color scheme is soothing and the flowers perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    448
    84
    22
    12
    10
See reviews for
143
186
30
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed in the Hay Adams in 2012, and had to say that the place was frankly miserable. It's an okay hotel. Amazing service, but pathetic rooms, uncomfortable beds, and a snobby concierge who treated me and my wife like we were pests. The room service was tasteless and over-expensive. The hotel restaurant was also utterly terrible - the gnocci was stale and disgusting. No idea who the legions of people are who love this place - we're not them, I suppose. The Hotel Palomar makes this place look like a Super 8.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear EdZ60763,

Thank you very much for your constructive criticism. Frankly, I am a little surprised and dismayed at your delayed response. Based on our distinguished reputation, legions of supportive guests, and as a proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World, it is always our first and foremost desire to rectify any shortfalls in our services and product. I now know that we sincerely tried very hard to meet your specific needs while you were still registered. Obviously, we failed, despite all team members being keenly aware of your sensitivity. I assure you that your concerns expressed have prompted further discussions in our desire to further strengthen our time-honored and well-established status.

As a further token of my concern and a desire to restore you and your wife’s confidence in our service and facility, I would like to offer you a complimentary stay on a return visit. However, if you prefer, as an alternative, I would be happy to assist you with accommodations more suitable to your and your wife’s taste and preferences, as expressed in your response, for one night (on a mutually agreeable date) with our compliments within the year. Please contact my office directly.


Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I am not sure who the 8 are who rate the HA as "terrible" but all I can say is that I had the best birthday stay here ever on any continent.Pre Xmas is a mad rush in DC but also uberglamorous and the HA lives up to everything and America grand hotel ever was and will be.Beautiful bed linens, super comfy beds, every detail and amenity catered for,service beyond service...everyone knows your name, a fantastic doorman-really first class, wonderful wait staff in the Lafayette for breakfast, a room overlooking the WH and a magnificent view of all the main landmarks besides, oh and the apple cider in the lobby, oh and the warm cookies aaargh I want to live at the HA...I could go on and on...plus the essential a wonderful bar-non bar (don't come schlepping in in jeans pleassse)...in fact ended up having dinner 2 nights in a row at the bar...see that review and missed out on tons of fab eateries...ah well it will be for next time when I come back to the HA...the magnolia will be wonderful in May.Oh and don't miss looking into the Presidents Church right across the road, take in Lincoln's solitary pew and admire the stained glass cuppola.

Room Tip: WH views natch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear am10,

We very much appreciate your compliments. I am very pleased to learn about your wonderful stay with us. These lovely remarks will certainly be very encouraging to our staff. We wish you a wonderful holiday!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed at the Hay Adams for the 3rd time in mid December 2012 for a business event. Amazing location...right next to the White House. Great restaurant, rooms and service. Beautifully decorated lobby and common areas, and the basement bar is historic and memorable.

My only complaint is the creaky floors and neighborhood noise in the rooms. Tough to address in a historic building, and definitely NOT a reason to avoid, but worth noting.

Don't miss the 9th floor view of the White House!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Colin S,

Thank you for your words of praise, and for your feedback on the floors. We will certainly take your remarks into consideration when looking into future property improvements. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We just came back from a four day stay at The Hay-Adams and enjoyed every moment of our time there. Service, service and more service is their motto. From the moment of check-in we felt both welcomed and part of the family. Greeting us by name throughout our visit made us feel like this was our luxury home away from home. And what can I say about Leah, the morning host at the Lafayette restaurant in the hotel - each morning she greeted us with a hug - do you see the family theme here? She is a delight and made every day special. The room was well appointed and after a day of sight seeing the most comfortable bed welcomed us into a wonderful slumber. Most of our activities were in the White House so the location could not be better. On one evening my partner's knee was acting up and he needed it iced - in a matter of minutes the housekeeper brought us a bag of ice and checked in to see how he was doing - I mean REALLY! Another evening we were headed to Georgetown and rather than wait for the taxi the doorman brought the hotel limo to drive us there. We cannot wait to come back next spring.
Salim and Monty

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Salim & Monty,

What a glowing review - our team was simply overjoyed to have received this praise, especially Leah and the housekeeper who assisted you. Our staff go out of their way to provide the absolute best in guest service and hospitality. We are truly delighted that your stay with us was a memorable one. We will be thrilled to welcome you back in the new year!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

With a view on the White House it is simply magical, especially in the evening. The service is top-notch, the rooms luxurious, bedding sublime...everything exactly as it should be. The Black Angus burger is to die for, even at its seemingly high price. The gnocchi is also delicious. Indulge yourself and you will be back again and again. Thank you Hay Adams and The Lafayette!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great view of the White House from my fifth floor room. So what are you getting here? Terrific service, great location and a very comfortable bed. So service....from the moment you arrive they are on game, no request goes unanswered. The best location in DC. Wonderful bed and the noise from the surroundings is minimal.

Only minor criticism is a very small bathroom. Common with older hotels but this one was really small. Number 1 in DC? Tough call between the Hay Adams and The Jefferson.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear BTrun 78,

Thank you for the kind remarks, and we are looking forward on welcoming you back you soon.

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > National Mall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hay-Adams, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.