We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hay-Adams Hotel is fabulous & elegant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hay-Adams to your Saves list
The Hay-Adams
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006 (National Mall)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover DC
Ranked #2 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Ft. Lauderdale
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hay-Adams Hotel is fabulous & elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We just spent one glorious overnight at Hay-Adams Hotel in Washinton, D.C. with a spectacular room facing the White House (+ balcony). The Hotel gave us a surprise upgrade because I mentioned that my husband was not well. Service is superb. A special place. Quiet, understated, elegant - you pay for it, but it is a real treat. Dining room is also elegant with deluxe service.

Room Tip: Spring for a room facing the White House (w/ balcony) - unbelievable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind remarks regarding your stay at The Hay-Adams. I am pleased to hear that we took good care of your husband when he was not feeling too well. Please visit us again soon in the future!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    98
    23
    14
    11
See reviews for
169
224
35
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Just returned from a dinner event I held in honor of my best friends 60th birthday. I will never forget this experience for the rest of my life. When we entered the hotel, we were greeted by staff and personally escorted to the "Top of the Hay". This banquet and party area cannot possibly be replicated anywhere. The rooftop is enclosed yet is entirely surrounded by floor to ceiling windows that allowed us to see every important sight in Washington, D.C. It was truly amazing to be sitting and having dinner while looking at the White House, Monument, Executive Office Building, the Mall, the Jefferson Memorial and Reagan Airport. What is even more amazing is that we started dinner at 6:30 pm and were able to see the city in daytime yet then get the experience of watching the sun go down and see the city at night in lights. The staff at the Hay Adams are truly professional. Our Maitre D John Graham was the most amazing individual. He knows the sights, he understands food concepts and created a euphoria as he described each dish to us watching our mouths salivate as the dishes were presented. What is even more amazing is the "family concept of service" that exists at the Hay Adams. The director of operations, Colette Marquez, assisted with the planning of our dinner and kept checking on us to make sure that everything was perfect. She creates high standards in the hotel and it is obvious she has gained everyones respect. Chef Nicholas Legret prepared artistic dishes for us that not only were museum quality pieces of art but were exquisite in taste. We had a trio of cold soups including a delicious corn soup, gazpacho and cauliflower soup. The breads were freshly prepared including raisin bread and delicious garlic crackers. We enjoyed a tuna in a captivating asian sauce. The desserts were unbelievable. They were masterfully prepared and we even had chocolates served over a bed of rose petals. The chefs came out at the end of the meal and made sure we were pleased with their preparations. When reading the other reviews, I cannot help but agree with a recent review that called this hotel the very best of the best. I cannot wait to have another special occasion to have an event at the top of the hay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel provides the ultimate of perfection! Every guest is greeted by name from the time they enter to the time which they leave. The rooms are elegantly comfortable, room service is quick and the food is delicious I adore the Hay-Adams!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Located across the stree from the White House, the Hay-Adams is an excellent, centrally situated hotel. Rooms are elegant with all up-to-date amenities. Service is outstanding, friendly and extremely professional. Room service is fast and the food is very good. This is a comfortable, elegant hotel that is used to serving dignitaries -- and makes the regular traveler feel like a dignitary, too!

Room Tip: Worth spending a little extra for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in May. What a hotel! Amazing service, from the front door, check in, to all the staff who work here, it is a gem of a hotel. Location is perfect for the White house, although beware Washington is a big city, so plan your visit and arrange how you plan to get around. It can also get really warm, so watch out for that too! Our room was very big and spacious.

We spent 2 of the 3 nights in the Off The Record bar downstairs. We could have gone there every night because of how lovely a bar it is, with great food and good value. You can tell a lot of decisions may have been made in this little hidden away bar.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I travel a lot and I love a great hotel and the Hay Adams is just that---the location (across the street and a park from the White House with a view of the Washington Monument just behind), the service (a doorman that handed me cold bottled water and towel when I returned from a run; or a checkin at yes 8am without a question or concern)---all of it adds up to a great stay. The rooms have an old-fashioned but fresh feel. I loved the soothing color schemes, the mile-high down pillows and comforter, heck even the bath products are generous and great quality. I cannot say enough about it and have already booked a room to return to visit my daughter in late June. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for something overlooking Lafayette Park (toward the White House)---
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I so love this hotel. It is traditional and the rooms have so much character. We stayed in a suite that was beautifully decorated with a direct view of the White House. I couldn't believe the windows actually opened so I could take a great picture. The breakfasts were excellent and we loved the cosy bar downstairs which seemed always to be buzzing. The lobby is small which is fine by me as I liked the intimate atmosphere. The concierge was so helpful as were all of the staff we encountered. I can't think of even a minute disappointment other than the lack of a pool although the small fitness centre was quite adequate. Have stayed at several hotels in Washington but this is the best.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > National Mall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, LHW, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hay-Adams, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.