We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly personal hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hay-Adams to your Saves list
The Hay-Adams
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006 (National Mall)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Leading Celebrations
Ranked #2 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A truly personal hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Everyone from the bellman to the manager makes you feel special. We stayed at The Hay-Adams for three nights recently. I had always heard about its historical significance and since we were visiting the White House it was a must. It is a small hotel by Washington standards. No hustle and bustle in the lobby just very attentive individuals that go out of their way to please. The hotel was refurbished a few years ago. Our room was very comfortable and roomy with a sitting area and all amenities one would expect from a world class hotel including free wifi. We ate only one meal at the hotel, breakfast, which was extemely well done. Their main diningroom is very lovely with piano music at dinner. It is nice to be well taken care of and not herded around. Their motto says it all "we overlook nothing but the White House."

Room Tip: You can spend more for a room and have a view of the White House. We had an inside room that was lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    113
    30
    14
    12
See reviews for
206
265
43
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This elegant hotel is literally just a stone's throw away from the White House and right across the street from Lafayette Park, which is a great location to view the White House, people watch or just sit on a park bench and read your favorite book.

Walking into the Hay Adams you are immediately struck by its intimate surroundings. The reservation and conceirge alcoves are immediately to your right and left and the elevator is just a few steps away. The rich surroundings in the small foyer gives you the distinct impression that you are walking into an luxurious private club.

We got to the hotel a few hours early; no problem. Our bags were stored and brought up to our room while we were out sightseeing. Dealing with the reservation desk was a delight (when was the last time you saw that term used to describe the front desk) whether it was getting change for a twenty, receiving a hard copy of our bill or snagging a tasty treat from the always filled cookie jar.

From our room we could directly looked across at St. John's Church, known as the "Church of Presidents". The room was average in size but was well appointed with beautiful prints of Washington monuments, a king size bed draped with fine European linens and a Bose stereo system. The bathroom was also modest in size but had beautifull brass fixtures and also had what a bathroom truly needs most: plenty of hot water.

This hotel is known for its service and it delivers it in every way. Houskeeping is truly spectacular. My wife and I have stayed at several five star hotels and she always at least finds one "dust bunny". Not here! The place was always immaculate and there was always plenty of fresh towels and top of the line lotions. Turn down service - with a little tray with chocolates and a card detailing the next several days forecast - was something to look forward to each night.

The concierge desk helped us planned our trips and gave us some great advice about where to eat. However, their best assistance was when I accidently left my credit card on the table of a restaurant the previous night and after several failed attempts by me to get a hold of someone, I told my plight to the concierge and he got on the phone to the establishment and within ten minutes I had my card. These guys are good!

We had breakfast each day in the hotel's restaurant, which overlooks Lafayette Park and depending where you sit, views of the White House. Service was first class and the food was terrific (try the oatmeal souffle with warm fruit sauce for something totally and deliciously different) Downstairs tucked away in the basement of the hotel is there bar "Off the Record" where you can grab a drink or a sandwich. The place is perfect for a nightcap.

This hotel is a great place if you want 5 star service in a beautifully sophisticated setting. The Hay Adams is not cheap to stay at, but here you get what you pay for, and that is a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Stayed there for a few nights end of September 2011. The cost was prohibitive even for a small room (and no view of the White House for me) but it was still nice. Lots of free things: complimentary shoe shine, free newspapers (national and foreign), free wifi, free local telephone calls, free business centre- open 24 hours a day- it’s like having your office with you. Very practical: the overnight pressing service to take care of your crumpled suits (alternative: the ironing board in the wardrobe for the cost conscious). Turndown service includes filling of the ice bucket and tuning the Bose radio/CD player to your favorite station. Bathroom is well-stocked, with plush towels and toiletries by Asprey- bathrobe is a bit cheap-looking (microfiber on the outside/cotton on the inside). TV could be better: a bit cumbersome to use and the choice of non-US channels is limited (no BBC, no German, no French). Good breakfast in the downstairs restaurant- and it is a la carte only- no need to get up for anything. If there is a problem that needs taken care of: mumble a few incoherent words to the concierge (that’s what I did) and consider it done. Staff is wonderful and makes you feel at home. Great for people watching if you are interested in Wall Street celebrities, Black Amex card holders and ladies who lunch

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

You can't beat the location, if your destination is downtown DC or the White House. The staff seems well-trained and seems to execute at a very high level. The room I received fronted 16th Street and looked out upon the "Church of the Presidents" across the street. The lobby is very well-maintained with lots of wood. The style is more traditional or classic, rather than contemporary/trendy. Our group paid $335/night on a discounted basis, and I understand the week we stayed was a rather high-volume, high-demand one for DC hotels; the rack rates for the Hay-Adams for this week began at $525. The bed in particular was very, very comfortable, and I was also pleased with the general volume of space in my room, the size of the closets, and the size and lighting in the bathroom. The bathroom amenities were very nice. Nightly turn-down service and a Bose radio on the desk, and also a large TV and well-stocked minibar. My only non-satisfactions were with the overnight complimentary shoe-shine service (they delivered my shoes very late), newspaper delivery (also fairly late), and the breakfast I enjoyed with business associates was very expensive yet was not very substantial nor remarkable in quality.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The Hay-Adams has an old-fashioned, luxurious English feel. The staff were friendly and accommodating, and the style in the room is relaxing and comfortable. The room service food was very excellent: fresh, delicious, and prompt. They couldn't make an iced cafe latte, and the bathroom periodically smelled strongly of cigarettes (vents from an adjacent room?), but one cannot quibble. They were also remarkably kind to our children.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I had an emergency family trip during a very busy weekend in DC so I stayed at the Hay-Adams even though it was more than I usually spend. Everything about the experience was worth it! The staff from the doorman to the reception staff were amazingly wonderful. Their promotional materials say "the only thing we overlook is the White House" and this is not hyperbole. Easy walk to the White House and Smithsonian locations. GREAT bar is located in the basement. As a woman alone I felt perfectly safe and comfortable having a nightcap.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Absolutely the best hotel with wonderful people who are friendly, helpful and make you feel that you own the place.

Room Tip: Facing the church or the White House but all the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,448 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > National Mall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hay-Adams, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.