We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service; nice room; good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Madera, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1310 New Hampshire Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade Your Stay
Ranked #26 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great service; nice room; good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Upon checkin the hotel feels a bit worn out in public area, such as lobby and elevator, but the room is very nice. Bathroom is very small, but water pressure is strong. Good looking sink area. The bed is large and comfy. Kimpton seems to have thoughtful focus on things that matter most.This hotel is taller than most surrounding buildings, so you might get a pretty good view at higher floors.Staff is very friendly and personal to your needs. Short walk to Dupont Circle metro on the red line. Their restaurants Firefly has great breakfast as well. Try out the french toast!

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello Duxingzhe, we are so happy your visit was a great one. Yes, on some of the higher floors on the west facing side of the building you have a view of the National Cathedral! So glad you liked the french toast, the pancakes are also killer! Thanks again and see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    284
    94
    26
    10
See reviews for
157
308
81
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great hotel. Boutique in nature. Stayed on the 6th floor. Good-sized room with space to spread out. Appreciated the unique layout and the funky decor. The front desk personnel were helpful. There was a glitch with the wake-up call, so it was good that I wasn't depending on it. Seems to be in a good location and close to a lot of activity. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello EpicureanMe, thanks for the lovely review. Sorry about the mix up with your wake up call. This is totally important to nail on time for all of our guests. Thanks for hte feedback so we can fix this issue. Please visit soon, Modi Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the 6th floor facing the street. Currently there is construction being done outside, so it sounds and looks awful. I was walking all over though, so I wasn't in the room much. I walked to Georgetown for shopping, the National Geographic Museum, and to the White House area. There is a metro in walking distance too if you want to go further. The parking is very pricy! $43 for overnight parking. We got half off for driving a hybrid! The hotel provides dog dishes, a yoga mat, and an umbrella. Free coffee in the AM, free papers, free infused water, free wine 5-6, and the staff us very friendly. The restaurant inside the hotel was pricey. I got a $12, juice for breakfast! Talk about buyers remorse! Overall the hotels boutique look and Eco friendly touches made our stay very nice. I am sure once the construction goes away, all will be well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Natdl11, yes the construction isnt great to look at. The good news is they are coming to the tail end. Once it is all said and done the street will be sparkiling new with new sidewalks, lamp posts, and smoother traffic flow. Thanks for your patience! Glad you could walk everywhere you needed, we also bikes to rent if you'd prefer. Thansk for bringing your dog and please visit soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We celebrated our 27th wedding anniversary in the Madera in DC. Our concierge Aron was amazing and it was obvious he loved this city and his job! When we checked in he upgraded us to an Executive King which was a gigantic room. He offered a balcony room but since it was incredibly hot and humid we decided we wouldn't be spending much time out on the balcony so we opted for the larger suite. When he found out we were celebrating our anniversary, he gave us complimentary breakfast for our ENTIRE stay! He was generous in offering advice and really went above and beyond when we wanted to borrow their house bicycles for the day (unfortunately they only had one as the other was in repairs so Aron had to hunt one down, sadly unsuccessfully — but it worked out because it was easier to do our outing by foot anyway).
Kimptons in general are very service oriented hotels, but this one even exceeded my expectations. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: DC can get very hot and humid, so a balcony is not really advisable. 7th floor was quite quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: Seem to be quite environmental; all lights are double switched compact fluorescent that have a warm light setting which is much more pleasant than the standard cold lighting.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello et-toronto, thank you so much for staying at the Madera during your 27th wedding anniversary! Such a special event! I am so happy your visit was a great one and Aaron exceeded your expectations of service! Happy anniversary and thanks for the review, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MIchigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My new favorite DC hotel! The Kimpton Madera is in what looks to be an old 1950s- or 1960s-era apartment building and is a smaller, kitschier counterpart to the Palomar or Monaco. Cool '60s decor in the lobby and rooms. The rooms themselves are large and very nice, and the hotel is located in a little quieter part of DuPont Circle than the Palomar. Bathrooms are quite small, but really no big deal. The Firefly restaurant/bar next door to the hotel is also a great selling point, they're good for breakfast, afternoon drinks, dinner or a late-night snack. Staff is also very friendly/helpful. I find the cozy, clean, laid-back ambiance of the Madera preferable to its more upscale Kimpton counterparts, and I definitely prefer the fact that it is a couple hundred bucks less for the weekend!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Halinmich, now that we're your new favorite you have to stay with us everytime you visit DC!!!! Yes our location is great to see every part of the city, especially since the Metro is so close. Thanks for hte review Halinmich and we WILL see you again. Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

When planning a trip with a friend to Washington, I used a AAA travel agent and hoped to get a reasonably priced hotel near the Metro somewhere across the Potomac in order to save money. Instead the agent came up with this mid-range priced hotel that is just two blocks from DuPont Circle. The staff here are the friendliest and most helpful hotel staff I have ever encountered! The rooms are comfortable and rather beautiful. The Firefly Restaurant attached to the hotel has great food, though is on the pricey side. Connections to the tourist sights are fabulous! Great find!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Anne G, soo glad your travel agent made the wise choice of booking you at the Madera!!! You found us now we expect you to return again and again!! Please return soon Anne G and thanks for the review, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Staff couldn't be more friendly and attentive. At bit off beat, the hotel looks like an old apartment building that been renovated, yet it has all the Kimpton amenities and comfort. Very close to Dupont Circle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello travelsbydori, diffrent yet lovely, we'll take it!! Thanks so much for staying with us and writing the review. We do hope you visit again really soon. Thanks again, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle Hotel
The Dupont Circle Hotel
#18 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,977 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
#46 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madera, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madera, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within walking distance of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, BookIt.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Madera, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.