We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive staff, relaxing space, wonderful location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Madera, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1310 New Hampshire Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 50% off Parking!
Ranked #30 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cape Cod
1 review
“Attentive staff, relaxing space, wonderful location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

When you can ask for a decent green tea, get one...and not have to tell the check in staff what paper you want, but simply find the NY Times at the door in the AM...and when you leave, you wait no more than :45 seconds for your cab...you're in the right place.

Room Tip: If you're a tea drinker, as for the Dragon Well green...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hello jcbouvier, short and sweet review!! Thanks for the review!!! Hopefully our tea was enough to make you a Madera guest for life!! Thanks again and see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    223
    67
    23
    7
See reviews for
115
224
71
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is my second time at the Madera Hotel. Yes it is true it doesn't have a grand entry, in fact there is not much of a lobby. The rooms have been redone, I had a deluxe king which was well appointed but very small and the bathroom was tiny even for a small person. It would have been very tight for a couple. The beds were comfortable and there were ample spots for plugging in devices. They offer complimentary coffee in the morning, ice water all day, and wine in the afternoon - a very nice touch.

Three top reasons for staying at the Madera were -
1. The fabulous location - close to Dupont Circle, the Metro, Embassy Row, The Phillips Museum
2. The staff is so friendly - helpful and attentive without being overly intrusive. One gentleman, Fernando recognized me from my last trip - he is a gem.
3. The Madera is usually a little less expensive than any of the other Kimptons in the area, maybe because the lobby is lacking a little. The other Kimpton hotels look more hip and glamorous, but The Madera is also in a quieter area than some of the others and I liked that.

The restaurant Firefly was great for breakfast and is a very happening place at night. Considering how noisy all of this could be, it was not a problem getting in and out of the hotel or a problem in the rooms.
I highly recommend this hotel for anyone coming to DC and looking for a small and intimate hotel in a very desirable part of town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hello rebsol, thanks for putting up your top 3 reasons to stay at the Madera!! So great!! Yes the location is great, and our rates are very competitive with other hotels inthe area. But the #1 reason is our the service our Staff provides. What we lack in hotel size, we make up for with big hearts. Thanks again, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Overall a very nice place. Front desk staff were friendlly and helpful, rooms were clean and well appointed. Very good location. We had a balcony room on the 6th floor so we had a nice view but some street noise is to be expected. The attached Firelfy restaurant wasn't so great but there are plenty of options close by. I would like to try some of the other Kimptioon properties on future trips, but I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Go for the balcony. It beats looking out over a rear parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello Fudgiesmom, I'm veryhappy you enjoyed your visit. Thanks so much for recommending our Hotel to others. I do apologize you didnt find our Firelfy restaurant to your liking. So sorry about that, but the good thing is they change their menu every seaon so i'm sure when you return you'll find something you enjoy. Thanks again and see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I love the Kimpton Hotels for the excellent service and slightly funky (in a good way) decor. The Madera didn't disappoint. The location of this hotel is also very convenient - right next to Dupont Circle metro stop and lots of food options nearby. But, what makes Madera stand out is the staff. Both Ms. Pleasant (I forgot her first name) and Fernando were welcoming and helpful in all aspects of the stay. The wine hour also had fun nibbles that varied. One night it was liver toastettes and the next it was brownie ice cream sandwiches. Both were delicious. Madera is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello Audrey H, we are so happy we didnt disappoint!!! Yes the Staff at the Hotel and Restaurant are what really makes the Madera so special. I'm so glad Nicole and Fernando provided with such great service. The little nibbles at Wine Hour are delicious and come directly from our Firefly Restaurant. They have started their new spring menu so you must return. Thanks for writing the review and we do want you return as soon as possible, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The only reason I didn't give the Madera five stars is because it's lacking an elegant feel or plush complimentary aspects to the stay. That said, it's a great hotel for its location, its spacious rooms and its attentive staff. A perfect spot for families or couples, especially if you want good value for the price. Parents still traveling in the port-a-crib phase, you have plenty of room here. You can certainly find fancier hotels, but the Madera still delivers on everything you will need, and most of what you want. Who stays in their rooms anyway when in D.C.? With Dupont Circle restaurants and shops a block away, you can stroll to a vibrant, fun part of town in a couple of minutes. A Metro station is a couple blocks walk. Kimpton Hotels are reliable and always deliver quality. At the Madera, you get quality for a reasonable price! The king size bed was among the most comfortable I've ever slept in away from home. Didn't expect that and was pleasantly surprised! I've read other reviews saying the bathroom is small and it's true. There is little space to move around other than in the shower and to the toilet. But, you're not paying for a fancy bathroom, and this one is perfectly functional and clean. The sink area is outside the shower/tub room, and had a nicely lit, large mirror over the sink. I'd definitely return to the Madera, and for anyone looking to get value and reliability in the product with a great location, you've found your spot.

Room Tip: Construction is waning so rooms overlooking New Hampshire Avenue should be fine. Back of the hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Alexandra S, we love that you said you would definately return to the Madera!! That's excellent, hopefully you're a Madera guest for life now! Very true we aren't the biggest hotel in washington, but what we lack in size we definately make up for in the personal level of service provided. Thanks again and do visit soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed with our two daughters at the Madera this weekend. The room was great...definitely worth the balcony (but would have liked a few chairs out there). Plenty of space, well appointed. Yes, the bathroom is not large, but, since the closet and sink are outside of the "bathroom" there was enough room for anything you need. The staff was great. Location just outside of Dupont Circle is great...easy to get anywhere. We are Kimpton fans and this only added to our enjoyment of the chain!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and get the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello Phil W, big thanks for being Kimpton fans!!! We love loyal Guests and we hope your visit made you a loyal Madera guest! Thanks for the great revie wand we do hope to see you soon. Thanks again, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late Friday night. Not only they messed up my reservation, the receptionist was hostile and unfriendly. She even quoted me higher prices than what my reservation was booked for.
I finally gave up arguing over money because she won't budge.
An awful start and nothing about this hotel appeals to me.
How can one feel good about this hotel with such a dishonest unprofessional behavior.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello Wildorchids81, this is definately not the first impression that we want to provide.I am very sorry this happened. As you can see from other reviewers, our service at the Madera is what we are known for. This is not a typical experience. I would love to speak to your further about this to get more details. You can contact me at 202-521-7405 or modi.ahmed@hotelmadera.com. I look forward to hearing from you so i can investigate further. My sincerest apologies, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Madera, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madera, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within moments of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Madera, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.