We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable, tiny bathroom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Madera, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1310 New Hampshire Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #15 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable, tiny bathroom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here about 6 years ago, and remembered it being a positive experience. The location worked well for a recent business trip so I re-booked. The hotel was as I remembered - very nice room with upscale furnishings, comfortable, and clean. The bathroom (tub/toilet area) was tiny, and I don't think I could have closed the door if I needed to - and once I saw that, I remembered having the same thought on my previous stay. The front desk clerk told me that that was an unfortunate feature of the building, however. As a member of Kimpton's loyalty program, I got free wi-fi and a credit to 'raid the mini-bar' which is always nice. Breakfast at the adjacent restaurant was tasty, if a little expensive. All in all, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear exncgal, your last visit was 6 years ago? Well we need to fix that don't we. I truly appreciate your review of your visit. Yes, some of the toilet/shower ares are cozy, but thankfully the bedrooms are quite spacious! We do hope you visit again soon. Thanks, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    244
    74
    23
    7
See reviews for
131
255
76
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I always check availability and rates at this hotel first. It's my favorite place to stay when on business travel. I love the location, staff, setting and ambience. The rooms are nicely sized for a DC hotel as well. You can't beat the atmosphere in the attached restaurant.

On my last stay I had to leave before coffee was available, so they brought a coffee pot up to my room. Nice!

Room Tip: Don't miss the 5:00 Manager's Happy Hour, and definitely have a meal at the Firefly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello Ketchk4, WOW! Thanks for letting us be your #1 hotel in Washington DC! We want everyone to visit the Madera when they come to our Nations Capital. On your next visit, please stop by Firelfy since they have unveiled the new spring menu. Delicious!! Thanks again, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Madera Kimpton is very nicely renovated. The rooms were very spacious and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small and the hallways were narrow. The decor was just like in the professional photos.

The front desk staff were super friendly and helpful. They changed often and each one had the same high level of service to offer! The lobby was tiny, but it was enough for a few chairs, fresh water and a chat with the staff. It was not a hang out area -

Getting a taxi could be a little tough because the hotel street is currently under a massive overhaul, but the hotel would gladly offer to hail a cab if you need it! The metro - Dupont Circle - is super close (five minutes!) and there are a number of quick serve dining options right around the metro. Foggy Bottom is a longer hike, but probably easier if you are flying in and out of National - because there is not a train change. The walk is longer and you have to navigate Washington Circle - so it is best to decide between a train change with lots of bags or a longer walk with minimal bags.

The restaurant was cool. I thought the staff were great and I was never in need of attention. The food was quite good - I got the root veg salad with shrimp and it was very unique and a delightful change. I also ate breakfast there in the AM and I probably should have stuck with something more benign because I wasn't quite ready for the egg white selection. It was good - just not ready for the strong pepper taste. I do think the Firefly had a great atmosphere - very cozy and rustic.

I absolutely recommend staying at the Madera! It was super close to all the Dupont Circle highlights, the staff were extremely professional and friendly - and I just love the way guests are treated at the Kimpton hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear PASR_15, thanks for posting such a detailed review! You have some wonderful tips. Yes, the street is under construction by the city but the good news is that it is ending soon. Should be great when all is said and done. I am so glad you enjoy the newly renovated rooms. We are so proud of the rooms and are looking for forward to all the great feedback. Thanks for hte review, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington,Nc
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just returned from a nice stay at the Madera Hotel. The staff was very friendly. The place had a nice comfy feel. Nicole was a great multi-tasker, Fernando just want to help you , Micheal was great at picking good room for me. pros: big room ,balcony, great beds, free coffee and newspaper, good organic eggs nest door in Fireflies. Cons: elevator need facelift. needs fruniture on balcony.

Room Tip: get balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello coco6gracie2, looks like you really enjoyed the service from our Front Desk team! Nicole, Fernando, and Michael are all rock stars!! Thanks for the shout out!! Hope to see you again at the Madera soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I love Kimpton hotels. The vibe, the animal print robes, the wine hours, the great service. I think the newly refurbished Madera, located just around the corner from the Palomar off DuPont Circle is a slightly less posh, but very acceptable member of the Kimpton family. More intimate (with almost no lobby to speak of), the hotel feels like one of those small hotels you find all over Paris. The rooms are big, well-furnished. I did not make it to the restaurant, but it looked great.

My mistake was not asking to move rooms when I noticed a recurring noise - probably something from the elevators. It was annoying enough to make me less than completely happy but not so much that it motivated me to repack and move. But that one issue aside, I'd say I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 1001. Liked the balcony and the high floor views but the room must be situated nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Kwazimotosan, thanks for posting a review of your visit! You exactly right! We do feel like a small Parisian hotel. Very cozy and with a high level of personal service. So sorry about the random noise that was keeping you up. Thanks for letting us know so we can look into it. Please do visit again and dont miss Firefly restaurant, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three nights in mid-March. The staff was outstanding. The small restaurant offered good food. The staff in the restaurant were ok but not up to the level of the front desk. I would stay there again. It is also very close to the DuPont Circle metro station.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello bogueK, so glad you would definately stay with us again!! You're a Madera guest for life now! Thanks for the feedback on the service from our Staff. This is something we pride ourselves on. Hope to see you again soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Only visited Washington DC for the weekend and the Hotel Madera was a perfect location right down the street from the Dupont Circle Metro and close to bars, restaurants,Starbucks and the Phillips Collection. The room was spacious and loved the walk in shower. Firefly was great-ate there twice-breakfast and dinner. The service was super. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. If I ever return, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I originally had a king with balcony but then changed to a double as I had a friend stay with me. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear denver-heidi, perfect? That's so great, thank you for saying that!!!!! Sounds like you had a true Madera visit. We cant wait for you to return!! Thanks again, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Madera, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madera, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within moments of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Otel, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Madera, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.