We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience and cost conscious in a luxurious setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Madera, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1310 New Hampshire Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 50% off Parking!
Ranked #23 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Convenience and cost conscious in a luxurious setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Madera is a slice of special. Located in the Dupont Circle area it is convenient to the Metro and in a wonderful neighborhood. The Madera is a small boutique hotel, with giraffe inspired bathrobes, and a subdued yet hip room decor. I stayed there in January, 2013 for five days. The bed is very comfortable and the rooms are larger than average. The lobby serves coffee in the morning and free wine in the afternoon. The connected Firefly restaurant has a great and cozy neighborhood bistro feeling. Its my go-to hotel when traveling to DC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello Cory C, thanks for calling us a "slice of special!" We're blushing over here and truly appreciative. We are so excited we've become your go-to hotel in DC. We can't wait for your next visit. Thanks again, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    225
    70
    23
    7
See reviews for
122
229
71
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Kimpton's are always great places to stay. The staff treat you like family and you feel like your staying at home. Beds are always very comfy and the wine hour is always great. Since it was winter they had a hot cider mixed with bourbon that was out of this world. Also visited the hotel bar/restaurant and had a very tasty martini.

Room Tip: Accidentally rated the pool and i don't think they have one. Balcony rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Nuanarpuk, no you're fantastic!! Always a pleasure to have a frequent Kimpton guest stay at the Madera. We dont have a pool but we'll take the glowing review nonetheless. Thanks again and hope to see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed a stay at the Madera for four nights in August 2012. While I absolutely adore Washington DC, this hotel caused me to fall even more in love! The neighborhood is warm and just lively enough with shops, metro and wonderful ethic cuisine. It is a quick walk to downtown and a short cab ride to Georgetown. The rooms are huge, almost as though they once functioned as studio apartments. Very clean, comfortable and surprisingly quiet (and that says a lot since I was street side and next to the elevator). I ended up choosing Madera over their sister property Rouge based solely on the attached restaurant, Firefly and the extensive glutin free menu options and I was not disappointed! The restaurant and room serivce meals were simply delicious. My stay took place shortly before Firefly closed for an extensive remodel, but truthfully, I can't imagine it being any better than it already as.

Now, what sets this review as an excellent rating and not just very good is the staff! I had the pleasure of interacting with three men on a daily basis: the hotel manager (Matt, I think was his name), his assistant manager, and hotel maintenance and each and every one was a true gentleman. The service was prompt, engaging without being obnoxious, and courteous. So while the hotel, restaurant, and neighborhood were all lovely it is the staff that makes Madera a shining star!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello CBK678, thank you so much for writing a review of your visit! Sounds like you had a wonderful visit. The Dupont Circle neighborhood is a great place to shop and dine in wonderflu restaurants. Although, i'm partial to our Firelfy restaurant of course. I am thrilled to see the service you experienced is what gave us the 5 star review! Thats what is most important! Thanks again, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My general impression of this hotel was a mere "blah" feeling. I was not turned off by it, but I wasn't thrilled by it once I checked in and saw all the wear & tear on the walls, the carpet, and ceilings. The staff did let us know that the rooms will soon be upgraded, so that's a good tid-bit of info.

If you want to stay with Kimpton in Dupont, I suggest that you head down the street and stay at the Palomar. It may be a tad more in price, but probably worth it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Daniel R, we definately don't want to leave anyone with a "blah" feeling. The good news is we are fully in the midst of a facelift. We are renovating the guest rooms, and guest floor hallways. We are super excited for this!!! We think this new room product will leave you with a warm and cozy feelnig rather than blah. We hope you return to visit. Thanks, Modi Ahmed General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights while traveling on business. It is a very nice hotel. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom is well designed. The hotel is also well located—near Dupont Circle and the metro. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from in the local area. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. When the woman at the registration desk found that I was not going to be able to enjoy the Kimpton happy hours (free wine) either night she gave me a coupon for a free glass of wine at the bar. All in all—it lived up to my high expectations of a Kimpton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello IronChefNeva, what a great name! Hopefully you were able to experience some of the fine food from our Firefly Restaurant. I am glad that even though missed our wine Hour, our Front Desk team still was able to provide you with a glass to make your evening enjoyable. Thanks for the great review and see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was a last minute booking and the rate for location was great. The room we stayed in was very spacious and clean. Modern decor was nicely done and the beds were great. Only thing I missed was my own feather pillow.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Wrmfazio, even though your booking was last minute, it looks like your visit to the Madera did not disappoint. I am happy your room and the service met your expectations. Thanks for the review, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Entirely positive and satisfying. European styling chic and simple. Staff is polite at every turn and helped us get a reservation for 9 at the last minute on a weekend! Good value. Good location for easy walk to selection of food/ drinks/ metro. 12/28/12 for 3 nights.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello shanandery, THANK YOU shanandery for writing a review of your recent visit! An actual Guests recommendation goes so far for other travellers. Our location is such an asset and makes it super easy to get to almost any part of the city. Thanks again, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madera, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madera, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within moments of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Madera, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.