We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem Near Dupont Circle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Madera, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1310 New Hampshire Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Valet Parking
Ranked #14 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Forest Hills, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Gem Near Dupont Circle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at the Kimpton Madera during a recent long weekend in Washington, D.C., and enjoyed a most pleasant time. The hotel is a short walk from Embassy Row, great restaurants, the Dupont Circle farmers market, and a host of other attractions. A standout of the Madera is its staff, all of whom made us feel at home from the moment we first walked through the door. Perks such as the hosted wine hour every afternoon and the daily morning coffee service made for an extra-special stay. Because the hotel’s restaurant, Firefly, was closed for renovations while we were there, the wine hour and morning coffee were enhanced with complimentary offerings such as hors d’oeuvres, petit-fours, fresh fruit, pastries, and juices—a thoughtful touch—and we look forward to returning and enjoying a serious meal at Firefly. As with all Kimpton hotels, the Madera is Green Key–certified, a big plus for us as eco-conscious travelers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Naturmotif1, thank you so much for mentioning our Green Key certification. We do pride oursselves on our Eco principles and standards. Good news is that we just received another Green Key certification for 2012!! Very exciting. Thank you for the review and please visit soon, Modi Ahmed Gneeral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    262
    84
    24
    7
See reviews for
149
283
80
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

When traveling in a big city it's always a pleasure to find a place that you can call "home". The Madera is that place. A small boutique hotel in the residental neighborhood of Dupont Circle is a wonderful find. Great boutique shopping and wonderful dining are at your doorstep. Don't passup the French toast in the Madera's Firefly Restaurant.

Room Tip: I like the balcony rooms to sit and watch the people go by walking their dogs, strolling or getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hello lleesm, thanks so much for the review. The balcony rooms are definately a hit with our Guests. Sitting a have a cup of coffee or glass of wine while enjoying the view. Thanks again and see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My stay at Hotel Madera was excellent. The staff is very polite and attentive, and the property is quaint with nice rooms and at an excellent location. It’s an easy walk to DuPont Circle as well as to the White House and National Mall area. Definitely another great Kimpton Property and certainly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great staff, great location..I have stayed at this property several times in the past and have always found it to be outstanding. The staff is most helpful and kind.. For a nice quiet stay in a great neighborhood I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear travelersK&W, thanks for the recommendation! Our Staff is truly what makes us and the Guest experience so special! We can't wait for your next visit, hope it's soon. Thanks again, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our experience at the Madera Hotel was as expected, that's why we love Kimpton Properties, you can never go wrong on choosing any of their hotels. The newly remodel Firefly Restaraunt was excellent. Friendly staff and great location. Thank you guys!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear rogerlmendez, I am happy your visit to the Madera was a great one. We thank you for beign our Guest. Please visit soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at the Kimpton Madera in DC this week for several days and really enjoyed ourselves. The Staff (Aaron, Khia, and Adolfo) were awesome. Super friendly, genuinely interested in our day to day experiences, and always very helpful and knowledgeable. The room itself was very spacious and loved having the balcony. Although the Firefly was closed for renovation, the Staff was extremely helpful with recommending dining options and directions, etc. Our only recommendation for improvement would be to please put chairs on the balcony. Great hotel, great time, we will be back. Terrie and Annie.

Room Tip: Queen/Queen Balcony facing New Hampshire Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear TKster17, you rock for posting this review! We do feel that the service our Staff provides truly sets us apart from other Hotels. Aaron, Khia, and Fernando are rock stars at the Front Desk and give exceptional service. Come back real soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Aaron made the trip for me. He took care of our all needs at the hotel expeditiously as we'll as helping us navigate the city. He had excellent recommendations for local eateries. I would recommend the hotel based on his service alone.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear jcmanley625, Wow!!! glad to see that Aaron Wallace provided with fantastic service. He is a true star and asset to our team. Thanks again and see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madera, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madera, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within moments of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Madera, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.