We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royalty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Madera, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1310 New Hampshire Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade Your Stay
Ranked #25 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Treated like royalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I cannot say how impressed I was with the service, quality and location of the Madera. The staff greeted us at the curb by name, addressed our children by name, and very efficiently whisked our luggage and our car away. The room was extremely clean and spacious (except the bathroom TINY, but often to be expected in older metro hotels). We had researched to ensure it was bed-bug free -- and it was. On the nightstand was a hand-written note addressed to our kids, next to two huge containers of bubble toys! Room service was affordable, efficient and delicious, and without exception the staff was friendly and eager to help, even with special requests. Fernando took exceptional care of us -- and treated our children like royalty.
The location was great, around the corner from the Dupont Circle metro and close to major roads for easy navigating in the car. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a balcony room, on the street side, but noise was not a problem, the a/c fan pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Kelly L, I am thrilled you and your Family had such a wonderful visit!! We definately try our hardest to treat all of our Guests like royalty. Fernando, one of our Bellmen, is a rock star and I am glad he may your childrens visit special. Thank you for the review and please visit soon so we can treat you like royalty again. Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    284
    94
    26
    10
See reviews for
157
308
81
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The wife was out of town - my friend flew in and we needed a place to crash in DC for a baseball game.

Pretty solid location. . .updated hotel that has an urban feel but not snobby in any way. Nice, clean rooms.. . very friendly staff. The room only had one bed - the staff was quick in getting an extra cot for the room. I really appreciated that.

I'd give this place an easy five (and indeed, four might be a tad low) but for parking - you have to search around the area for a decent parking place in DC. If you don't have a car, consider this review an easy four.

I would go back again. I had such a great experience I plan on taking my wife there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you so much rudedog46 for the review. Glad you stayed with us during your visit to the Nats game. We are happy to see you're visit was so good that you're likely to return. My apologies for the parking issues. We do offer valet parking for our hotel Guests, and if you drive a hybrid car is complimentary! Hope to see you soon and thanks again, Modi Ahmed General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We had stayed at the Madera several times before and also have been very satisfied with other Kimpton hotels in DC, but revisiting the Madera was like coming home.
The staff's enthusiastic and warm welcome adds to the "being home" feeling.
The lobby had been changed since we had been there last, which added more traveler space and better seating areas for the wine hour.
Our room was on the 7th floor and the desk clerk remembered that we preferred a room away from the elevators and ice machines.
The room was very spacious and spotless. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Even though we sleep with earplugs, we always request a room away from ice machines and the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear foamaven, we definately want you and all of our Guests to feel at home at the Madera. I am so glad you like the new lobby, it does add more space to enjoy coffee or wine hour. Thanks for the wonderful review and we can't wait for you to return "home." See you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We loved the entire package of the Hotel Madera and Firefly restaurant. The Dupont Circle location just adds more to the experience. The room was spacious, the decor was modern & fun and who doesn't love the bathrobes? Granted the bathroom itself was a bit small, but spacious in the changing area and truthfully not atypical of bathrooms in NYC. Firefly is amazing - consistently creative and flavorful food each and every time. The staff at both establishments were pleasant, helpful and genuinely concerned that we were pleased with our stay and meals.

Room Tip: ask about noise for those rooms on the street - it didn't bother us, but might bother others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Hello sc_traveler_2008, thanks so much for your review. We do strive to have our Staff provide warm and genuine service. Very happy you enjoyed your visit. I agree Firefly is an amazing restaurant, i'm not biased or anything. Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again, Modi Ahmed General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcorry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stayed at the Madera hotel for 3 nights in late March with my wife and daughter who was visiting colleges in the area. Great location on Dupont circle but the hotel was a 3 star at best. The bathroom was tiny and what you would find in a 2 star hotel. The first night we were on the upper floor and the entire night we heard the elevator motors which kept interrupting our sleep.

We requested a new room and they moved us to the third floor and we slept much better. New room but the same horrible bathroom.

The lobby and restaurant are nice but the rooms need upgraded and are very dated (worn carpet, bad lighting, depressing bathroom)

. For a Kimpton hotel I was very disappointed. After we left Washington we went to NYC and stayed at a Kimpton hotel called the Eventi and it was an amazing hotel. Kimpton should either upgrade the Madera or take their name off it.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear dcorry, thank you so much for the feedback. We take these honest comments very seriously. This helps us better yours and all of our valued Guests experience in the future. We are definately working on the issues you mentioned. We have already renovated the lobby, it looks great. Also, both the restaurant and the Guest rooms will be renovated this year. Really exciting!! I am sorry that we didnt meet your Familys standards, but I assure you are making the necessary changes to exceed them in the future. Thanks and we do hope to see you again, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Madera is an outstanding hotel--of course, being a Kimpton you expect nothing less. The rooms are large and well decorated, windows that actually open, great and comfortable bed. The Firefly restaurant is extremely good and reasonably priced. It was a spur of the moment to stay there, but a very good choice on my part.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a balcony and/or the spa chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Craig R, you made a great decision! We are thrilled we could be your oasis in DC and your visit was outstanding! Thanks for the review. We hope to see you again, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We mainly chose the Madera because of the location: just two blocks from Dupont Circle. The room was big and comfortable and stylish (the balcony and the sofa were a great extra touch of comfort), although the bathroom was cramped and didn't live up to the bedroom. Wifi was free but didn't always work. Breakfast in the adjacent restaurant was mediocre and overpriced but luckily there are lots of alternative not far away. Staff was very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Hello pullogaroua, our location definately suits many travellers to Washington. Close to the Metro, in the Dupont Circle neighborhood with its great restaurants and shopping, and it still retians its local feel and flavor. Thanks for letting us know about the WiFi and breakfast. These are important to make a Guest feel comfortable. We will look into making these better for you and our other Guests for the future. Thansk for the review, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle Hotel
The Dupont Circle Hotel
#19 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,972 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
#45 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madera, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madera, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within walking distance of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, BookIt.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Madera, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.