We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, comfortable room in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Madera, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1310 New Hampshire Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 50% off Parking!
Ranked #29 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Spacious, comfortable room in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Visiting on business, I appreciated the comfort of the room, the friendliness of the staff and the nearness to the DC Metro. DuPont Circle is a wonderful place to be with an abundance of eateries, shops and ambiance. The Hotel Madera provides an experience that is consistent with the Kimpton standard. The room was clean, surprisingly spacious, quiet and very relaxing. The wine hour included spiked cider and delicious samples of desserts from the Hotel's restaurant, the Firefly. I travelled with pets. The staff welcomed all of us and my dogs were uncommonly relaxed from the moment we arrived. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you LolaLosa for posting such a great review of your visit! So happy you and the dogs had a wonderful visit.Even our 4-legged Guests are important to us. The spiked cider is a nice winter addidtion to our Wine Hour. Thank you again and we're looking forward to your next visit, Modi Ahmed General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    223
    67
    23
    7
See reviews for
115
224
71
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Hotel was nice with great personal attention, big rooms, and great location. There is a small list of negatives, however: the bathrooms are very tiny, the bathrobes were scratchy and seemed old, and most importantly, when I arrived back at 2am my room smelled like cigarettes. In the bathroom the smell was strongest and I could smell it coming in through the vent. The front desk manager came to investigate and promptly agreed the room smelled like cigarettes and moved me to an equivalent room. What was most annoying is that both he and the morning manager seemed to pass off the smell like it was nothing, and made no effort to really investigate the smell. I would think an upscale hotel would want to investigate why the hotel smells like smoke.

Room Tip: Request a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear JohnElliot8, thank you so much for posting your review. I want to offer my apologies for the condition of the room and the Front Desks reaction. This occurence is pretty rare, and we take all Guest issues seriously to find the cause and rectify them to your satisfaction. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. The next time you’re back in town, let me know! I would love the chance to personally make sure your next stay is an all-out success. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

To be fair, we love Kimpton hotels and make an effort to stay at a Kimpton whenever possible. They are just kind of funky and fun. Their staff (at all of their hotels) are incredibly friendly and helpful. Their corporate culture is evident by the attitude of their staff.

As one would expect from a boutique hotel, the lobby of the Madera is small. But our room was surprising large - with a very comfy bed. The bathroom was small, but the sink/dressing area was outside of the bathroom, so that made it easy for us to coordinate getting ready each day.

The location is incredible. It is a 2 minute walk from the metro and restaurants at Dupont Circle.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Hello H0tlanta!! Thank you for the review and for being such a loyal Kimpton fan! We are definately funky and fun, and still providing warm and genuine service. The location is so easy to visit all the great spots in the neighborhood. Thanks again and hoe pto see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Madera hotel was the best hotel choice I could have made for my recent visit to DC. From check-in to check-out they were very helpful, the front desk suggested very good places to dine and also gave us a map of all the attractions in the DC area that we were interested in visiting and they even hailed cabs for my wife and I when we ventured out. I booked a special room rate of $109 a night and the parking for $1.00 more per night what a savings.The room was huge and we were given a room with a terrace(NICE) facing New Hampshire Ave. The rooms mini bar was well stocked and they even gave us a nice bottle of champagne to toast our special occasion and provided us with free passes for continental breakfast, because my wife and I were in town to celebrate. On sat. afternoon we also enjoyed the free wine tasting in the hotels lobby with some of the other guests.Wow this place sure knows how to treat it's patrons, I sooooo look foward to my next visit........

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pet free floor if you are not a pet person..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Hi James W, we are thrilled that you made the choice to stay with us. Sounds look you had a wonderful visit for your special occasion. We are glad that we could be a part of it. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

This was our 4th visit to the Madera. The staff is sincerely friendly and helpful - everyone! The neighborhood is wonderful - we always have our dog with us and love walking with him around Dupont Circle. It has an intimate feeling.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Hello klc112456, we wouldnt want you to stay anywhere else! Thanks for the great review, and we cant wait for your 5th visit! See you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

I love Kimpton hotels, I go out of my way to stay with them whenever possible. I did find my time at the madera a bit disappointing. The hotel is a bit cramped, especially upon arrival - more than one guest checking in at a time = chaos. The rooms, specifically the bathrooms were not up to the usual high standa of other Kimpton properties. I was also a bit disappointed with the lack of dog services at this location. We could not even get a dog walker. Also found it surprising that there was not bar/room service after ten. All in all still a good hotel - just not what I expect from a Kimpton, next time I am dc I will probably still with their sister hotel the Palomar, less than a block a way!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Mnerlinger, thank you for being a loyal Kimpton guest! Our goal is to exceed the expectations for our Guests. I am truly sorry the Hotel facility was a bit cramped than some other Kimpton Hotels. we are definately a smaller footprint of a building compared to others, yes the Palomar is larger and more public space. The other side of the coin is that some Guests love the coziness and charm of the smaller space. I do truly appreciate the feedback and thank you for being loyal to Kimpton. Modi Ahmed, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I always feel welcome by the many familiar faces at the Madera. The staff are uniformly warm and helpful--never any 5-star attitude. They are accommodating of special requests like pet-free floor and early arrival, and they demonstrate a real appreciation of loyal InTouch members. Perfect location if you want Dupont Circle--I routinely walk to the Kennedy Center--and one of the best Kimpton-affiliated restaurants, Firefly.
As a solo traveler, I don't need the expansive public spaces others crave, but the lobby is tiny. So why not have a drink at Firefly? If you book the right rate, you'll get one free!

Room Tip: Request pet-free floor away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear ProfessorK_NewYork, We love to hear guests say "it felt like home“ in our hotel. So glad you got that feeling. We’d let you move right in, if we could! Thanks again, Modi Ahmed, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Madera, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madera, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within moments of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Madera, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madera, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.