We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Dupont!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters to your Saves list
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1615 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Formerly The Governor's House Hotel) (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“In the heart of Dupont!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

perfect location
love the modernism of the decor
however a few areas of concern
in room:
ripped up dining area seat (tacky)
stained couch (gross)
leaking toilet (sad)
room needed better vacuuming (ewww)

loved everything besides those few repairable things ... loved the view from walls of windows ... staff was prompt to help no matter what the request

would stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you very much for staying at the Beacon Hotel for your recent visit to Washington, DC. We express our sincere appreciation to you for the compliments on the staff. We take our guest feedback very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable accommodations. We want our guests to have the best stay possible where everything exceeds their expectations. We apologize that this was not the case during your stay. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were. Again, we thank you for choosing us and we look forward to the day when we can welcome you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    288
    152
    79
    48
See reviews for
135
205
85
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Usa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was very pleased with the Beacon. I particularly liked the comfortable bed. Its white bedspread was, to me, a statement about the hotel's commitment to keeping things laundered frequently. There was some construction noise from a nearby project, but that is pretty much par for the course in Washington, DC.
The Beacon's location is very good. While it is not super close to any one Metro stop, it is easy walking distance to several stops on several lines. On a nice day, you can walk to pretty much anywhere in DC from the hotel.
My only complaint would be that the heating and cooling systems are quite noisy. I ended up turning mine off at night, but this would not be an option in the summer.
There is a charge for accessing the internet on your computer.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and was rewarded by being put on the 8th floor. (There are nine in the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
We would like to express our sincere appreciation to you for taking the time to share with everyone how much you enjoyed the Beacon Hotel. We look forward to your return the next time you are in Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

The Good things I like about this hotel are location, value, rooftop bar, nice restaurant and onsite parking. The location is relative close proximity to the major attractions. The tour bus stops in front of the hotel.  The train stations are within a 5 minutes’ walk. As compare to other hotels in DC the price is better than other hotels. You get a lot more for your money because the room was specious and very comfortable. They have a very nice rooftop bar with a wonderful view. The restaurant was very busy on Sunday and we were unable to get in early for brunch. I know to make reservation in advance the next time I am in DC. The hotel offers valet parking only which lead to the BAD. Parking at the hotel is almost $40.00 a night and they also charge for WI-FI. I got my WI-FI charges waived because I spoke to the manger and told him that I will not be coming back. I stayed at this hotel on several occasion and always paid for internet but this time I decided not to because the coffee shops give it for free if you buy a $3.00 coffee. I know the manager Steve for more than 5 years during my first trip to DC. The awesome are the people you will meet. The staff are just AWESOME. They are always smiling and greeting everyone. They seem to know what they are doing.  Mohammed was very helpful in arranging a tour for us.  We will recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a hotel a class, comfort, service, value and most in importantly a fun and welcoming environment.  I will return if I get my free WI-FI as promise by Steve.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
It was a pleasure receiving the comments of VMur and hope that he will consider returning to the Beacon hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Beacon hotel is comfortable and in a good location for setting out to see the sights of Washington DC. Can walk past coffee shops in the mornings as you get ready for your day of sight seeing, museum visiting (and there are so many of them!). The Bistro in the hotel is good and the service provided by staff is good too. Not over the top. I was ill during my visit and the hotel staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Check if there is any construction going on when you visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
The Management and Staff at the Beacon Hotel thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to the Washington, DC. Your comments are valuable and greatly appreciated. We hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I am a frequent business traveler and stayed at the Beacon for two nights. The Beacon belongs to a group called World Hotels, a grouping of independent hotels, which is why I had never stayed there before (I'm generally loyal to the Hilton brand).

I found the Beacon to be more than adequate - in fact quite good. The price point is a few ticks lower than other downtown hotels with just as high quality. The hotel is within walking distance of the White House, the Farragut North metro, the National Mall, and everything else you would want in downtown DC.

When I arrived, the person at the desk (Halimah), was exceptionally friendly. Without asking, she upgraded me to a suite which had a livingroom, kitchenette, and a really large bathroom, so I have no idea what a normal room looks like. The bed, pillows, and comforter were super comfy and the room was updated and clean.

I used the restaurant one night and had a very tasty squash soup and salad, both well presented and good. The gym in the basement was small but had the treadmill I needed and a TV.

Overall, I like the Beacon and would stay there again. I gave it four stars only because I really try to save five stars for truly five star, superlative hotels and, while I don't have any true complaints, the Beacon is not quite there. 4.5 stars would have been what I would have chosen.

Room Tip: If you can get room 225, it was a very nice suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
We would like to express our sincere appreciation to you for taking the time to write the astonishing review of our hotel and very nice comment about the staff. It is always rewarding to know that guests realize the hard work of the staff. Halimah is truly humbled by your kind assessment and want to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. The Beacon Hotel is a quality option and we thank for sharing this message. We look forward to your return the next time you are in Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alrington, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at the Becon Hotel & Corporate Quarters for a quick getaway over the weekend. The hotel is fine -- location is terrific, two blocks from Dupon Circle. The special rate we got was great and particularly that it included valet parking (which separately was very expensive). The room was a decent size, with a mini-kitchen including a full fridge. The biggest disappointment was the bathroom which was pretty small with an older tub and the heating in the bathroom was very poor. The heating unit in the room also made a lot of noise. The hotel towels were also very small. Our TV did not work -- but a call downstairs resulted in a quick repair. All in all a fine place-- nothing spectacular but great location and we got it for a good price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Nice, clean boutique hotel, but wasn't overly impressed.

Cons -
Parking for our SUV, which we were told wouldn't fit in the underground parking, was $40 a night. The front desk staff and bellmen seemed a bit bothered, although it would be that we were there over Thanksgiving....maybe they didn't want to be there. In general, I didn't feel like it was a family friendly hotel, but more of a place for business travelers.

Pros -
Clean rooms, good closet space, safe area of town. It is walkable to the White House. I think my GPS said .9 mile and we had 3 kids under 8 walk it with us.

However, there weren't really any perks to coming back if we were in the area again. Based on our pre-trip research, we'd probably pick a different hotel since they seem to all be within the same price range. Also, considering no complimentary breakfast is offered, we'd consider staying somewhere closer to a coffee shop.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
We thank you for choosing the Beacon Hotel during your recent visit to DC. We are truly sorry you felt we were not family friendly, as not only do we have a childrens menu, we offer our weekend guest unique savings in our restaurant, For Thanksgiving Dinner we offered a child friendly price, and served over 25 children on that day, and our hotels has 66 Suites with Kitchenettes that were designed specifically to welcome families and accommodate their needs.
I appreciate your comments and regret that you did not perceive the benefits we offer families with the particular accommodations we offer.
We hope that should you return to DC, that you will consider our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters

Address: 1615 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Formerly The Governor's House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel creates the perfect setting where guests can "Work, Relax and Play" in a setting that is contemporary, welcoming and elegant. Accommodations include spacious deluxe rooms and our popular "Corporate Quarter Suites" inspired by New York Style studio living, featuring pantries, dining and living areas that complement the lifestyles of our guests with the luxury of spacious accommodations. Ideal settings whether you are traveling with family, an urban explorer or on a romantic escape. Enjoy the benefits of an extraordinary location, The Smithsonian Museums and Monuments are an easy walk or short metro ride, four blocks from The White House, off "Embassy Row" famous for stunning residences, yet equally convenient to the centers of business of "K Street" and Connecticut Ave. The Beacon Bar & Grill presents excellent dining and entertainment options: alfresco dining in season, an elegant dining room, light fare and creative cocktails are featured in season in our Sky-Bar rooftop lounge; choices that will complement your mood and experience. Featuring creative American cuisine drawing inspiration from comfort foods and international cuisine and seasonal offerings. Our Saturday and Sunday Champagne Brunch, have been voted amongst the "Top Five" Champagne Brunches in the city for over five years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel And Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Washington Dc
Beacon Hotel Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.