We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price paid” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters

Save Saved
You added Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1615 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Formerly The Governor's House Hotel) (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value for the price paid”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

For the price I paid i was very pleased with the room. The decor and furnishing were very nice. Bed was very comfortable. Location was great and only a short walk to the closest metro. I had to up the heat in the room because there was a significant draft that was blowing cold air into the room. I had to plug up the window sill with a towel. Hector at the front desk on 2/19/12 was very helpful and went out of his way to make my stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room that faces Rhode Island St. There is construction across the street from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hectortorres, Guest Relations Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
We would like to convey our sincere gratitude to you for taking the time to share with everyone how much you enjoyed the Beacon Hotel. It is always excellent to know that guests realize the hard work of the staff. Hector is really humbled by your kind appraisal and wants to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We look forward to your return the next time you are in Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    264
    130
    67
    42
See reviews for
120
180
77
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed at the Beacon Hotel for one night in D.C. The location is convenient, and we chose to stay here based on the family value package that we purchased through the Beacon's own website.

Check in was easy, but valet parking is the only parking option, which will cost you about $33/night. Our room was adequate on the 5th floor, but the bathroom was rather small. The toiletries were not impressive -- one unmarked container of shampoo, and another container of lotion. No conditioner, but there were plenty of towels and two bars of soap. Our room was also directly across the street from construction, which started around 6am and was fairly disruptive.

We did have some issues. First, we had to ASK and make sure that we received all of the discount from the family value package that we purchased. The staff had to "look into" each and every one of the discounts to ensure we were correct, including discounts on meals, half off on parking, and the free bottle of champagne we were to receive. Everything was a bigger deal than it needed to be. We found out at checkout that a lot of specials had been added, but the employees had not been informed and kept up to date of these changes.

We also had issues with the TV in our room. It stopped working while changing the channels, and was not able to be turned on or off. The front desk did send someone up to repair it relatively quickly, and then we had no further issues.

The meals were pretty expensive, but that may just be the norm for D.C., but both my husband and I had some stomach issues following the meals that we ate at the Beacon restaurant. We had no issues from the lunch that we ate outside of the hotel, so we are accrediting our issues to the hotel's food.

Overall, the room itself was decent, seemed to be pretty clean, and although the bathroom was small, it was fine. Our main issues were with customer service/communication and the food. If you are looking for an inexpensive room for one night, this hotel will suffice, but I would definitely recommend looking elsewhere for better service with comparable prices, and be wary of the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed at the Beacon for one night while in D.C. on business. The hotel is conveniently located just a few blocks from the Metro, so I walked there from my Metro stop in the middle of the day. There were numerous homeless people on the street, and I felt somewhat uncomfortable walking by myself, even in broad daylight. Checkin was easy and fast; the staff was extremely personable and quick. The room was not fancy, but fine other than the big wet spot in the middle of the bathroom floor that I stepped in shortly after arriving. The toiletries were not very high quality. The street in front of the hotel is not particularly busy, and my room was very quiet. I ate breakfast in the restaurant the next morning, and the food was fine - not fabulous, but very satisfactory. Checkout was again fast and easy, with the same very personable staff member checking me out as checked me in. All in all, this was a decent hotel choice, particularly for the price, but not particularly luxurious and not somewhere I would want to stay for more than one night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hectortorres, Guest Relations Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
The comments of NashJD are greatly appreciated and we hope that they will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Went to DC for an extended weeked. The Beacon was a great choice. Walking distance to Dupont Cirle...and a quick ride into Georgetown. Convenient to the subway as well. Great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I live in Washington, but stayed at this hotel because my husband had a work assignment that meant he had to stay at the hotel for several days, and I joined him. I haven't stayed in the rooms at other DC hotels, although I have gotten familiar with the restaurants/bars in some of them and have been in the rooms when friends have been here to visit. This hotel is just adequate. It is by no means in the league of the luxe DC hotels like the Mayflower, Willard, Hay Adams, Jefferson, Four Seasons -- which I am sure are also far more expensive. However, if the prices here are comparable to one of the many Kimpton hotels in the area, I would recommend checking out the Kimpton hotels. These are boutique-type hotels, but I think generally reasonable in terms of prices. The Tabard Inn is also in this neighborhood, and might be an option (although it is on the old side, and I haven't seen a room there.) The room at the Beacon was just adequate; on the small side, and was clean. But extremely bland and generic. Furnished like a very mid-range hotel (perhaps a Doubletree). The bathroom was quite dated -- small bathtub not suitable for bathing, small sink. There was a "free" breakfast included in the price of our stay. This amounted to a danish, some fruit, a glass of orange juice from concentrate, average coffee. If you are not a carb eater, you will have to order off the menu (very average omelet for $14). The design of the hotel lobby and restaurant is off. It tries to be stylish, but just misses the mark by the extreme "busy-ness" of the decor. There will be some cool elements (e.g., stylish lighting fixtures, use of bamboo style wood at the desk), but these are combined with really ugly and unstylish ceilings, wall treatments, etc. The staff at check-in weren't all that friendly, but they weren't terrible. The maids in the hall were very nice and friendly. The neighborhood is in DuPont Circle, and I think that this would be a good area from which to explore DC. Relatively close to the Metro, and near some neighborhoods that will be nicer to explore in the evenings than downtown DC. Bottom line: I think you can probably do better in DC.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I don't think that I have ever had great customer service at any hotel that I have been to except the Beacon Hotel. Despite the rooms not being all that great, I came into the hotel lost and was welcomed in by Terecita, who greeted me with a smile. I laughed because I was sure that she was being extra courteous, but I still enjoyed the hostility. She was very helpful in assisting us with our accomodations, and she even let us talk to Marcus, who was more than happy to help. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that needs a place to stay where the front desk is more than helpful. A little bit noisy in the hallways, and needs free Wi-Fi. The customer service helped me to look past the stay. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Just talk to Terecita or Marcus, and they will help you out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit Point, West Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed in mid-December. The room we stayed in was clean and classy. Was happy with the staff. However, the noise in the hallways was unacceptable. I also wasn't happy with Wi Fi Internet charges. Most hotels these days offer free internet. There is no complimentary coffee in the mornings either.The manager did give me a credit of $25 valet parking for my issue of noise. Nice hotel but probably will not return unless they install sound proof walls, free coffee and free internet like most hotels do.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Restaurant, Mid...
Show More
Dupont Circle
St. Gregory Hotel & Suites
St. Gregory Hotel & Suites
#71 of 130 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Bar/Lounge, Roo...
Show More
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters
Club Quarters
#75 of 130 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#103 of 130 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
Upper Northwest
Holiday Inn Washington - Georgetown
Holiday Inn Washington - Georget...
#50 of 130 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
Upper Northwest
The Normandy Hotel
The Normandy Hotel
#57 of 130 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Room Service, M...
Show More
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza
Washington Plaza
#29 of 130 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters

Address: 1615 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Formerly The Governor's House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel And Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Washington Dc
Beacon Hotel Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.