We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small, pleasant and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Valet Parking
Ranked #47 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“small, pleasant and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Service: friendly
Room: liked having the kitchen essentials. I didn't get the coffee system, a one cup euro style that was probably my visual spatial problem!
Location: quiet block with the Grenadian embassy a few doors down, and action in two blocks either direction, ten min walk to Dupont Circle Metro.
Liked best: tv stations galore (BBC!), lots of light in the corner room, free wireless, and around $140/night on Fri/Sat (more during the week)
Liked least: beds soft for my taste

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    444
    112
    27
    24
See reviews for
467
369
90
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san jose, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

Overall:
Three of us stayed for a quick weekend get-away to see the Cherry Blossoms. When we arrived, we thought the marketing photos were a lot better than the actual hotel and room; however both are clean and renovated. The beds were memory foam, white linens, flat-screen tv, granite countertops. We liked the fact that the hotel made a conscious effort to "go all green," with their complimentary bathroom items. Shampoo and conditioner were contained in recycled plastic and they asked patrons in a nice way to be green where they could with use of linens.

Bathroom:
The bathroom was small---no bathtub and they went cheap on the shower stalls which are the equivelent of one of a two-door stall, but it's updated and not moldy. No fan in the bathroom but there is a heat lamp. Toilet and shower are in one room.

The Building:
The building is old, don't get me wrong. There's only one entrance---at the front; the views are of other buildings in the neighborhood; even with the renovations, the door frames had been painted over a million times.

Service:
We checked in late and checked out early and both were speedy but not super-friendly; rather, more business-like, getting the job done. Upon arrival, room was stocked with complimentary shampoo, conditioner, and soap. However, after the room was made-up the next day, housekeeping didn't restock those items. We requested additional items, but had to walk down to the front desk to retrieve them. One time, the front desk told us there were no more conditioners available and we'd have to wait for housekeeping to arrive the next morning. I was told "no" several times when I requested the conditioner because he was the only person on staff for the evening, so he couldn't leave the front desk to find additional bottles.

Location:
5-minute walk to DuPont Circle and the DuPont Metro. Walking distance to restaurants, Starbucks, several embassies, book stores, etc. It's a very neighborhood feel, almost like you're stepping out of your home because there are apartment buildings and row houses steps away on either side. We felt safe at all times---early morning and late at night.

Other:
We didn't order room service or eat at the small hotel restaurant, but no complimentary breakfast is served. It's $15 for breakfast. Also, no gym in the hotel---you get a voucher for one down the street. We didn't use because we walked all over DC. Just don't expect a whole lot, and you'll be pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

Location is nice but parking is a disaster--even with limited hotel parking in the back. Inside the hotel it is wacky art deco.

Some rooms I hear have been refurbished a bit, but trust me when I say this place is a dump. We tried 3 rooms, all stunk of smoke and mold. Bedding was dingy and dusty--one room looked as though nobody had been in it (including maid service) for years. My wife was so dissapointed we actually had to use a phone book in one of the rooms to call a hotel to move to the very first night. We ended up in a Clarity Inn (only thing available) and it was actually 100% nicer than the Carlyle..and the Clarity is like a motor lodge type hotel!!!!

There is a high gay population in the area--not uncommon for Dupont Circle and I could care less about sexual orientation, but the staff were rude and the bar downstairs in the hotel is a bonified gaybar--not for everyone.

Elevator was slow and air conditioning was not working in the lobby or public areas at our time of stay.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

i stayed here for 5 nights in december for a wedding in dc. i was with my mother and my 3 year old daughter the room was only $850 for all of us and we had two double beds in a fine size room along with the shower room and a little kitchen dining area we had a coffee maker with free fill ups all week a fridge microwave and cooker rings with pots and dishes - this was perfect for us as we didnt have to be rushing and stuck to a time frame with a toddler for breakfast dinner ect

would go back

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

My wife and I stayed at The Carlyle Suites, for 3 nights whilst visiting DC to experience the main sights. The hotel is well situated near Dupont Circle. We found the staff friendly and helpful. Room was clean and a good size and nicely furnished in contempory style with sofa, work desk and chairs. The bed was extremely comforatble. Good to have the kitchen which was well equipped. Bathroom has no bath but very good sized shower. There was high speed internet in room but required Ethernet cable we we could purchase from the Front desk for a nominal charge of $5. Free Wi-Fi was available in lobby area. Hotel amongst various Embassies in quite and safe neighbourhood, hotel mainly used by business people. Hotel has small carpark at rear which is free to residents howver spaces can be in short supply there is however free parking on roadway overnight until about 8am but is then limited to 2hours. However spaces do become available in morning as people check out. Reception staff Mustafa and Simon particularly helpful & notified us when spaces became available. Alternatively underground paid parking available nearby for about $15 a day. All in all a comfortable & convenient hotel 5mins walk from the Metro at Dupont Circle an area which is also the location for numerous restaurants and food outlets and less than 20 minute walk to White House.

If visiting DC again would certainly consider a return to the Carlyle Suites which provided comfort and convenience with excellant value (Good room rate obtained via Skoosh.com)

  • Liked — Good value offering Comfort and convenience to central DC
  • Disliked — Limityed free parking
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmn727
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

Great three-night stay at this hotel. Super, quiet location near Dupont Circle; suites very handy for being able to make your own snack, or, in my case, several cups of tea per day. Friendly staff direct you to nearby Safeway's to get basic supplies. Beds really are terrifically comfortable, with great linen, and bathroom was recently modernized, with good pressure showers, and everything to hand. Great breakfast too, although they don't tell you much about it! One tip for business travellers; there is free high-speed internet access from the bedroom, but you need a cable to access it; wireless is available, but only on lobby level. Bring your own cable if you have one; they will sell you one, but not lend or hire one to you. Getting into the city from Dulles airport is expensive by taxi; SuperShuttle is the best option.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Needed cable to access internet from room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

If you want to be ripped off and accused of being a liar this is the place for you!

Didn't make any phone calls - we'll make some for you and then charge you for them!!!

If you are a foreigner we will also throw in (for no extra cost) laughing at your pronounciation and accent!

You can also save money on cigarettes as the staff smoke outside right near the airconditioning - straight from our filthy cigarettes to your room!

Welcome to the Carlyle Suites and Enjoy Your Stay (yeah right!)

  • Liked — never having to go there again
  • Disliked — being ripped off and called a liar
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle Hotel
The Dupont Circle Hotel
#19 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,978 reviews
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#25 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
#46 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
#52 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, The Carlyle Hotel in Washington DC offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. The Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.