We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sons 5th birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carlyle Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Carlyle Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Bastrop, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sons 5th birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

We stopped here for a few days on the way to NYC for my sons 5th birthday and were blown away! The rooms were so spacious and clean! The staff was beyond friendly (they even would sing along w my son and dance around in the lobby w him while we waiting on the car service)! The hotel is a little farther from DuPont circle than I had expected but it's in a very quiet/ safe neighborhood! I was never worried about us walking down the street w it just being us! We enjoyed our stay!

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susu A, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello Smcneely1023,

We are all beaming from your review! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our spacious and clean rooms particularly, our awesome team members were able to make it even more special for you and the birthday boy. Thank-you for choosing The Carlyle Suites!
We hope to see you soon…. on his 6th birthday maybe?!?!?

All the Best,

-Susu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    418
    100
    17
    20
See reviews for
449
354
86
303
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Many of the rooms in this New Hampshire Ave NW hotel are bigger than a studio apartment and are several are equipped with basic cooking facilities. We stayed on an upper floor and rarely heard traffic noise. We would like to extend a sincere thank you to the front desk staff, especially Mediabo who arranged accommodation for me in advance of my reservation. He made the checkin process possible despite the limitations of my migraine headache.

We stayed for two weeks in May and discovered that this location offered easy access to the subway, the local grocery stores and a variety of restaurants. The onsite laundry was very convenient.

Be sure an reserve in advance for the Sunday brunch which has great variety and good music.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susu A, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2014
Hello Janet F,

Thank-you so much for your glowing review about our hotel and service team-particularly Mediombo. I am delighted to hear that you had such a memorable experience and that your check-in process and service was efficient and seamless. We’re glad that you stayed with us and loved our hotel as much as we do. I’m certain you’ll come back and visit soon, we look forward to seeing you again.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Best,

Susu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

We stayed at the Carlyle for 3days
Welcome at the reception was oke !
The room was exellent, with all accomodations like kitchenette, bathroom,, beds and little sofa area oke !
Walking distance from a large selection of shops, restaurants, metro and side seeing locations, fe musea and the White House of course !
the breakfast corner was very good !
Staff was friendly
If I return, I will stay at this hotel again ! If you need a score , let us say a 8.5/10 !

Room Tip: I only saw 1 room, and it was good, clean, no noise, excellent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susu A, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2014
Hello Youk01,

Thank you for your feedback. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed our spacious converted rooms, friendly staff, convenient location and the delicious breakfast offerings here at The Carlyle Suites. Thank-you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Best ,

Susu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We stayed the first week of April 2014 and thought it was a very nice, clean, updated room. Location was okay for site seeing. The bartender/waiter was very creepy and wasn't very pleasant. Other staff were more than pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susu A, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2014
Hello Minnesotamomma2014,

Thank-you for staying with us. We really are in the perfect area for site seeing among other things. Thanks again for staying with us, hope to welcome you back again soon.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Best,

Susu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We stayed at the Carlyle for 12 days on business. We met with Bria before booking the room and she showed us our options and then carefully chose a quiet, spacious room for our stay. She did a great job! All of the staff - Michelle, Abou, Kamaria, Lisann, Soso and Modiambo were so attentive and made sure we had everything we needed. The location of the hotel is close to the Metro, cabs were always available, and shopping and restaurants are within walking distance. The kitchen was a wonderful addition as we were working in the room most of the day and could stock up on the basics so we didn't have to leave for coffee or meals.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susu A, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2015
Hello Jennifer C, Thank you so much for your awesome review! We know you have your choice of accommodations when traveling and we greatly appreciate your business and kind words. We are thrilled you enjoyed our incredible team and buoyant location. We pride ourselves in making sure our guests feel right at home and well taken care of. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Washington, DC!

All the Best,

Susu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

I arrived expecting little more than a pigeon-hole, but was pleasantly surprised as the room turned out to be the size of a small flat. Kitchenette in room (with microwave, fridge and dish-washing soap). Small little lounge area, separate dressing area, etc. Really nice and roomy after a series of really cramped accommodations. The hotel has an Art Deco feel to it, with a nice bar downstairs to have a drink or something to eat before bed. The rooms are spaced adequately apart, so you can't hear your neighbour's every movement through the walls. We had a few workshops booked on site - catering and arrangements were all excellent.
Location - Superb. Walking distance from a large selection of shops and restaurants. Close to the Georgetown shopping district, around the corner from the white house - etc. Staff were super - from arrival to end. Super friendly, super helpful, what a pleasure :)
Special thanks to Rebecca, the gentleman and another lady that I seem to recall being Venessa or Victoria (? - sorry!) that took such good care of use during our stay.
Would definitely recommend it, and if ever we found ourselves back in Washington - Carlyle Suites Hotel would get my vote.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susu A, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2015
Hello Glowfly,

On behalf of the entire team we would like to thank you for your kind and detailed review of the Carlyle Suites. We love when our guests take advantage of all the hotel amenities because in addition to a clean and comfortable stay, we want our guests to see the value we pride ourselves with. Our personalized service and exceeding guest expectations are some of the ways we try and communicate that value. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay and I could not be happier. We enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to your return. I’ll be sure pass along your review to the rest of the team!

All the Best,

Susu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

We were very happy with our stay at this hotel. We had a very spacious room in a quiet neighbourhood. Friendly staff, lots of nearby places to eat and easy access to the Metro. We could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susu A, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2015
Hello Marthag,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Carlyle Suites. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and your time with us. We thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the Best,

Susu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlyle Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlyle Suites Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlyle Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle, Carlyle Suites Hotel in Washington DC offers 170 spacious hotel accommodations complete with full service kitchens, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature newly installed flat screen televisions by Samsung, free WiFi, ample closet space and Eco-friendly bath amenities by Natura Resource Sweden. Carlyle Suites Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nations most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short 3 block walk from our DC hotel. Premier dining is within easy reach of the Carlyle Suites Hotel starting with Twist Dupont Restaurant and Lounge located just off our lobby and provides Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and a very popular Sunday Brunch under a light-filled glass atrium. Come see why we rank in TripAdvisor's top 10 hotels in Washington DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlyle Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlyle Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.