We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience - a true 'home away from home'!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Valet Parking
Ranked #47 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience - a true 'home away from home'!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Carlyle Suites was very much my delightful 'home' for four nights during a recent stay in Washington. I could not have asked for a happier experience! My room was fantastic, very comfortable and clean - and staff could not have been kinder or more helpful on every occasion! Among the many warm, friendly staff who helped make this such an enjoyable stay - Karen and Michelle at reception were exemplary in their care and helpfulness. The location in DC was absolutely superb for me, too. A great part of town! I would very happily recommend the hotel to friends and colleagues, and I look forward very much to returning there myself soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear ardentone,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful five star review about us. Your kind messages were transmitted to Karen and Michelle for being exemplary during your stay, and they are very happy you mentioned their names in your review. We can't wait to welcome you back "Home" on your next visit. Best Wishes! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    445
    112
    27
    24
See reviews for
468
370
90
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Staff is AMAZING!!
Not only kind, but helpful, outgoing, friendly, patient, accommodating and refreshing!

Rooms are clean and retro 1940's style- well maintained!
Kitchenette available, which was great for my long stay. Restaurant had good food too.

Traveling with pets, no problem.

Only thing is, if you want to sleep in, request a room AWAY from the garbage bins in the alley!! LOUD! And put a do not disturb sign in your door, cuz the maids are ON IT. :)

Michelle was great!
Taj was great!
All the doormen were sweet and helpful! THANK YOU for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our stay was perfect! The hotel is marvelously decorated in art-deco style with comfortable rooms and in great proximity to the amenities of the DuPont Circle area. The added benefit of the kitchenette was a real bonus since we were traveling with children. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, especially Abou, who took care of our every need. We walked to the Metro, area restaurants and nearby attractions....great location!! Would highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed at the Carlyle during the Canadian March break in 2014. Great location (and if you are from Toronto - the neighbourhood is similar to a combination of the Annex, Forest Hill and Summerhill & Yonge). We were pleasantly surprised with the room as it was pretty big. It also had a kitchenette and a small dressing room off of the bathroom. It was an easy 20 min minute walk to the National Mall with lots to look at along the way. Valet Parking is your only option and it isn't cheap, but I suppose it wasn't a big deal in the grand scheme of things. There is an abundance of places to eat within a 2-5 min walk so I wouldn't bother with the restaurant on site however the buffet breakfast was pretty reasonable at $14.99 and $5.99 for kids. If i were travelling on business, I would likely stay a bit closer to downtown but overall, we would certainly stay at the Carlyle again and recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I like the people who work here, and I like the hotel and location! I was upgraded to a suite upon arrival, and it was very nice with a separate kitchen, dressing area off of the bathroom, and a large living space. The bed was really nice, as was the bedding. I will stay here again, without hesitation!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed here for almost two more weeks and stuff here is really nice(thank you About!) At first, I think the room here is not that luxurious but after you spend time here one night you will feel this place is very comfortable just like home. It is also a good location since it's near the metro and people can easily go to National mall, white house and some places for sightseeing, also it's close to the georgetown which is a good place to shopping.Also there are many small food market around here, you can cook for yourself, and some small great resturant around here.Wonderful hotel I will come back again!!

这家酒店很不错, 服务人员态度很好,而且房间款式也很不错, 床垫均是乳胶床垫睡起来很舒服。房间有带厨房,冰箱,微波炉,烤面包机等设施, 不习惯西餐的朋友也可以在旁边超市买来自己做。这里离地铁站很近, 可以乘地铁去白宫,林肯纪念堂等旅游观光区。周围的中餐厅也很多,做的也很地道。此处为使馆区, 附近也有很多精致的小餐馆和咖啡店。总之是一个非常棒的酒店。

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

In a nice neighborhood, mostly up-scale residential, a few block off of Dupont Circle. There are many places to eat at the Circle, but especially north on 18th Street. (Adams Morgan, famous for reasonably priced ethnic food) and also over around Florida and U. The hotel feels rather European. It does not pretend to be a new building nor a generic HIlton. We really liked it that way. We were there during spring break for some parts of the country, and most of the guests were families with teens or same sex couples. No noise from the other guests. We had a kitchenette with real dishes, a stove, etc. But there was no dining table in our room, and one of those single-serving fancy coffee makes-- I prefer a regular drip pot. But we really loved the location. The family loved walking to the Metro with real Washingtoninans and got a kick out of spotting the various embassies in the area.

Room Tip: We had a suite for 5. It was a little cramped, but fine. For 4, I'd get the same size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle Hotel
The Dupont Circle Hotel
#19 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,979 reviews
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#25 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
#46 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
#52 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, The Carlyle Hotel in Washington DC offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. The Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.