We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value & location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Valet Parking
Ranked #47 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value & location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We recently enjoyed 5 nights at this hotel. We got a fantastic deal via expedia, perhaps that is the reason we had a view of the car park, but won't complain as we did get a great price compared to other hotels in DC. Previously we had stayed in Georgetown, but the price was double to this hotel.
Location is great - walking distance to Dupont Circle metro, plenty of bars & restaurants located nearby. Area is very safe with lots of embassies & lovely houses in the area. We did notice quite a few homeless in the area, but they were harmless, unlike other cities, where you can be constantly hassled.
The room was quite large, with a kitchenette which came in handy as we were able to prepare our own breakfast. There is a Safeway less than a 5 min walk for supplies. I enjoyed having the keurig coffee machine with daily replenished pods - great for my morning coffee. Though did take me a few goes to work it out properly!
I do agree with others that the furnishings & rooms look a little tired, however they are very clean & well maintained.
We did find the room a little warm overnight & there was no way to regulate the temp, however there were windows that we could open. We spoke to front desk & were advised that other guests had complained that it was cold so the temp had been turned up.
My partner said that the bed was one of the most comfortable he had slept in.
Front desk staff were pleasant & helpful. We were able to use the hotels laptop to print off our boarding passes to their printer, which was handy. They provided maps & were helpful with directions etc.
There are coin operated laundry facilities in the basement which came in handy, especially after travelling for almost 2 weeks & only doing hand washing.
2 days in a row we did have issues with the key cards to our room. They worked in the lift, however wouldn't allow us to open the room door. After the keys were fixed a 2nd time, it was ok after that. I did like the fact that a key card is needed to access the lift, good security!
I would recommend the Carlyle Suites & if we are ever back in DC would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear MelbourneKaren67,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are so glad that you found our front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. I would like to apologize about the lock issue you had and I am happy we were able to quickly take care of it. We also want to thank you for mentioning our coin laundry facility which is a great help for most long term travelers with family members. I know we will see again so please let me know when you are coming back so that I can greet you!
Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    444
    112
    27
    24
See reviews for
467
369
90
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

A small kitchen made this an excellent option as for a change from a hotel. Obviously other guests don't use the kitchen so often as we had to call the maintainence man three times to fix a blown fuse and 2 elements that did not work. But he came quickly and repaired everything very quickly. The other staff were also very helpful and friendly.

Good location about 20 minutes from the White House in a nice leafy suburb.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great location....we could even walk to the White House!! Rooms are huge, with a small kitchenette with microwave crockery etc. Shower recess is modern, and large. Everything a little old and worn but beautifully clean and maintained. Bar and restaurant is a lovely and relaxing area, food very good and fairly priced. Some beautiful homes surround, 1 minute from restaurants, Safeway etc. Felt very comfortable and safe walking as is in the Embassy area.
Staff extremely helpful...service fantastic as all staff friendly and willing to make an effort!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello PeterColette,
We are so excited to know that we have achieved our goal of excellent service with you, I like your description of it "Staff extremely helpful...service fantastic as all staff friendly and willing to make an effort! " As you mentioned, it's not all about what we did but the willingness to make effort, we really appreciate your comments and thank you for sharing your experience with others.
We know we will see again on your next visit to Washington, DC.
Best Wishes! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Ideally located near DuPont Circle and the metro, though we walked to most of the main sights. We emailed room preferences in advance and got no reply. Having said that staff were helpful. Rooms were comfortable and nice big shower in our room. However rooms and hotel look a bit tired. The kitchenette in the room was handy, but the stove didn't really get hot, there was no kettle and the fridge didn't really cool anything - milk we had bought went off overnight. Overall the hotel did the job and so can't complain - well not too much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Adam007-13,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it looks like we did not impress you during your stay and I am sorry. We thrive to excellence and average is not good enough, I hope you will give us another opportunity to achieve our goals with you. Please e-mail me directly at sattagba@carlylesuites.com next time you are coming back to Washington and I will make sure your stay is memorable.
Again thank you for sharing your experience with others.

Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed at the Carlyle 2 nights for a conference and could not be more pleased. The room was large with a small kitchenette. The bathroom was spotless with a large shower and great Green hair and lotion products. The bed was unbelievably comfy! I wanted to take it home with me! The location was perfect with just a short 5-8 minute walk to the metro and DuPont circle. I was alone and felt very safe.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello Mmjohns4,
We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, I am glad your fell in love with our bed, they are surely very comfy. We thank you for the five stars and we know we will see you soon!
Best Wishes! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
184 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our 5 day stay in Washington and this hotel helped make it fun. Only complaint, no bathtub. Someone could fix the kitchen cupboards so there is a drawer. The neighborhood is lovely with lots of restaurants. After a long day of sightseeing it was fun to spend some time in the bar. great margaritas. The staff were always ready to make recommendations and give directions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello Feds294201,
Indeed, the Carlyle Suites is "A great place to stay" we are very happy the staff was able to make your stay more fun. We thank you for sharing your comments, I am sorry for the bathtub but I am glad you loved our neighborhood.
Please send me an e-mail next time you are coming back to Washington for any special request and I will make sure you have an excellent stay.
Thank you for staying with us, we will see you soon.
Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My 90-year old mother and I were in DC to visit my son and the museums. We loved this distinctive and lovely hotel. We had a nice lunch and cocktail at the restaurant. The room was great; as some have mentioned the bathroom is small, but it has an outer mirrored space as well for cosmetics, toiletries, and whatever. If you are depending on cabs, you may want to leave a little time. Usually we got one promptly but it is a somewhat quiet street so there may be a little wait.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Deborah K,
I am so happy to hear that you spent a lovely time with your 90-year old mother and enjoyed the cocktail in our Twist restaurant. I like the way you described us as 'distinctive hotel", this is what we thrive for and we are glad we were able to achieve this goal with you.
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We will see you again next you are back to Washington DC.

Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle Hotel
The Dupont Circle Hotel
#19 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,978 reviews
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#25 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
#46 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
#52 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, The Carlyle Hotel in Washington DC offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. The Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.