We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of excellence at a great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Carlyle Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for two offer
Ranked #13 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A taste of excellence at a great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a great treat to stay at such a warm inviting hotel with such great style. The rooms are clean and inviting as well as the staff. The staff is extremely helpful and a great place to look forward to returning due to being such a pleasure.

Room Tip: The rooms were a great value great family vacation, equipped with a kitchen and family friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    749
    357
    92
    15
    19
See reviews for
374
295
72
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very good hotel with very kind workers especially front desk men david and abbu. Very clean and great service with a affordable price. Placing a smile on your face when entering the hotel. They give u passes to a gym up the street that is outstanding. Very professional. A overall great hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We found this dog friendly hotel through Bringfido.com which gave it a high review rating. This hotel is very clean and the staff is extremely friendly. They welcome medium to small sized dogs, most of the rooms on our floor seemed to have a dog yet it was very quiet. I even had room service clean the room while our dog was in the room; I left my cell phone number in case of any problems and surprisingly received no call. They have a great restaurant which also is in charge of the buffet breakfast and was the best that I have ever tasted. This hotel is right within walking distance to the DuPont Circle and the DuPont Historical District. We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel a few years ago while visiting DC and was very pleased with the room and the wonderful staff. We went again over the 4th of July holiday and had another wonderful stay. The room was kept very nice (the kitchen is a plus), the staff was all very friendly, and it is very close to many restaurants and the subway. Only downfall is the parking, but you will find that anywhere in DC.....we was lucky to find street parking and did not have to park in a garage for a fee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

First off, just to get it out there, the hotel itself was very nice overall.

Room:

The room was clean and well lit. Small kitchenette with fridge and sink was a nice touch, esp with kids. Bed was very roomy (king), and couch rolled out into a bed. TV did not work upon arrival, but it was fixed promptly. Some lights did not work, but we were out on the town mainly, so it was not a huge deal for us. Bathroom was very modern, and clean. Service desk staff was attentive to our needs.

Area:

Proximity was somewhat close to the city. It's located in the heart of a residential area. You can drive or take a train (or bus) to the city. I don't recommend walking in the summer (it was about 95-98 degrees when we visited). It's not a long walk, but in the heat.......eh. It's very close (or just about within) Dupont Circle, which is very cool esp early evening! There are parks for the kids, etc, as well as the usual restaurants and bars.

Parking:

Good luck!! Parking was horrendous! The hotel offers a handful of parking spots (8-10 MAYBE, shared with another building). Good luck with street parking too. Spent a few hours driving around the area to find a spot. Finally found one here or there, but between the meters and tickets, etc....again- good luck! Once you get a good spot, you may want to leave your vehicle there for the duration of your trip. Seriously.

Since I am not rating DC and only the hotel itself, this should suffice. Bottom line, hotel was very nice for the $$ - just need to think about your parking strategy before planning your trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent stay in DC, very friendly hotel staff, room was large enough to fit family of 4, kitchenette had everything including a Keurig coffee machine with K-cups, bathroom was well appointed and featured a small vanity/dressing area. Last but not least, the TempurPedic mattress was heavenly! Hotel is in a wonderful area, within walking distance to Metro, stores and restaurants. Definitely best hotel choice in Dupont Circle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We chose Carlyle Suites Hotel based on reviews on Trip Advisor and other sites. The place in fabulous. It is located in the heart of the vibrant Dupont Circle neighborhood - super convenient to great restaurants, metro, and easy bike ride to downtown. Taxi ride to downtown was $8 - easier and just as cheap as riding the Metro. Service at Carlyle was top notch - attentive and professional. Our little dog was welcomed without question and there is a dog park 1 block away - perfect! Very dog friendly neighborhood. Parking on site is free if you can get it. If not, parking on the street is easy and free on the weekends. The Carlyle has an excellent breakfast/brunch for $15 - the going rate for a real breakfast and theirs is quite good - omelettes, waffles, and OJ made fresh. Yum! We got a great weekend rate of $101 per night for a 2 double suite with kitchenette and breakfast nook. You can easily prepare small meals/snacks "at home" if you are so inclined - room includes stove top, small fridge, microwave, dishes, cookware, coffee pot. Really a great set up! We felt right at home. The beds were super comfy and thought the bathroom was a little small, we didn;t find it to be inconvenient for 2 adults and an 11 year old child. Overall, our stay was really wonderful. I would definitely stay at the Carlyle again!

Room Tip: A double room (two queens) deluxe with kitchen suite was $101 per night for weekends and $89 for wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carlyle Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlyle Suites Hotel

Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlyle Suites Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle, Carlyle Suites Hotel in Washington DC offers 170 spacious hotel accommodations complete with full service kitchens, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature newly installed flat screen televisions by Samsung, free WiFi, ample closet space and Eco-friendly bath amenities by Natura Resource Sweden. Carlyle Suites Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nations most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short 3 block walk from our DC hotel. Premier dining is within easy reach of the Carlyle Suites Hotel starting with Twist Dupont Restaurant and Lounge located just off our lobby and provides Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and a very popular Sunday Brunch under a light-filled glass atrium. Come see why we rank in TripAdvisor's top 10 hotels in Washington DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Venere, Amex, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Carlyle Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlyle Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Carlyle Suites Hotel to your Saves list