We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is just right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carlyle Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Carlyle Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
The secret is out!
Ranked #20 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Everything is just right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great location, great staff, brilliant little touches like free laptops to borrow... clean simple rooms with nice toiletries and a decent kitchenette especially good for families I am sure... really could not want for more especially the price.

Room Tip: get there early as the free parking is limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Good evening SJODubai! Simply put -- WE WERE THRILLED to have you stay with us!!! I will share your review with our entire team.

Thank you for your generously kind words! I look forward to meeting you personally the next time you are here in our nation's capital!!! My sincerest regards, David Trezevant, Resident Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    417
    100
    18
    20
See reviews for
449
353
86
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here for four nights. Roomy suite with king-sized bed and cooking facilities, great staff at reception, and a great location near DuPont Circle. One downside is that it doesn't quite have the funky charm or great bar and restaurant of the Tabard Inn, which is a cheaper -- although much less spacious -- Dupont Circle alternative. The Art Deco gloss on the place is a bit thin, and it's not quite as stylish as the web site suggests. But great value, friendly, and above all very roomy. Didn't try the gym pass, but the area is really easy for early morning jogging,and there are a host of good restaurants and coffe ars not only at DuPont Circle but on U Street and Florida Avenue, in the opposite direction from the Circle.

Room Tip: Mine was on the back of the building, and therefore quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Good evening Philip6262, Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community! We review all of your comments with all of our teams. Thank you for mentioning our staff who work so hard making sure all of our guests have a wonderful stay! My sincere regards, David Trezevant Resident Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tver, Russia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I called it home since its the first hotel/motel during our 3-week road trip that has a full scale kitchen with a fridge, a cooker, a rinse basin and a set of tableware.

Booking it just a few hours before the visit was likely a good idea since advance checks is how giving much higher price. We arrived late and left early, so we've allowed to drop our car just in front of the building, what looked very reasonable late at night. Otherwise the guy on reception subjectively looked a bit too official and proud, like he's used to serve senators.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Good evening Sonic1980, It was a pleasure serving you during your brief stay. From all of us - thank you for sharing your experience with us! We look forward to seeing you again! Have a great time on Our best regards, David Trezevant, Resident Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My friends and I spent two nights in this hotel and were all pleased and impressed. We had beautiful corner rooms with a full kitchen alcove overlooking the quiet street below. Plenty of windows and light, comfy beds, impeccably clean and even a K cup coffee maker, quick and easy. Most impressive was the courteous and super friendly staff. Everyone was wonderful, front desk folks, wait staff and the manager was on site and ready to help with anything. We ate dinner there and it was good, although there are many restaurants as well as shopping within walking distance at DuPont circle. The buffet breakfast was great in a lovely room designed to look like an outdoor patio. Parking is FREE but the lot is small so it's first come, first served, although we didn't have a problem. This is not your big, swanky, huge lobby type chain, but it has lots of charm and a cozy feel. We all loved it and would definitely go back choosing it over larger hotels with much bigger price tags. Super place!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Good morning Outdoorgal0914 !

Thank you so much for mentioning our Housekeeping Team! They work so hard to make sure every corner of the hotel is just perfect for every guest! From our family to yours - Thank you for staying with us & we look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, David Trezevant, Resident Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Absolutely Fabulous! We could not have asked for more for our 1st DC trip. Except maybe the weather. But I digress. The location is fantastic! A previous reviewer stated 10 blocks to the metro. I don't know which stop they were walking to, but the DuPont Circle stop is just about 3 blocks away. The metro is convenient but we also walked. A lot. What better way to burn off some calories from the delicious food from Filomena's in Georgtown than by walking all the way back home...to our comfy beds!

We were assigned a suite with 2 beds on the 8th floor for our 5 night stay. Our room was super clean, spacious, nicely appointed and equipped. We were able to stash all our crap in the closet and the drawer space was enough for us. I have issues, with walking barefooted on hotel carpets, but not here. The carpeting did not feel icky at all. Oh, and the windows actually open to allow cool air in without having to turn on the a/c.

I did not hear any of our neighbors and I know that we were not alone on our floor. The only noise that we heard occurred on our last two days when they were working on something in the hotel. Drilling and hammering. But this started after 9:00 AM.

The kitchen nook consisted of a microwave, coffee maker, stove top and medium size fridge (larger than the regular mini fridge). No oven. But, quite frankly, I wasn't planning on baking cookies while on vacation. We got good use out of the other appliances though.

I loved having a sitting area with a couch. When we came back to the room for a rest, we didn't have to sit on the beds in our street clothes. I'm pretty picky about that too. I also appreciated the dressing area with a seat. I could blow dry my hair and put on make up while sitting on a comfy seat!

The bathroom was clean and well appointed. Water pressure was good, albeit a bit difficult to regulate the water temp. The towels were clean and plush.

The employees were all top notch. David, Abu and the girl that checked us in/out were great and very informative. The bell service employee, Miguel or Manuel, was polite and friendly as well. Everyone that we came in contact with made eye contact, smiled and greeted us with upbeat tones.

We are looking forward to our next visit to DC. We will definitely be staying at the Carlyle Suites and hopefully we will get the same room again.

Until next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
"WELCOME HOME - Lissete" !!!

We were absolutely blown away by your kind words!! We are so happy you had an incredible time here in Washington DC and with us! Thank you for being a senior contributor with the TripAdvisor community & for sharing your experience. Your comments certainly energize our team everyday!! WE CAN'T WAIT TO SEE YOU AGAIN ;-0)

From the bottom of our hearts, The Carlyle Suites Hotel Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at Carlyle hotel and we enjoyed our stay here.The room is nice, comfortable, safe neighborhood, and the cooking furniture is a plus, the staff are friendly, helpful and courteous, polite and you will feel welcome, they will even greet you in the morning. There's a free first come first serve parking which is really good. The location is great! What more can you ask, its in dupont circle! Checking in and checking out is a breeze! We will definitely book and use this hotel again and would recommend it to our friends who wants to visit washington DC.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Good Morning Cristina! - A special thank you from Karen, Mediombo, housekeeping and engineering teams for your wonderful comments!!! We truly love taking care of all our guests! Thank you for sharing your experiences with us! My sincerest regards, David Trezevant, Resident Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We love the Carlyle Suites in Dupont Circle. We have stayed there on 2 successive trips to DC. We can easily walk to the metro, and we can walk to Kramerbooks and Afterwords, one of our favorite places to eat and read. On this most recent visit, it happened to be the Embassy Open House weekend, and we were right in the midst of it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Congratulations Teszym! Embassy Open House Weekend is an awesome time every year here in DC ! With us in the heart of embassy row - how many countries did you visit ?! THANK YOU so very much for continuing to choose us each time you visit DC! I look forward to seeing you again.... My best regards, David Trezevant, Resident Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlyle Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlyle Suites Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlyle Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle, Carlyle Suites Hotel in Washington DC offers 170 spacious hotel accommodations complete with full service kitchens, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature newly installed flat screen televisions by Samsung, free WiFi, ample closet space and Eco-friendly bath amenities by Natura Resource Sweden. Carlyle Suites Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nations most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short 3 block walk from our DC hotel. Premier dining is within easy reach of the Carlyle Suites Hotel starting with Twist Dupont Restaurant and Lounge located just off our lobby and provides Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and a very popular Sunday Brunch under a light-filled glass atrium. Come see why we rank in TripAdvisor's top 10 hotels in Washington DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carlyle Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlyle Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.