We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Carlyle Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Carlyle Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for two offer
Ranked #20 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The rooms have kitchen facilities which was nice, it is a short walk to Dupont cirlce where you can either use the Metro or get on the hop on hop off buses. The Cherry blossom have just started to flower, it is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davinci1967, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear MonanMatt, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing us!
Washington DC is truly a very beautiful city during the Cherry Blossom season! We look forward to seeing you in the future! sincerely, David Trezevant, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    400
    97
    18
    19
See reviews for
432
340
82
294
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here last weekend for a bachelorette party. Half of the girls checked in on Friday and the rest of us came on Saturday morning. I had reserved the rooms online but called to confirm and to add our occasion and extra names to the rooms for check in. From the minute we arrived until the minute we left, the staff was able to help us with everything we needed and then some. David was the MOD while we were there and he went above and beyond any manager duties.

The rooms were over sized for a typical DC boutique hotel and were well furnished. We had more than enough room for 4 adult women. The beds were super comfy and the kitchen was just the right size.

We didn't eat at the hotel- there is so much that is walking distance from the hotel. The parking is a bit tight and limited but we were able to take advantage of it.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area for business or for vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hello Frenarena! It was our genuine pleasure to host you and all of your friends! Thank you for sharing your special weekend with us! Thank for also share your experience with the TripAdvisor community....Congratulations from all of us here with the Carlyle Suites family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I just stayed over this property for a night, and had a very pleasant stay. I had a double room, which featured a kitchenette with a stove and pots and pans...however a water boiler would have been nice, as there was just a Keurig device and I am a tea drinker.

I was pleased to find that the TV featured a large array of channels, and as others have mentioned the tempurpedic bed was a lovely addition. I also liked the fact that the shower was particularly spacious, and I enjoyed the eco-friendly bath products.

The service was first rate during my stay. We opted to eat breakfast in the hotel since we were pressed for time, and there isn't anything immediately next to the hotel. The breakfast buffet was just okay- at $15 i was expecting a bit more in terms of selection..I don't think it's worth the price...but the fresh squeezed orange juice was a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello Traveljunky973, Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Washington DC! Our Tempurpedic beds are one of our guests favorite amenities! Thank for the kind remarks and your full four circles! We hope you have a great trip on your next adventure! David Trezevant, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kruisland, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We visited the Carlyle Suites Hotel in Washington D.C. during our trip through Canada and the U.S.A. We arrived by car, and the hotel had its own private parking places behind the hotel. The parking place was very small, and hard to park your car there even when it's a small car, but the private parking place on itself is a big plus.

The room had enough space with good airconditioning. The bathroom had a nice shower and everything was very clean. We didn't have a good view, but we didn't hear any noise at night. We even received extra clean towels. Breakfast was good, but we wouldn't have mind to have had a bit more choice.

The location of the Hotel was very good. The area was great with lot's of nice restaurants and bars, a very friendly area. It was only a few blocks away to the transportation to all of the main attractions of the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Good morning ErikvanTurnhout! It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us! Our parking in the historic neighborhood of DuPont Circle is certainly a plus! Though it is very limited based on first come first serve & currently only 20 spaces - we do make it complimentary.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Our best regards, David and the Carlyle Suites Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect Heights, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had to make last minute plans for a business trip to Washington DC, and soon found that this particular area are pretty proud of their hotels and don't mind reflecting that in the prices. This hotel stood out on a search site as a good degree less than pretty much all, which usually means the obvious... steer clear. But I lingered enough to have a quick look at other reviews and the result was that I booked a prepaid room. All the reviews are spot on. The staff are wonderfully welcoming and friendly, the property, although of good age, is well maintained and features a 50's art deco style. Quite unique. You almost feel you have stepped back in time. My room was huge, and included a neat little kitchenette which would be great for an extended stay. The Dupont Circle area is the Embassy district, and has a great selection of bars and restaurants to satisfy a wide array of palettes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Good morning Aussiepol65! We are glad you found us! Thank you for your kind words! We are very proud of our Art Deco history in our hotel dating back to the 1930's! We look forward to seeing you again! The Carlyle Suites Hotel Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed here with two friends from college for a two night stay this past weekend. None of us had much experience in, or knowledge of, the DC area, and mostly chose this hotel because of other reviews. I wish I could thank every single person who wrote a solid review for this spot, as they were completely accurate!

As a New Yorker, I was shocked at how large the room was. I've stayed in NY hotels that were maybe 1/3 of this space. The kitchen was adorable! Sink, refrigerator, microwave, stove, utensils, cups and plates - you really could not ask for more out of a hotel. Cute little table and chairs surrounded by two large windows with a great view of the pretty scenery - gorgeous brownstones and flowers in bloom.

The hotel has a great old Hollywood feel - the colors and patterns in the lobby and elevators especially reminded us all of the current Gatsby commercials with the black and gold. There's great, jazzy music playing in the lobby as well. When we first checked in our front desk attendant could have been a bit friendlier (though he did check us in early, and later brought my friend out to the parking lot and showed her where to park - and, by the way, free parking?! Seriously?! The lot is small, and first come first serve, but if you can snag a spot it's an incredible value.) but we couldn't really make that comment about anyone else on the staff. Every person we passed was friendlier than the last, which leads me to...DAVE! The absolute best manager I've ever dealt with. He took note of my and my friends confusion when we first left the hotel, and walked us outside to show us exactly where to find the Metro station. Unprompted, he also took it upon himself to point out to us other things nearby that we might need and how to find it. When we came back that night he was talking to another customer outside. He stopped what he was doing, approached us with a big smile, and said "Welcome Home, Girls! We left the lights on for you! Did you have fun? Did you find everything?" I'm not naïve, I'm sure everyone gets this greeting - this is his job. But it's incredibly how far good service goes. To feel incredibly welcome at your hotel in an unfamiliar city, whether it's just a friendly façade or not, goes a long way to making a good stay memorable.

Because we checked in early we were given a handicapped bathroom, which was the only room available (they made us aware of this before we agreed to take the room - we were just so eager to begin our trip that we took it). The only downside to this was the bathroom - it was a good size, but the shower was really just an open stall (no shower curtain or anything) and there was nothing to really keep the water in the designated shower area. We tried to stop it with towels, but a large portion of the bathroom floor was soaked. Once again, we chose to take this room - just wanted to point this out.

If you have the chance, absolutely go the Jazz Brunch downstairs at Twist! The food was excellent, the décor and music make for a lovely, relaxing atmosphere, and the service (as with every other area in the hotel) was impeccable. Unlimited mimosas that they refill practically after every sip? Yes, please.

Lastly, the location!! Unreal! The tree and flower lined streets were adorable (plus, passing embassies on your daily walk doesn't suck!) and it was MAYBE a five minute walk to the Dupont Circle Metro. Within complete and total walking distance were bars, restaurants, the adorable Kramerbooks and Starbucks (this, in particular, was very important to me). The area is great - very vibrant, and busy - you definitely feel safe walking there, even well into the night.

Seriously, I can't imagine why you would ever want to stay somewhere else! Friendliest service I've ever had, perfect location - all for a great value. We could not have been happier to stay, or sadder to leave!

Room Tip: I don't know if this is true for all rooms or if we just lucked out, but we had a fourth floor c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
A big Shut Out to You CB! It was absolutely a JOY to have you and your friends here for the weekend! Everyone from reservations, housekeeping, engineering, TWIST restaurant and all of our Service Hosts in the front of the House simply wanted to say "Thank You for choosing Us" !
Sincerely, David Trezevant, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our family had a great experience staying at the Carlyle while in DC for a weekend sightseeing trip! Everyone on the staff was very friendly and accomodating. Simon at the front desk was particularly welcoming and worked with us to find three rooms for our group after a last minute change in plans resulted in our not staying at a rental house as previously planned.

The rooms themselves were a welcome place to call home after a day of museum hopping and sightseeing. One guest in our party was so in love with the great night's sleep she had that she is trying to hunt down the exact model of mattress on their beds. Still another guest in our party commented that he would have expected the rates to be higher for the quaility of the hotel and rooms in such a great DC location.

We also enjoyed haivng a change in scenery from the Mall while staying in DuPont Circle. While there are places to stay which would be closer to the Mall or right on top of the Metra, we really enjoyed staying in a beautiful neighborhood while still only steps from great shops and restaurants such as Kramerbooks & Afterwords, Teaism, and more.

Everyone in our group, from ages 5 to 70+, enjoyed the Carlyle!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello Steve B, It was a pleasure to have everyone stay with us! Simon particularly wanted to say hello as well as well !!! He is certainly is one of our best Service Leaders! We looking forward to seeing you soon next time you are in the Washington DC area ! best regards, David Trezevant, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlyle Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlyle Suites Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlyle Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle, Carlyle Suites Hotel in Washington DC offers 170 spacious hotel accommodations complete with full service kitchens, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature newly installed flat screen televisions by Samsung, free WiFi, ample closet space and Eco-friendly bath amenities by Natura Resource Sweden. Carlyle Suites Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nations most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short 3 block walk from our DC hotel. Premier dining is within easy reach of the Carlyle Suites Hotel starting with Twist Dupont Restaurant and Lounge located just off our lobby and provides Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and a very popular Sunday Brunch under a light-filled glass atrium. Come see why we rank in TripAdvisor's top 10 hotels in Washington DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlyle Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlyle Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;