We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly staff, good location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Carlyle Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlyle Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for two offer
Ranked #12 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Metro NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super friendly staff, good location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The room was OK.. perhaps a bit dated, and art deco is not my thing, but we chose this place because of the convenience of a kitchenette -- were able to have dinner in one night (which we enjoyed), even though only one of the two electric burners worked and the small kitchen was a challenge to use. Still having a fridge in which to stock juice, yogurt, sandwich fixings, etc. made it easy to make the 5 day stay a bit more economical. Bed was super comfortable and I liked having the vanity area for getting dressed... almost a home away from home.

But the best part of the place was the very friendly and attentive staff. When we had to haul stuff to the car and it was raining, we were lent one umbrella and accompanied with a second that was gallantly held over me.

The neighborhood is convenient to the metro and has a lot of places to eat... It is the equivalent of San Francisco's Castro district. One thing I did notice several times that was nasty: a lot of RATS running around the streets. But. that's a comment on the city, not the hotel. The hotel, while a bit dated, was clean and, Id say, a good value.

Room Tip: Per other reviews, I requested a higher floor but our request (room was prepaid at a lower price) wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear BiConti - Happy to hear you found a "home-away-from-home" at the Carlyle Suites! Sorry to hear that we weren't able to accommodate your high-floor request. Those upper rooms are extremely popular and we do our best to honor everyone's requests. Let us know when you make your next reservation and we'll do our utmost to make sure your requests are met. Thank you for taking the time to post! JoAnn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    821
    395
    97
    17
    19
See reviews for
419
327
75
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Staying here for the first time. Never again! First of all the Internet needs to be re- signed up for EVERY time you want to get on the Internet. I asked at the desk and they gave the excuse of it being free, so we had to put up with slower connection times, and signing in several times a day! The rooms are fine: clean, but cold in feeling. You find a much nicer hotel in this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Aspenite - Thank you for being a part of the TripAdvisor community. We're sorry that we didn't suit your needs, but hope that you'll come back to visit our great Capital City again! Best wishes, JoAnn Dana, Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our family stayed one night at the Carlyle Suites as we wrapped up a trip to the D.C. area. We were thrilled with our hotel selection- the staff was amazing, the neighborhood was fabulous & the room was exactly what we needed. The walk to the metro was a mere 5-10 minutes away, & that was at 5 year old speed:) We barely noticed the walk because our family was fascinated by the flags & countries of all the different embassies along the way. It was indeed freezing, so our only disappointment came when we called downstairs to get hot chocolate & they didn't have any. But, CVS is only a few blocks away so thanks to the kitchenette in our room, we were able to run out, get some & make it- all within about 30 minutes.
The people at the front desk were always smiling and helpful, in fact, they checked us in early & took our luggage upstairs for us so we could get our rental car returned. On check out day, our flight was not until later in the evening, so we checked out, but they were more than happy to keep our luggage for the day. So helpful! and friendly!!
If we ever have another trip to D.C. we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hello Nelson Family! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience, though one night is definitely not enough! When that 5-year old starts studying the Presidents in school it will be time to come back to our Capital City! We'll look forward to welcoming you home again then! Best wishes, JoAnn Dana, Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a beautiful neighborhood near lots of great restaurant options. I love to walk so I didn't mind walking 10 minutes to the DuPont Circle metro or to get good food to eat. I ate at Kramers bookstore, Bistro du Coin and Firefly. All within a 10-15 minute walk. Safeway is also very close. The hotel is deco as are many surrounding buildings. It has it's charm but a very small lobby that did not afford a comfortable place to sit as my room was not ready at noon, but was by 3p - normal check in time. The room itself was fine. Not luxurious but the bed was really comfy. Staff were friendly and pleasant and I was always greeted with a "welcome home" when I came in for evening. All in all a really nice stay when in dc for a conFerence.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi Honolulu Foodie! It sounds like you hit just a few of the many great restaurants in our neighborhood! On your next visit, I'm sure of Service Specialists will be more than happy to recommend some others for you to try....the variety here in Dupont Circle is endless! Thank you so much for taking the time to post. Hope to see you on your next visit! JoAnn Dana, Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN ANTONIO
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at Carlyle Suites for 3 nights. Simon and Carlos (front desk) gave us excellent customer service and were very helpful. The room was large, by east coast standards, and the kitchenette was a great plus. We will definitely return!

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
AngelMay577 - Thank you for your Full-5 Circle Review! Come back and see Simon, Carlos & the Team again soon! Best wishes, JoAnn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogers222
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Plus: It's in a decent location in downtown DC. There is a small kitchenette in room. Keurig coffee maker. Very comfortable bed. Mid-priced hotel.

Minus: Location is "near" Dupont Circle, but it's several long blocks to Dupont where the Metro and restaurants are, more than you'd want to walk on a cold day or in dress shoes, so you'll be taking a lot of taxis. Bathroom has a shower but no bathtub, and it's one of those semi-open showers that floods the bathroom because there's no door to close. The property is showing its age -- it has 1970s style "faux art deco" furniture and a million coats of paint on the walls -- everything seems a bit chipped and faded. The room has terrible lighting, even with every light on, the room is too dark to read or get dressed, and you can't see in the dark closet. The kitchenette is pretty grubby and unsanitary, I found the cutlery on the floor under the sink coated with grime (yuck), and no bottle opener. Only two coffee cartridges for the coffee maker, why so cheap? The free wifi is awful -- it uses that old fashioned log-in page system that the better hotels abandoned several years ago; it times-out frequently, so you have to log in frequently, and is very slow and annoying. Paper thin walls, my room was by the elevators, and noisy with the conversations of people in the corridor.

Was a mediocre experience. Not the end of the world, but considering the competition in this price range, I won't go back to the Carlyle Suites. Other places are nicer for the same price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi Rogers222 - Thank you for being such an active member of the TripAdvisor community! Direct feedback is what this site is all about and while "Meh" isn't what we strive for, we do appreciate you taking the time to post and we do review each and every post with our team. All the best to you in your future travels! JoAnn Dana, Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

OK, I have to start with the memory foam bed. Loved it! Would love to get one for my bedroom. I thought the bathroom was very clean and again, loved the shower. We had a corner suite so it was very light and bright. The staff was very helpful!! We were there for the Inauguration and the price, although inflated, was still reasonable. Also loved the neighborhood but bring comfortable shoes because you can walk to the metro, shopping, U Street and monuments but it's quite a walk.
Would definitely stay here again. I think breakfast was included in our stay. Oh, and free parking!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
ZoeyBz - Thank you for taking the time to post!! Please don't wait until the next Inauguration to visit us again....the Cherry Blossoms will be bursting soon...come back to see us soon! Team Carlyle Suites!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlyle Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlyle Suites Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlyle Suites Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle, Carlyle Suites Hotel in Washington DC offers 170 spacious hotel accommodations complete with full service kitchens, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature newly installed flat screen televisions by Samsung, free WiFi, ample closet space and Eco-friendly bath amenities by Natura Resource Sweden. Carlyle Suites Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nations most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short 3 block walk from our DC hotel. Premier dining is within easy reach of the Carlyle Suites Hotel starting with Twist Dupont Restaurant and Lounge located just off our lobby and provides Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and a very popular Sunday Brunch under a light-filled glass atrium. Come see why we rank in TripAdvisor's top 10 hotels in Washington DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Carlyle Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlyle Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.