We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Carlyle Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlyle Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for two offer
Ranked #12 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our family (husband and I, 2 teens) stayed at this property for 3 nights. We were supposed to be there for 4 nights, but our arrival night was overbooked. Unfortunately, we had to stay at another property (Carlyle Suites arranged) which was not of same quality. We were a bit crabby after an eight hour train ride and midnight arrival, but the staff handled things professionally and ultimately everything worked out to our satisfaction.

The neighborhood is terrific. It is a LONG walk (25 mins or so) from National Mall and sights but felt like we were experiencing DC living. Seventeenth street (around the corner) is where there is a CVS, Safeway Grocer and several great restaurants and shops.

The hotel is small and intimate ...has an art deco vibe. The buffet breakfast is great..coffee-milk
-juices-fruit-scrambled eggs-bacon-sausage-home fries-cereal-breads and the staff terrific. The bar is very nice and intimate-quality drafts and good martini.

Hotel room was great...2 double beds (tempurpedic) small bathroom and great kitchenette. Micro-fridge-plates-utensils-2 burner stove. We were able to have small breakfast and snacks and bottled waters, etc.

The staff was incredibly accommodating. Very professional, warm and always there for guests. I would absolutely stay here again in the future.

Thank you, Carlyle Suites staff for a great stay!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
THANK YOU, JustMom, for taking the time to post! We're so very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time in Washington and we look forward to your next visit! JoAnn, David and the Service Stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    819
    394
    97
    17
    19
See reviews for
417
327
75
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harmony, null, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is in a residential neighborhood about a mile and a half from the National Mall and Smithsonian museums. It's a number of blocks from the metro, but for folks who don't mind some walking, it's a nice distance from the busy-ness of the city while not being too far. When comparing prices, it was considerably cheaper than other hotels in the area, but then I heard that someone staying the same weekend found a comparable hotel through Hotwire for a third of what I paid for my room. Oh well, lesson learned. Still, this was a reasonably appointed room, small, but it had a mini fridge, microwave, kitchen stuff, a nice TV, memory foam bed. It was fairly clean but not spotless. The neighborhood was nice, quiet and residential, but just a few blocks from good shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Kerul K - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We hope to see you back in DC again soon - Best wishes, David and Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushville, Ne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was the greeting we received from David and his staff when we entered the hotel each day! The rooms were clean and spacious and included a kitchenette. The breakfast was amazing and I utilized the workout location offsite and was pleased to have this service. Highly recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Chritine E - "Welcome Home" indeed! We so appreciate you taking the time to post and we greatly appreciate your recommendation!! Hope to see you again soon - David and Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked a 2 double + sofabed for our family of 5 and it was spacious, clean, very comfortable, and even had a kitchenette. Nice bathroom products with a green focus. The hotel staff are fantastic. A phonecall brought extra towels within minutes. They even sent the very cheerful custodian up to lend a screw driver so my son could use his new toy. I have absolutely no complaints. This is a gem of a hotel, and reasonably priced. Excellent location too.

Room Tip: We had 802 which is a top floor corner room with a corner window which gives a view of the Washingto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
NY111NY - Thank you for your FANTASTIC review and thanks for posting a room tip! Our Grand Double Doubles with Sofa Beds provide extra space for travelling families and our kitchenettes make life on the road a little more like home. Thanks again! JoAnn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable room; Keurig coffee maker. Very good breakfast including omelet bar. Courteous staff. Had one very tasty light dinner in the restaurant/bar. Attractive lobby. Plan to stay here next time I am in DC.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We'll look forward to your return! Thank you for taking the time to post, JoAnn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Rooms are not huge but has way more charm than prefab box hotels. Location is right off dupont circle. Staff suggested a nice local restaurant for a late dinner. They even let us park the car in the drop off spot in front of the hotel and leave it for the night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post and for your kind words about our team! Hope to see you in DC again soon...Pittsburgh is coooold and our Cherry Blossoms will be out before you know it! JoAnn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The suites were nicely appointed, and even our ground-floor room was nice (although dark). The room was clean and well-stocked. Even the TV is nice since they just have normal cable (no off-putting Hotel override that resets to some overly loud and annoying channel each time). You are quite close to Dupont Circle. There is a very tiny alley where you can stage your car for loading/unloading. Our king bed was a Temperpedic, which was a nice surprise. Just don't jump on it expecting a soft landing.

My only issue was that the parking deck recommended by the hotel was not 24 hours and was closed entirely on Sunday when we were checking out. I didn't realize this until we went to get the car. Another couple who had dropped off on Friday night for Sunday retrieval was waiting when we arrived at the deck. Neither of us saw the signage or were alerted to the policy by the attendant. Now, I know that this isn't the hotel's fault, but some warning would have been nice since 1) this is where they recommended we park and 2) they knew the day that we were checking out. The deck did have a sign that, among other verbiage, noted they were closed on Sunday and each night at 11pm. A separate sign noted that off-hours service carried an additional fee (which had to be paid in cash since it is just to grease the attendant that comes in on their day off). So, a word of warning: if you are checking out on Sunday and want to use their recommended deck, plan to wait a bit for your car, and have some cash with you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We're so sorry about the inconvenience in utilizing the nearby garage. Our team will take your comments to heart and make sure communicate to our guests more effectively in the future. Hope to see you again soon! JoAnn & Team Carlyle Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlyle Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlyle Suites Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlyle Suites Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle, Carlyle Suites Hotel in Washington DC offers 170 spacious hotel accommodations complete with full service kitchens, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature newly installed flat screen televisions by Samsung, free WiFi, ample closet space and Eco-friendly bath amenities by Natura Resource Sweden. Carlyle Suites Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nations most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short 3 block walk from our DC hotel. Premier dining is within easy reach of the Carlyle Suites Hotel starting with Twist Dupont Restaurant and Lounge located just off our lobby and provides Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and a very popular Sunday Brunch under a light-filled glass atrium. Come see why we rank in TripAdvisor's top 10 hotels in Washington DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Carlyle Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlyle Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.