We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carlyle Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Carlyle Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
The secret is out!
Ranked #20 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Johanessburg, Gauteng
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel was great and enjoyable. The staff was friendly and the rooms are huge, which is always a bonus. The hotel is suituated close to some restuarants, within walking distance and close to the bus stop and subways too. The subway is about 2 blocks or 5 minutes walk away.

Its along the Embassy row so it was quiet a pleasant and interesting experience to walk up and down the streets and seeing the various embasies. I liked the setup of the room it was comfortable for us to do whatever we wanted without being in anyone's way.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a corner room the view from the rooms are beautiful. From one side you see other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hi Jackie! When I walk through Dupont Circle, I too am just amazed at the Embassy's. When you think about it, the embassy's are the actual property of the country they represent, so to see them one after the other in such a beautiful neighborhood is just mind blowing - isn't it?! So fascinating! Glad you liked your stay at the Carlyle Suites Hotel! thanks for the review and we hope you made the trip again from Johannesburg! Cheers love - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    417
    99
    18
    20
See reviews for
448
352
86
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Gorgeous property along the Embassy Row. A true "suite" with full galley kitchen, bathroom with shower and separate area to put on makeup and dry hair outside the shower area but away from the beds so as not to disturb someone who might be sleeping. The staff was OUTSTANDING. They were helpful without being intrusive. The parking lot IS small but doable and nice that there is no charge. One downside is with it being in a residential area and football bowl game weekend there was a party in the apartment directly across the alley from our room......LOUD! But not for more than an hour or so and certainly not something the hotel could control. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hi Dana - Thanks for being so positive in your review and giving the Carlyle Suite Hotel in DC a 5 circle review on TripAdvisor! You actually helped us make it to #7!!!! Woo Hoo! Sorry about the neighbors being so loud - I am hoping you were Football Fans yourselves - LOL! Let us know when you plan to return so we can make sure you get a good quiet room! :) Warm Regards - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol,Pa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We've returned to Carlysle Suites for many years now. The friendly staff & rooms with a kitchenette make it perfect for a W.E. getaway. Dupont Circle ensures that it's quiet, with restaurants in waliking distance. Take the Metro to get to the Mall.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room, high up & in the front to get a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hi Marie! Thanks for being such a loyal customer! It is the biggest compliment that we could ever receive! Thank you kindly for writing a review on TripAdvisor. It means so much to us and makes a BIG difference in our business. - Big Hugs - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

From the moment we arrived, David and Dante made my family and I feel like celebrities! They checked us in like old friends and offered great advice on the hotel as well as DC - "their" city. The bell boy on duty was equally friendly and very helpful. Our adjoining suites made for one big happy family, very neatly laid out, great linen, fresh& clean bathrooms and very neat kitchenette. The location is great, with grocer close by and easy access to good restaurants as well as the DuPont circle metro station. The only downer is the lack of parking - but use the metro, it worked perfectly for our family. Thank you Carlyle Suites - We'll be back!

Room Tip: Call ahead and advise of any needs you may have - I found the hotel very willing to help! The views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Temfan - I am totally thanking you for the review, but I also I have to also thank David and Dante for giving you such great service! There is so much to be happy about here and I don't know where to be begin. Big hugs Temfam - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Good location - downtown near restaurants
Room is clean and spacious
Small bathroom - only shower no bathtub
Kitchenette with microwave, sink, small fridge, coffee machine
Fridge makes a lot of noise
Safe, iron & board in closet

We don't like the deco but it's personal taste.

Parking lot is very small. First come first serve.

Breakfast is not included.

Room Tip: High floor, corner room (bigger)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Good location - clean and spacious - downtown near restaurants - What more can I ask for! Thank you Chufa! Much appreciated! Warm Regards - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is in a great location about 4 blocks from the Dupont Circle Metro station and about 1.5 miles from the White House. It's about a 10 minute walk to the Phillips Collection and about a 20 minute walk to Ben's Chili on U St. There are some nice restaurants in the area and it is a pleasant walking neighborhood. When I arrived from the airport at 7am they couldn't find my reservation, but they found me a room and let me check in immediately, which allowed me to take a much needed nap. The room was clean and quiet and has a small kitchenette (sink, refrigerator, and microwave). The shower pressure was good and the room kept me warm. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but I opted instead to eat at nearby Kremer Books and get coffee from Filter. The staff got me a cab right away when I needed it. As other people have mentioned, it is great for the price.

Room Tip: Room 804 has a very lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Pkittens! How nice are you to write a 5 circle review on TripAdvisor! Did you make it in the Phillips Collection? It is such a lovely museum! Ben Chili Bowl on U Street has the best milkshakes and your review has me running there now! On your next trip from LA please consider us again! Call us direct to make your booking so we can make sure all is in order! reservations@carlylesuites.com! Warm Regards - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I never would have imagined we could have stayed in this nice a hotel in DC for the price. Our family stayed in a suite. It was clean and spacious. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a convenient, quiet area. Area restaurants and stores didn't have jacked-up tourists prices. The complimentary parking was full the whole time we were there, but a parking deck is close by. This hotel is not the most sound-proof, but overall it was very quiet anyway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Cmsgk - Value and nice is our middle name!! How great is it to find a hotel that doesn't cost a million dollars yet offers the service and comfort of a big city like Washington DC! Thanks for the 5 star review! It means so much to us! Thank you kindly! Warmly - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlyle Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlyle Suites Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlyle Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle, Carlyle Suites Hotel in Washington DC offers 170 spacious hotel accommodations complete with full service kitchens, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature newly installed flat screen televisions by Samsung, free WiFi, ample closet space and Eco-friendly bath amenities by Natura Resource Sweden. Carlyle Suites Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nations most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short 3 block walk from our DC hotel. Premier dining is within easy reach of the Carlyle Suites Hotel starting with Twist Dupont Restaurant and Lounge located just off our lobby and provides Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and a very popular Sunday Brunch under a light-filled glass atrium. Come see why we rank in TripAdvisor's top 10 hotels in Washington DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlyle Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlyle Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.