We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms, friendly staff, good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Loyalty Rewarded
Ranked #45 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Helensvale, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms, friendly staff, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Spacious comfortable room, separate kitchenette, walk in robe, bathroom and good size lounge area with convertible bed and comfortable main bed. We, 2 adults and a 9 year old, felt very comfortable here for our 3 nights stay.

Reception staff always smiling and friendly. A small walk (say 5 blocks) to the metro and simple metro swop to Washington Mall area that opens up many tourist areas. 1-2 blocks to many restaurants and convenience stores. Nice neighborhood.

Service levels were good and attentive. Overall a nice stay with no issues, smooth check in and check out procedures.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Sonjabs! What else can I say but THANK YOU for the 5 circle review!? Smooth checkin and check-out are the basics and glad we made the grade! Your approval and review make a big a difference to us. Warm hugs, - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    431
    112
    27
    23
See reviews for
459
365
89
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Well situated in a central and convenient neighborhood. Amiable staff. Rooms are spacious, quiet and well organized and include a kitchenette which is very convenient. Great that they accept pets. My chihuahua Allegro felt welcomed (despite not recieving a treat on check-in). Would definitely return next trip to DC.

Room Tip: We had a room facing an alley way which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Rosaline - Your kind words about our DC boutique hotel are very appreciated! Thank you for speaking to our central Dupont Circle hotel location, our firendly staff and pet friendly DC hotel accommodations! Warm Regards - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Carlyle Suites Hotel is excellent. With helpful bellhops and a friendly smile and greeting everytime you enter, when they welcome you home, they mean it. With a great location 1 block from a main resturant street and a short walk to the bus stop and Dupont Circle, the location of this hotel is superb. The room was large and very clean. We were upgraded to a larger room free of charge as it was our first time staying at the Carlyle. With a special thank you to Bernadette and Abou. The free Wi-Fi was reliable and great to have. This hotel overall was excellent. We will definifitly stay at the Carlyle again!

Room Tip: Theron what I can tell, all rooms are great, floors 2-7 are non-smoking and floor 8 allows smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Jayden - Verry Clean, friendly smiles and free WiFi is all we can ask for! Thank you for the kind review! Hope you had a safe trip back to Queensland! Warm Regards - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I liked this hotel - although the silver and black Art Deco theme is a bit overdone,and the metal furniture is a bit clunky, it really has a lot of plus points. The room is spacious and well laid out; there is plenty of room to move around with distinct living, dining, sleeping areas. The bed is excellent. Storage space is good. The shower is excellent. I didn't watch much TV but it is large flat screen. My room faced the back and there was literally no outside noise to disturb sleep. The location is reassuringly quiet and residential and is surrounded by good places to eat and bookstores. A taxi to the World Bank cost only $7-8 and it takes about 15-20 minutes to walk down 19th St.

I didn't have much engagement with the staff but where I did they were pleasant and helpful. I had to cancel my previous booking because of Hurricane Sandy and a quick phone call was all it needed; and similarly my re-booking was efficiently dealt with. I would happily choose to stay there again.

Room Tip: A room at the back is exceptionally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Carlye Suites has been my home away from home on dozens of occasions.

I must say that the location cannot be beat! It is in the heart of the best neighborhood in Washington, and just a short walk from everything good about DC!

Overall, the hotel is clean, but perhaps not as modern as major hotel brand. It's "ART DECO" from the lobby and common areas to the rooms.

All rooms have refrigerators, and most have full kitchenette facilities! This is a GREAT thing to have for simple preparations-- however some guest ruin it by attempting to cook a steak dinner or a fry happy breakfast that permeates and lingers in the room for the next guest.

Book away from rooms ending in 22,24,26,28.... they are cracker box small... and in the hallway that connects the two buildings.

I don't think you will be disappointed in this hotel... they try! And will do their best to make you feel at home!

The internet-- while generally reliable-- is a pain because it signs you out every time you close your computer or your phone falls to sleep! But it's free!

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is QUIET and the rooms are BIGGER!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Carlyle is my favorite DC hotel and one of a handful of my favorites worldwide. I've been staying there for short visits for more than 20 years; when I can't get a room and have to stay somewhere else, I'm disappointed. The Carlyle feels like home.

The last trip, last weekend, was particularly nice. The staff was friendly and welcoming and helpful. As usual, the hotel was exceptionally clean, and the view from the sixth floor corner room overlooking New Hampshire Avenue was better than ever this close to Christmas. I often have trouble falling asleep away from home, but the beds are so comfortable and the hotel so quiet at night, that I have no problems.

Two added bonuses: they have a small parking lot (which seemed larger this time ---- not sure how they did that) where I have usually been able to find an empty space. It's not made for big vehicles, but regular cars fit nicely. In the few times I couldn't get a space, I did find one on a street closeby. Also, the neighborhood is perfect, within walking distance of Du Pont Circle and Adams Morgan and close to other neighborhoods of interest. We spent a weekend in DC with various visits to exhibits (National Geographic, Renwick, and the Textile Museum) and ate in great restaurants without using the car or public transportation.

They drop their rates during low seasons (such as now); that means if you live within three hours of DC, as I do, it's easy to plan a last-minute trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with a view to New Hampshire ---- the neighborhood is quiet so you won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I'll keep this short and to the point. Save yourself a lot of pain and agony. Do not stay here.

My Experience: Booked a room well in advance for a work conference. Showed up on the day of my reservation only to be told they DID NOT have a room for me. Transferred me to their 'sister location' 20 MINUTES AWAY. Not even remotely close to where I needed to be. They did nothing to compensate me for moving me 20 minutes outside of the city. Nothing.

The amount of extra money this cost me in cab fares ranged well in the $100s of dollars over the course of my stay. I called a few days later to speak with their property manager. I was directed to his voicemail. Left a VM explaining my situation. Never heard back. No surprise there.

Avoid this place like the plague. They will screw you over and do nothing to help you. Nothing. Terrible customer service. Terrible follow up. Terrible way to treat your guests. Nevermind anything else. If you can't even deliver a room to your guest, then everything else is secondary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, The Carlyle Hotel in Washington DC offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. The Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.