We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Clean Hotel & Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carlyle Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Carlyle Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Moncks Corner, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Location, Clean Hotel & Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My friend and I decided to stay at the Carlyle Suites Hotel based on their trip advisor rating and we were very impressed with this hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and they even upgraded our room since we were not able to check in early. They helped us find our way around the city and made great suggestions on things to do. The room was very large & clean. I really felt this hotel was safe and the staff was trustworthy. In order to take the elavator to each floor, you must have a room key to insert. < Nice feature I thought. You could walk anywhere you wanted to go or just walk about 7 minutes to Dupont Circle and catch the Metro. I would stay here again for sure. Great Value & Clean Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hi Morgan! Your review is GREATLY appreciated and how sweet of you to mention the staff. I think they are our BEST amenity personally! (he he he). Thanks for mentioning the elevator key security feature too... some guests thinks its strange.... glad you found it kind of nice! Its funny, I actually look for that now when I travel. Please let us know when you are ready to revisit. We would love to personally assist you with your next reservation. Just email me at mcrimi@greataddresses.com. Warm Regards - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    418
    99
    17
    23
See reviews for
449
354
85
305
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berrien Springs, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Because our daughter lives in the Dupont Circle area of the city, she has booked us into this hotel a number of times over the past 3-4 years. During every experience the entire staff from the doorman-bell hops through the front desk folks and manager to the housekeeping [very good!] seemed to know that the guests were special. Each seemed to go out of his/her way to be helpful without being obnoxious. Jordan and Simon were most helpful during our last visit.

The art-deco style is unique and well done, especially in the guest rooms.

Located a half mile east of Dupont Circle in a safe 'walking' neighborhood, one can blend
in that way or the staff will easily find a cab.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you Longintheway for the lovely review and for frequently returning to the Carlyle Suites Hotel! That is the best compliment we could every receive! I will be sure to pass along your comments to the team, especially Housekeeping, Simon and Jordan. Please send our thanks to your daughter for sending you our way! Warm Regards, MarcAnthony and team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Loved this place! The staff seemed generally interested in how I was doing, was I happy with my resteraunt choice, could they help with directions (yes!) how was I feeling? More than the usual "can I get you a cab?" or "help w your luggage?" Room was awesome with a small kitchen like area that had REAL dishes available along w a Keurig. A cafe style table w two stools allowed me to enjoy my coffee while not crowding my working area on the full size desk. Bathroom was updated with modern fixtures. Close to good places to eat, a nice bar area, and quaint neighborhood makes this a winner. Not sure how close to major attractions, but I was there on business.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Ladysinger - How super are you to have written a review on the worlds largest hotel site! We greatly appreciated your words and hope you will come back to Washington when you not on business and have time to see our Nation's capital in all its glory! Until then! Happy Holiday's! MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

A recent business trip required unexpected evening sessions. I booked the Carlyle through an online site & was very pleased with the ample suite, comfortable accommodations, and most of all, the wonderful staff service. Very safe neighborhood, which is important since you'll be walking at least 2 blocks to the nearest but marvelous eateries on 17th St & around Dupont Circle. My only caveat is that parking on the premises is very limited so if you must bring a car into DC, do not assume you'll be able to leave it at the Carlyle.
And, one odd item, my room did not provide any paper pads or a pen, which I've come to appreciate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Spring Traveler - Getting such a great review from a top contributor and frequent travelers such as yourself is very flattering! We really appreciate the note on how safe our neighborhood is and our hotel's Dupont Circle neighborhood. It is sure to help other TripAdvisor readers. As far as our parking, indeed our limited 14 spots can be challenging on the weekends. We simply don't have any additional space to allow for more. It is the reason we keep it as a FREE amenity for our guest. Oh and the pads of paper - we have it on our list of future enhancements for our guest rooms. ;) Look forward to having you as our guest again soon! Cheers - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Hotel is very quaint, in a very exquisite part of the city.
Accomodations were very good - well equipped.
The employees were very welcomining; made you really want to visit again. One Front Desk clerk - ABOU was very helpful; he even gave very good suggestions and directions for various attractions. Checked to see if they were to our liking, and seemed genuinely interested in our well-being.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Sandra T! Your 5 circle review has us smiling from ear-to-ear!! You even have Abou blushing for mentioning him on TripAdvisor! Please come back to us the next time you are looking for a hotel in Washington DC! You will always have a home at the Carlyle Suites! MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I went there last thanksgiving break with my family. The place is in very good location only few minutes away from Dupont Circle, metro station, near grocery stores, restaurants, if you need a quick fast food, McDonald is also nearby. All the staffs are very friendly, and helpful. Parking may be a challenge but don't worry the staff will help you with that and it's free (you rarely find this thing in big city like DC). The room is spacious, with a kitchen, kitchenette etc. Free wifi (but sometimes low signal)..It's one of the highlight of our trip, thank you! Will definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
I don't know where to begin Ibujawa! Not only did you give us an AMAZING review, you also posted some pics too! I have to admit, the exterior shot of the Carlyle is my new background pic on my mobile! So beautiful! Seeing that you are from New York City, does this mean we will get the opportunity to have you as our guest again? We certainly hope so! Cheers and Happy Holiday's! MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I needed a hotel for a single night in D.C. and this was the perfect hotel for us - great location, great price and great staff! From the enthusiastic welcome to the assistance with directions we had a great experience. I will be travelling back to D.C. in the spring and plan to stay here at that time.

Thank you Abou, Bernadette, Jeanelle, Dante, Jordan and Simon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Carlyle Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi Susan! You are such a love for posting not just a review, but a promise to return!! Abou, Bernadette, Jeanelle, Dante, Jordon and Simon are all jumping for joy! If you are coming back for Spring, try to plan your hotel visit around DC's Cherry Blossom! So beautiful! Let us know if you need any suggestions and we will help you plan your stay! Until then! MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlyle Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlyle Suites Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlyle Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle, Carlyle Suites Hotel in Washington DC offers 170 spacious hotel accommodations complete with full service kitchens, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature newly installed flat screen televisions by Samsung, free WiFi, ample closet space and Eco-friendly bath amenities by Natura Resource Sweden. Carlyle Suites Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nations most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short 3 block walk from our DC hotel. Premier dining is within easy reach of the Carlyle Suites Hotel starting with Twist Dupont Restaurant and Lounge located just off our lobby and provides Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and a very popular Sunday Brunch under a light-filled glass atrium. Come see why we rank in TripAdvisor's top 10 hotels in Washington DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Carlyle Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlyle Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.