We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great space, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Valet Parking
Ranked #47 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Washington DC
2 reviews
“Great space, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I am a DC local and have walked past the Carlyle daily on my commute into work. When my apartment flooded this week, I needed somewhere to stay at the last minute, and was looking for somewhere that had a kitchenette/living area. Not only was the Carlyle staff kind and welcoming, but they also gave me a reduced rate since we were "neighbors."

The room was clean, spacious, and incredibly comfortable. I was quite shocked with how much space they gave at such a low rate (less than $200 on a weeknight in DC). And, because my apartment building kept changing the day of when my apartment would be ready, I had to check out daily, and rebook my reservation at the last minute. The staff was very sympathetic and waived their typical last minute cancellation fees.

I travel quite a bit for my job and honestly have never been so impressed with the level of service and attentiveness that the Carlyle offered. It is a great space for business travelers (free wifi) or vacationers because of it's great location as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Beach Traveler - Just know that you will ALWAYS have a second home in Washington! Thank you - not only for giving us a try but for taking the time to share your experience. We really appreciate it. We all hope that you have fully recovered from the flood and we were able to alleviate some of the stress. Call on us anytime! Warmly, MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    443
    112
    27
    24
See reviews for
467
368
90
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Superb in every way , cannot fault anything about the rooms , service , etc a wonderful end to a two weeks long vacation , the reception desk very welcoming and most helpful , the rooms are artistically decorated and the beds are luxurious , excellent breakfast in the restaurant every morning , enjoyed long conversations with a few staff members and everyone is well groomed and knowledgeable from the desk clerks to the restaurant manager . We loved our stay and wished we could stay longer , hopefully we will return !!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
"Best place to stay in the nation's capital!!" I don't know what to say! Thank you Denise! The team was so excited since reading your review. They are also primping a bit more in the mirrors too! LOL! I just hope your review doesn't go to their heads! he he he. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon! MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

You have to risign in every time you switch you phone or iPad off. That's unacceptable as I need to be online all the time for my work. I asked to reception, but there is nothing the can do.
They just have the wrong Internet system . Rooms are ok and have a little kitchen : ideal if you have to work and have z little time to go out, but the you cannot work because of the Internet connection

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Army1962 - Thank you for letting us know about the internet connection. Your feedback (and all guest feedback for that matter) helps us take a closer look at our services and improve upon them. Your experience sounds like a "leasing time issue" Internet networks have controls and timers in them that will automatically disconnect users after a set amount of time. This keeps the bandwidth available for the other guests when the device is not in use. This way if you sign on the internet at say... 3PM and you only use it for 3 hours then go out to dinner, it should disconnect you automatically so you are not tying up the bandwidth. Make sense? I will take a look at the "leasing time" to ensure that we increase the time so it doesn't disconnect so quickly. That could actually be the solution. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a nice art deco hotel in the DuPont circle area. A short walk about 4 blocks from the DuPont Circle Metro station. Lots of places to eat around here. The kitchenette is nice and they have a Keruig coffee pot, with 4 coffees. Thank you Abou and Tom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Hi Talo34! So glad you enjoyed your visit to DC and the Carlyle Suites Hotel! Thank you for mentioning our full service kitchens and Keurig coffee makers. These are some of our most talked about at-home amenities. Much appreciated. Best - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We rented 3 suites for a party of 6 for a 3 day visit. The location was about 3 blocks from Dupont Circle and the metro station. The neighborhood was calm and quiet with many beautiful buildings some of which were occupied by embassies. We found many wonderful moderately priced bistros and restaurants nearby as well as wine shops, a bakery, and a grocery store. All of which is to stay is that every imaginable convenience is within walking distance.
The exterior of the hotel is unobtrusive but the interior is very nice in an art deco style. The roooms were spacious with a small kitchenette with a one eye burner stove and, a microwave oven and a Keurig coffee maker as well as a small refrigerator. the 2 queen sized beds were very comfortable and the rooms were very quiet The staff was very courteous and helpful. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear GStape - Your contribution to TripAdvisor makes the world of difference to our business, and more importantly to the staff themselves who work very hard to create a positive experience for our visitors. We are so very grateful. Warm Wishes, MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

After a long day of record summer heat, the Carlyle Suites is a nice place to come home to. We had a grand suite with a kitchenette. There wasn't much of a view but it felt like home. Our stay was a little over a week for a conference. Each day I would prepare a nice little breakfast and pack a lunch just like I would at home. Walking back through the quiet neighborhood there were some small markets and a grocery store. A couple of visits there stocked the kitchenette. The comfortable bed made it very difficult to get up at 5 a.m. every morning for meetings. However, it was always nice to stroll through the quaint neighborhood in the tolerable morning sun instead of taking the metro. After the end of a long day of meetings I always enjoyed the friendly staff who would greet us with a hearty, "Welcome home!" to go with a nice clean comfortable room, your snacks in the kitchen, and free wi-fi. I look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room on the highest floor possible for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Ryan - Thank you for choosing Carlyle Suites Hotel for your week long conference in Washington DC! Our goal is to make our guests feel at-home in every way and I am happy to hear that we succeeded! I am happy too that you mentioned the beds... they are my favorite too... We invested in Tempur-Pedic beds because a good nights sleep is the single most important thing we look for when traveling out of town. I loved them so much, I even bought one for my home. (And yes - they are so comfortable, it's very difficult to get out of bed in the morning! LOL) Take care and hope to see you in DC again. Warm Regards - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We just came from a 7 night stay in a 2 queen bedded room , we had a quiet room away from the lobby , clean and spacious . Location of the hotel was great -a few minutes walk to the dupont circle subway station - better looking inside than from outside , what stood out is the excellent and cheerful staff , always ready to help , and the wonderful Sunday brunch that we enjoyed before departure , excellent food and service, bottomless champagne , whats better than that before catching your flight !!! it was the jewel in the crown of our week . We would stay here again when we come back to DC .

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle Hotel
The Dupont Circle Hotel
#18 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,977 reviews
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#26 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
#46 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
#52 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, The Carlyle Hotel in Washington DC offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. The Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.