We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel at Dupont Circle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Valet Parking
Ranked #47 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Jewel at Dupont Circle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

During the recent winter break, my son and I booked our two-night mid-week stay at the Carlyle through Priceline at a great rate. Driving up to the hotel, I saw what appeared to be an old pre-war brick apartment-style building and thought "Oh no...You get what you pay for." But upon entering the electronic sliding door entryway, we were transported into beautiful Art Deco elegance. What a stylish and impressive statement the lobby and hallways make! The staff was friendly; the suite was clean, large and well-appointed with well-designed décor consistent with the Art Deco theme. The memory foam type beds were surprisingly comfortable and the room faced the side alley and was mostly quiet. The kitchen and bath had all the amenities one needed for a comfortable trip; we cooked breakfast in and saved the $12/pp charge at the buffet downstairs. The hotel was within a few minutes walk to my intended destination of the Phillips Collection, the clubs and restaurants of U Street, and the Red line of the Metro, which gets you everywhere you want to be in DC. When I inquired at the desk about contingencies if the parking lot was full, I was told to just park nearby on the streets, “there shouldn’t be a problem.” The free Carlyle parking lot was a tiny shared alleyway with a surprising amount of traffic and a very few perilously tight parking spots, in which I managed to park after my third reconnaissance mission and a morning of moving the car starting at 6:45 am. In regard to the free parking, you really do get what you pay for. Other than the usual logistics of having a car in a crowded urban area, the Carlyle Suites was the perfect place to stay. I am recommending it to friends and will stay there on my next trip to DC.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Joy - We are so happy you and your son had a nice stay at the Carlyle Suites Hotel. I hear your frustration with our (small) parking lot. It is one of the reasons that we make our guest parking complimentary. Aside from the tight parking are thrilled to hear you are still recommending our property to friends and the TripAdvisor community! THANK YOU - it means a lot! - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    443
    112
    27
    24
See reviews for
467
368
90
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at the Carlyle over Thanksgiving and had a wonderful experience. The room was spacious, the service was excellent, and the location was great. We were given a suite that came with a kitchenette complete with a stove, microwave, mini-fridge and kuereg (with seemingly unlimited K-cups. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the room was very modern. All of the appointments in the hotel, each in a black and white art-deco style were stylish and looked great.

The location is a couple of blocks from Dupont circle and within walking distance of many restaurants, a metro stop, grocery store and bike share. I will definitely stay when I go back to DC.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Hi Ben! When guests take the time to tell us (and the world) about their recent experience in our hotel (good or bad) we feel so grateful. We don't hear from every guest, so when we do we listen! We are glad you liked the hotel, the rooms and the decor. We hope that your next trip up from South Carolina you will return! All the best to you and yours, MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This hotel is under valued by far. The rooms are big and renovated probably 2 years ago. I book people in here using Jo Ann Sipe in sales. She is amazing, prompt and efficient.

Room Tip: splurge on the best room in the hotel - it's still hundreds less than the competition
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Powerkix! Thank you for the great review! Isn't JoAnn Sipe just the tops! I will be sure to pass along your comments to both JoAnn and the General Manager! Thanks again! MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I am in love with the Carlyle Suites after my first stay. My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed the great location (few blocks from the Dupont Circle metro station and little bakeries/cafes), great service, and spacious room. As previous reviews have mentioned, the room sizes do vary, but Chris at the front desk did an extensive search to find us the largest room available and landed us with a beautiful suite. We checked in to the hotel late, but Chris let us preview the rooms before choosing which one we wanted and then called in to ensure the room met our expectations. He even offered delivery in case we were hungry!
Kitchenette is amazing, with microwave/keurig coffee machine/fridge/all necessary dishes and pots. There was even a little grooming room outside the modern bathroom.
The decor is urban glamour and looks very new! Room was clean and housekeeping did a thorough job (at least 2 times a day).

My only problem with this hotel is that it claims to have free parking--but fails to note it is VERY limited. I think there were 10-12 tiny spots behind the hotel, but if they were full--you were forced to park at a parking garage a few blocks away or parallel park at 2hour intervals. However, Hafiza at the front desk was very helpful and agreed to call us as soon as someone with a registered vehicle checked out. Helped us out during our stay!

PS. I think the beds are tempur-pedic? Or some sort of memory foam--very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for larger rooms. If you want to eat at inside restaurant, ask for coupon. Parking--keep watch a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Travelista - We are so happy you and your boyfriend had a great stay in our little Dupont Circle hotel! Your comments on Mr. Chris at the front desk made my day! We really try our best to satisfy and its because we all really love what we do. I will be sure to pass along your comments and spread the good cheer! I also just wanted you to know that we have updated several areas of our website to indicate the LIMITED parking as you mentioned in your review. Thanks for that tip. Its much more clear now. Hope to see you again soon! MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrearra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed 4 nights & would definitely stay again. Great to have the kitchen & the walk-in wardrobe made it easy to stow & access our gear without it being in the "living area". Comfy bed , although the sofa bed was soft & lumpy. Excellent location with supermarket, restaurants, bakery & station nearby. Staff friendly & helpful.
AnnaBeth, Qld, Australia

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

My stay was wonderful! A real joy to vacation in town with the feeling of being away at the same time! Thank you so much and Happy New Year!
Karen

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Have stayed here several times and will stay here again every time I come to DC. Fantastic location near Dupont Circle, great prices, LOTS of room and luxurious beds

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle Hotel
The Dupont Circle Hotel
#18 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,977 reviews
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#26 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
#46 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
#52 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, The Carlyle Hotel in Washington DC offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. The Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.