We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Capital Hilton to your Saves list
Capital Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $199!
Ranked #83 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Loved the hotel and the location was perfect. Staff was helpful and courteous. Great room. Walking distance to Union Station and local transit. Great viewof the Capital from room and hotel. Visit the Dubliner for dinner!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    640
    296
    120
    38
See reviews for
348
335
73
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haledon, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I really want to give this hotel 4 stars but I only stayed overnight so do not have enough basis to give it such a rating. I did have a comfortable stay and the room I occupied was spacious and clean. The meals I had were average (dinner room service and breakfast at the coffee shop). The breakfast buffet is a bit pricey for what is offered.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner rooms - more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stated for 5 nights in a very comfortable room that had efficient a/c, ample space and a quality bed. The sofa however had seen better days and had worn fabric on the arms. Equally the bathroom was spacious with a quality shower & a wide, non clingy curtain. My room looked out onto the inner courtyard and was very quiet.
The breakfast, a la carte or buffet was served in a light welcoming room, but if it's raining, stay clear of the window seats as water drips from above! The buffet had plenty of fruit and cooked products but no cold ham/cheese European style offerings. Four lobby computers provided free internet access . My reception greeting upon arrival/checkout was both warm and personal, going beyond the 'have a nice day' approach.
My stay did have one setback, but when I spoke to Theresa Thomas at reception, the issue was quickly solved without fuss and she successfully calmed down an irate customer!! She is an asset to the Hotel.
Access to the underground, the sites and local eateries is close by and walkable.
Would I stay here again, definitely.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was pleasantly surprised by the convenience to everything. We walked to most of the museums and attractions, and if we wanted to go further out we were near a few metros. In DC, if you plan correctly, walking is your best bet because there is so much to see and do every few steps. Near the White House as well which is nice to hang around at night. BTW, the staff is so nice. Be careful though, if you are near the elevator like we were it can get noisy as conference revelers may mull around to say good night to each other. Overall, wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the elevator. This is a conference hotel and many guests tended to talk comin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Upscale, not cheap, but very nice and very accommodating. They seem to respect and appreciate the business traveler... and some of the staff actually remember me from year to year. (OK, I stand out... but still...). Valet service is VERY slow. Near many of the downtown DC sights.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had a problem with the heating system but overall I would recommend this hotel to everyone. The hotel is in the center of town where you can walk to shop, sight see, and eat. A lot of eating places and good food. I was there for business and plan to take family on a trip. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

i gotta say we don't seem to share the same idea of what a suite is. a disjointed room circling around the back of the emergency staircase is not my idea of a suite. and getting basic soap and shampoo is something i had to call and request daily, or speak to housekeeping in the hallway. best thing about the hotel was the executive lounge breakfast, and embassy suites is a way better breakfast with fresh hand made omelets

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capital Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.