We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and consistent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Capital Hilton to your Saves list
Capital Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Pre-Sale: $109/nt
Ranked #81 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient and consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stay at the Capital Hilton whenever I travel to DC for business. The location is very convenient if you do not have a rental car. It's close to restaurants and the Metro. Getting a cab is a breeze. The hotel staff is very friendly, the executive lounge is nice, the rooms are always clean, and the beds are comfortable. Avoid paying more for forgotten items by visiting the CVS across the street. The only downside is that there are no in room refrigerators, but the proximity to everything else makes up for this.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    710
    335
    134
    42
See reviews for
400
380
78
681
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I think there are better choices in the Washington area, the executive lounge is small and outdated, breakfast was ok but nothing special by any means. Location was great, in walking distance to the metro station. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Doubl queen bed room, which was sufficient for the 3 of us. The Hotel is nicely appointed within walking distance to the White House and several restaurants.The subway was close as well,handy to visit the Museums. It was cold, raining and dark on arrival. We welcomed the nice room, unfortunately it only had views over a roof with air conditioning ducts which were noisy.
No courtesy umbrellas were available initially,eventually we shared one they could find.
Breakfast was nice enough and included in our rate , which we had booked via a wholesaler.
Check In and out were efficient. Unfortunately free internet was only available in the lobby.
Staff were polite but certainly did not go out of their way to be helpful,which we found was unlike most of the other places in the US we have visited.
Having said that, there was nothing wrong with the hotel itself, apart from a room in the ugly part of it, where we could not really see sunlight.

Room Tip: Tryto obtains room with more than hotel roof views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We booked a deluxe king and we got a small queen room. We had arrived a day earlier than planned and asked if we could book the same room for both days. The concierge said it would be no problem, but she gave us a queen. She was misleading and we got ripped off in terms of room and parking. We were told the Hilton valet parking was a better deal than local parking garages. As visitors from out of state, we took her word and got valet parking for $47.20/day. Later we found out local garage parking goes for about $12/day.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
First of all, Thank you for your review regarding your past stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including areas of opportunity. Our front desk department goes through a lengthy process each day to ensure that our guests receive exactly the room expected, however at times we do not have the same availability due to guests extending their stays with us. Again, we apologize for all of the inconveniences and we do hope that the next time you travel to the area you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We routed through DC on our way to Louisiana for a family wedding so we could meet friends in DC. Chose the Capital Hilton because it was only a few blocks to the Whitehoiuse and Capital Building. The hotel treated us very well. The rooms were large and clean. The guy in the bar where we had snacks was very firendly. The people in the restauarnt where we had breakfast were friendly and talked to us about their experiences in the UK and other countries. They were good to our young daughter and entertained her during breakfast. Prices were resonable. Exchange rates were also good. When we go to DC again we will be sure to return to the Hilton. All in all they set up our visit very well

Room Tip: Book well in advance. Join the hiltonhonors club online and get even good rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review. It is certainly gratifying and reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also delighted to know that our friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We take pride in our product along with our warm and welcoming staff, but nothing could make us happier than to hear great compliments for our staff and the services they provide to our guests. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I spent here two nights for an international conference. It was great. The elevators are fast! The food was delicious and the location is great. Just two blocks away from White House. The only weird thing was that there was no fridge or minibar in my room. The floors have vending machines free ice machines. It was sure a great experience to stay there and explore the capital.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and want you to know that we do have refrigerators available upon request, and at no charge. We will be happy to deliver one to your room. We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome and serve you at the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Hotel service and rooms were fantastic. Desk staff and bell staff were ready to serve enthusiastically. Watch for the bar area, however. There seemed to be less team cohesiveness on the food and beverage side of the house as you could tell there was tension from the server and the bar tender, often vocal and the food and beverage service manager on duty didn't seem to think it was a problem when addressed to him. Otherwise, it is a great facility and close to all attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We would like to take this opportunity to thank for you for your posting. We always appreciate candid feedback from all of our guests, and we will make sure all of your comments are shared with the Hotel Management. We look forward to having you back in the future. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters in Washington, D.C.
Club Quarters in Washington, D.C...
#79 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Downtown / Chinatown
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#61 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#91 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capital Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.