We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible location, huge room, hit & miss staff, oddly scarce amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Capital Hilton to your Saves list
Capital Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
End of Summer from $129!
Ranked #84 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible location, huge room, hit & miss staff, oddly scarce amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were originally excited to stay here because of the location and the fact that the Conference I was attending met here. The Capital Hilton met those expectations, but not much more.

The pros: The location was hard to beat. If your goal in DC is to hit a lot of tourist/historical sites and shop -- you cannot go wrong at the Capital Hilton. And the rooms are huge. Seriously, I have rented smaller apartments.

The cons: Some of the staff were courteous and tried to be helpful, some not so much. Sadly, even some of the staff that tried to be helpful weren't as knowledgable as they should have been. Directing us to closed Metro Stations, sending a car back to valet park instead of waiting for the bellman with the luggage cart... Also, amenities were scarce - no bathrobes or slippers, and even though there was a separate bar area in its own little room -- with sink and cupboard space -- there was no mini-bar (stuff to buy) or fridge. And finding free wifi was next to impossible. You had to be right smack in the first floor lobby, or you were out of luck. So all the conventioneers (600 - 800) were trying to sit in the lobby or sit on the staircase to the lobby, etc. Maybe it is just a pet peeve of mine, but if I am paying more than $250 per night for a room, I do not expect to pay extra for wifi. Even phones need it so that batteries stay charged longer. If the low-end hotels can cover wifi in the room cost, Hilton should just build it into their price so that wifi is available throughout the property.

The bottom line is - great location but mediocre experience. Next time we will probably explore other lodging options.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the hall facing the front of the hotel -- it was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding the cost of our wireless internet service. While we do charge an additional fee for wireless internet, we strive to be competitive with other hotels and offer quality services and amenities in our guest rooms. However, we would also like to apologize for the issues you experienced with some of our staff members. We've addressed your review with our team and we don't expect issues like this one to be repeated. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    734
    351
    140
    46
See reviews for
427
400
80
695
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Located on the hill across from the Senate and Congress offices the location is unbeatable. I was there for one night and was shocked at the size of the room. One very large room with couch, TV, mini fridge and microwave. Then a joining room with another large TV. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. If you are a feather fan, this is your place. Feather pillows and down feather comforter. I am not a big fan of feather pillows and tried to get a foam or something different and was unsuccessful, but this was my only negative. One minor inconvenience was the continental breakfast was located in another building and to get there you have to exit hotel and walk down sidewalk. It was very cold and windy and not very prepared for the walk to get a cup of coffee. These two minor inconveniences would not at all prevent me from using this hotel in the future. The price was not cheap, but very comparable to other surrounding hotels. Also within walking distance of hotel was numerous restaurants and shops (including two liquor stores!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate the time you took to review the hotel and share your thoughts. We are happy to hear that our convenient location factored in the success of your visit. We look forward to hosting you again on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My daughter and I just returned from 3 nights at the Capital Hilton in Washington DC. The hotel is terrific and the location could not have been better. Literally 2 blocks from the
White House and in walking distance to all the attractions. The hotel staff are very friendly and attentive. The Hotel is clean and modern and very comfortable. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Washington either on a family tourist trip or for business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I very much appreciate your kind comments and was pleased to learn of your experience at the Capital Hilton. Thank you for recommending us to other travelers!! We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGV, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

As others have noted, the location is fabulous, within walking distance of many major sites and close to two metro stations. All of the staff my husband and I encountered were quite friendly and professional as well, including those at the bar.
Our room (an executive room) was quite small; looking at the hotel floorplan on the back of the door showed that our room was smaller than most on that particular floor. There was no bathrobe nor slippers in the room, but two bottles of water were provided daily. The room had recently been refurbished. The executive lounge was very small with an mediocre breakfast selection. (We did not go to their happy hour, as the information given at check-in mentioned the "honor-bar" situation; that defeats the purpose of having such a happy hour at an executive lounge.)
In addition to the very small room, the bathroom was a huge disappointment. There was no bathtub, only a shower. I have been to other Hilton properties lately, and sadly, this seems to be their new trend. I assume Hilton tested this model with focus groups, but I wonder how many female business travelers were included in those focus groups. Also, given the small size of the room, the shower door had to be completely closed to open the bathroom door.
At this time, I am not sure I will return to that property; there are a lot of other hotels in the immediate area and there are a lot of Hilton properties throughout the city.

Room Tip: If you want a bathtub, you should ask for one. I assume they have some with tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry that the condition of our guest room and bathroom did not meet your needs. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a king junior suite on the executive floor this past weekend. First, the good- the staff is fabulous. Each and every person we encountered, from the valet to the restaurant, was friendly and professional. The room was very clean and nicely appointed. The workout facilities at mint are fabulous and the hotel location is spot on.

Now the not so good. The executive lounge was a joke. There was nothing on offer aside from a few nondescript tea bags and classic coke at 4 pm. Not even a bottle of water! We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant because the offerings in the exec lounge were so horrid.

All in all we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We would like to take this opportunity to thank for you for your posting. We always appreciate candid feedback from all of our guests, and we will make sure all of your comments are shared with the Hotel Management. We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome and serve you at the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

At the hotel for a work function -- hotel location was fantastic! Rooms were ok / nothing fancy but clean, top notch, upscale Hilton style --
Customer service was terrible.
At the lobby bar/restaurant - myself and 3 other colleagues sat to just grab a drink - the waiter/bar tender asked us to leave because he couldn't handle the size of our party of 4 just grabbing a drink. We thought it was a joke and then he got serious and said no you should leave -- really!? So we left the hotel all together -
Another instance - hotel security was "sub par" - there was a group of guests that had elected to stay out all night partying - fair enough/impressive -- but when they brought the party back at 2am guests were disturbed with the noise - 2 calls to front desk went unanswered - about an hour later when a security guard did arrive - he was rude to my wife and said , you need to call downstairs....needless to say the party went on until 8 in the morning - just like the rap song ... But seriously
Enough for us to pick another hotel in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. We’re very sorry you experienced an undesirable stay and level of customer service with us. The problems you mentioned with our team members have been addressed. We appreciate you alerting us to this issue and we hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area. If you would like to further discuss your stay, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Again, we apologize and we hope to have another chance to provide a great stay for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
229 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Capital Hilton is a relatively historic hotel located in a largely commercial section of DC. It was built in 1943, and as exhibits inside the hotel show, has been host to a number of important guests and events. It is extremely bland (frankly, ugly) on the outside, but the interior is more inviting, even if not quite as extravagant as some other "historic" hotels in the area. I have only stayed here once, but my room was relatively large, comfortable, and the bathroom had plenty of counter space. There were electric outlets right on the nightstand, which I always find convenient. The hotel is huge, so you may find yourself walking a fair distance from the elevators. The hotel is located at the corner of K Street and Sixteenth Street, within visual sight of the north side of the White House (beautiful sight, especially at night). Being on K Street also makes it within walking distance of a variety of restaurants and shops. It is only about two blocks east of the Farragut North (red line) Metro station. It also is close to Connecticut Avenue, and even more restaurants and shops. It is a reasonable walk to the main tourist areas (the Mall, etc.), but for some it would be a decent hike, especially in the summer heat. The hotel's proximity to the Metro makes pretty much all of those sites readily accessible without too much effort (although the need to change trains from red to either blue or orange to get to the Mall can be a pain during non-rush hour times -- consider walking to a blue/orange line station a little further away). I was particularly impressed with the front door staff. When they had trouble immediately flagging a cab to take me to the airport during rush hour, they wasted no time in simply having the hotel's courtesy car take me there (for a $25 fee). I definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: Consider asking for a room close to the elevators. This place is sprawling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Nation's Capital. We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Downtown / Chinatown
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#62 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters in Washington, D.C.
Club Quarters in Washington, D.C...
#77 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Hyatt Place DC / Downtown / K St...
#70 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capital Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.