We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will choose Capital Hilton for all future visits to DC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Capital Hilton to your Saves list
Capital Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
End of Summer from $129!
Ranked #84 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will choose Capital Hilton for all future visits to DC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We called a few days prior to check in to confirm reservation. After reading several reviews from guests online, we also knew to make several specific requests:

1. We asked that a Refrigerator be placed in the room;
2. We asked for a renovated room;
3. We asked for a room that was not facing the street with outside noise.
4. We asked to remain in a handicap accessible room.

The reservationist granted all requests, upgraded us to executive, confirmed and gave me our room assignment, over the phone.

On arrival day we checked in - no problems with accommodations. The staff members were very courteous and helpful. Parking was not cheap, but valet personnel were courteous and professional. We ordered room service once. Food was hot and well-prepared. The location is walking distance to White House and other attractions.

The hotel was very clean and attractive.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We are delighted that our convenient location and friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We take pride in our product along with our warm and welcoming staff but nothing could make us happier than to hear gracious compliments for our staff and the services they provide to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    733
    349
    140
    45
See reviews for
425
399
80
693
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were able to walk everywhere. Had a quick getaway to DC and we stayed at this Hilton and it was nice. The room we had looked inside of another building but it was nice. Next time I will be sure and ask for a street view.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the 16th or K street. Stay away from the interior of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Nation's Capital. We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was nicely surprised when I arrived at the hotel and enjoyed my stay. We arrived around 9 pm and checked-out around 11:30 am the next morning. The room guest was large and clean, and the lobby was nice. When I inquired about Internet access (I checked with the front desk because I wasn't sure if I had activated the $10/day in-room fee), I was given a code for free access for HiltonHonors members. I booked this room about a week before our stay, after I learned that we had White House self-guided tour tickets. The price was only $99 for the night. I was very happy with the hotel, and very sad when I arrived at the hotel (also near the Capitol) that we had booked for our second night in DC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to note that our location worked well for your visit in Washington DC. We hope to have a future opportunity to host you here in Washington DC.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just got back from our DC trip and now settled back at home and this was 1st on my do list.

Travelled from Hawaii so it was already a long trip for my 2 kids and myself. We got in early so I knew it would be a gamble if our room would be ready and it was not. I think Theresa checked us in. I personally gave my cell number to call me when the room would be ready if done early. We started our sightseeing around town. It was now past 3-4p (regular check in time) and still no call, I naturally assumed because of the time it would be ready...real bad assumption. Got back to the hotel around 9pm and was anxious to get my 2 kids showered and relaxed in the room. We were very tired at this point. Got to the check-in line and Alice (manager on duty) was there and this is when my nightmare started.

Room was NOT ready, but she made us follow the bellman with our bags to the room. Housekeeping was still cleaning room. Bellman calls Alice and it sounded like she wanted us to wait until the room was cleaned. ARE YOU FREAKIN' KINDING ME?! it takes a lot to upset me and she pushed every button immediately. she then told bellman to take us to the corner room. holy crap, this was THE smallest room i have ever been given. 2 adults and 2 kids couldve spread their arms out and we wouldve touched one side of the room to the other. WTH....this was worst than a deluxe regular room. oh and btw, i paid for an upgrade too, expecting 2 DOUBLE BEDS EXECUTIVE FLOOR!!! (look on their website under this room category and look at the size). i was expecting this spacious room and what she gave me for all my troubles and inconvenience was 1/4 of that size. BS!!!

bellman now takes me to a junior suite. now WHY did she not give us this room originally? still not the spacious room anyone would expect for a "suite" but whatever i am finally satisfied. it is now almost 10pm. i just want this nightmare to end!

whats very frustrating is:
1. Alice knew I paid for an upgrade. by 9pm, she can tell in her computer system which rooms are ready. but yet she sends me to a "closet" to make me happy. what a joke!
2. no customer service at all. she was very rude and unaccomadating. she talked back to me too. she was very scarcstic the whole time. im sure she was rolling her eyes while talking with me.
3. Alice made me feel bad for not accepting and appreciating the "closet room".
4. this is a slow season for the hotel, no follow up phone call when i already tried to check in 12 hours before
5. I asked for Alice's business card because I knew i'd be doing this. she said she didnt have any and instead wrote her name in the back of the room card envelope. i probably wouldnt have seen it if i didnt take out all the room cards. how can you NOT have a business card when you've been a manager for 5 years? also, with experience, im sure you couldnt handled this much better.
6. this is some of the conversation i had with Alice:
-"What else do you want me to do? i've been doing this for 5 years and now you're telling me how to do my job?"
-"executive rooms ONLY have 1 king size bed". (i was looking at the hotel website and she lied to me
-"to compensate you, I will give you 2 free kids movies". im thinking, "THAT'S ALL?!" (btw, i was still in the closet room at this time). this was a slap in the face. thats suppose to make me happy and satisfied?
7. for being HHonor members, its the expectation to make us happy than the average tourist. we are members because we are loyal to hilton hotels.


My in-laws arrived the next day. I told them about my mishap the night before. they came up to see our room and they were very upset. their room was the 2 double beds executive room (the room i originally upgraded and paid for). we ended up switching rooms the remainder of our trip.

I honestly would have rated this Terrible for this property for obvious reasons. BUT the only reason why I gave it another star was the AWESOME breakfast service we got every morning at the hotel cafe. Nancy and everyone else were fantastic and she went out of her way to make us feel welcomed every morning. On our last morning, we didnt even order, she took care of all 6 of us. After 4 days, she knew what we all liked. She knew I enjoyed a toasted croissant. by the end of the trip she brought it out to me as soon as i sat down. amazing service! even my kids enjoyed Arthur (?) who cooked their omelets. our coffee, water, and juice were always refilled. we all looked forward to seeing her beautiful smile every morning. my kids even took a pic with her on our last morning dining with her because they said it was one of their best parts of their trips. =)

review:
-i would spend the extra money and stay at another hotel closer to all the museums and better restaurants (ie, JW Marriott or the Intercontinental). Next time it will be the Willard Intercontinental.
-i would become loyal to another brand hotel who actually takes care of their members
-i def would not stay here on our next trip, but i would come back to see Nancy and everyone else in the cafe
-several positive things: concierge, bar, and restaurant staff were awesome!

Room Tip: dont pay for the upgrade, you might be put in the "closet" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and I have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Again I apologize for the issues you mentioned and if you would like to further discuss your stay, please contact me directly. Thank you once again for your comments and I look forward to speaking with you. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel maybe 4 times a years, the rooms are usually decent sized and comfortable. This time couple of things bothered us . The radio in the room didnt work , informed front desk and was exchanged with another one that didnt work, annoying for someone who enjoys music playing in the background. Found traces of blood in the bathroom. And finally the milk for the coffee in the room was no good. On the plus side, we were given complimentary internet service that normally costs money and the room was larger than normal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and sharing your feedback with us.
We would like to apologize for the services in other areas of the hotel that did not meet your expectations. We will make sure all of your comments are shared with the Hotel Management.
We truly appreciate your comments and observations and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Capital Hilton in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Staff was friendly and the location was great. The breakfast was also good. Bed was very comfortable.
On the downside, the hotel felt a little worn out. Just some chipped paint, scuffs, worn carpet, etc. Noise carried through hallways. A few electrical outlets were broken in the room as was the toilet seat and bathroom fan. Just a few things that you wouldn't expect to have issues with at a hotel of this caliber. Nice hotel but I think there are better options in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and sharing your feedback with us.
We would like to apologize for the services in other areas of the hotel that did not meet your expectations. We will make sure all of your comments are shared with the Hotel Management.
We truly appreciate your comments and observations and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Capital Hilton in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Title says it all: Location is good for tourists, but the rooms are getting in need of make overs -Food was hotel average; not much cose to eat; AVOID Fuel Pizza across the corner !!! Rooms are small, bathrooms decent - Price is fair - Would stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and sharing your feedback with us.
We would like to apologize for the services in other areas of the hotel that did not meet your expectations. We will make sure all of your comments are shared with the Hotel Management.
We truly appreciate your comments and observations and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Capital Hilton in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Downtown / Chinatown
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#62 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,266 reviews
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters in Washington, D.C.
Club Quarters in Washington, D.C...
#76 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Hyatt Place DC / Downtown / K St...
#73 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capital Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.