We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like everyone says, Capital Hilton is getting old” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Capital Hilton to your Saves list
Capital Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $109!
Ranked #84 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Astoria, New York
1 review
“Like everyone says, Capital Hilton is getting old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel maybe 4 times a years, the rooms are usually decent sized and comfortable. This time couple of things bothered us . The radio in the room didnt work , informed front desk and was exchanged with another one that didnt work, annoying for someone who enjoys music playing in the background. Found traces of blood in the bathroom. And finally the milk for the coffee in the room was no good. On the plus side, we were given complimentary internet service that normally costs money and the room was larger than normal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and sharing your feedback with us.
We would like to apologize for the services in other areas of the hotel that did not meet your expectations. We will make sure all of your comments are shared with the Hotel Management.
We truly appreciate your comments and observations and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Capital Hilton in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    583
    283
    111
    36
See reviews for
328
311
65
531
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Staff was friendly and the location was great. The breakfast was also good. Bed was very comfortable.
On the downside, the hotel felt a little worn out. Just some chipped paint, scuffs, worn carpet, etc. Noise carried through hallways. A few electrical outlets were broken in the room as was the toilet seat and bathroom fan. Just a few things that you wouldn't expect to have issues with at a hotel of this caliber. Nice hotel but I think there are better options in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and sharing your feedback with us.
We would like to apologize for the services in other areas of the hotel that did not meet your expectations. We will make sure all of your comments are shared with the Hotel Management.
We truly appreciate your comments and observations and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Capital Hilton in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Title says it all: Location is good for tourists, but the rooms are getting in need of make overs -Food was hotel average; not much cose to eat; AVOID Fuel Pizza across the corner !!! Rooms are small, bathrooms decent - Price is fair - Would stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and sharing your feedback with us.
We would like to apologize for the services in other areas of the hotel that did not meet your expectations. We will make sure all of your comments are shared with the Hotel Management.
We truly appreciate your comments and observations and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Capital Hilton in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel dozens of times over the past 10 years. It used to be my favorite hotel in the city under the Hilton brand, but over the past two years, things have gone down hill.

Staff aren't happy. During my most recent stay a staff member actually told me how much they hate working there, but there aren't alot of jobs available. YIKES!

Rooms are comfortable, but nothing special. Food service is spotty. Breakfast buffet is average and sometime room serice is good and sometimes not.

Really, that could be said for the entire hotel. You just never know what you might get. Sad, for what was once a very good hotel. I have given this property it's last chance. There are better options in the city.

If you have low expectations, this hotel will meet them. It is clean, the beds are comfortable and it has a great location. I just travel enough I expect more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. I always appreciate hearing from our guests – including places of improvement. I apologize that the comfort of your stay was interrupted and I have taken your comments to our team to ensure that in the future we do a better job of providing exceptional customer service. The next time you have the opportunity to travel to the area. I do hope that you will be our guest again – thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel just before Christmas 2012 for 3 nights - our travel agent must have got a good rate and for its location, it is a great spot. The room we had was very spacious and clean. However, unlike other hotels/motels that we have stayed in our month long vacation in various parts of USA, this hotel can do a lot more with providing better amenities to service it's guests. For starters, no free wifi service in the rooms - I suppose management assumes that as a corporate hotel, it's guests would be willing to pay for such service. If three star properties can provide free Internet access, and that it is not an expensive commodity in this country, why doesn't the Hilton Group reviews its policy on this service? Then, there is no refrigerator in the room. For a corporate style hotel, I cannot work out why this amenity is missing. Then, on Christmas Eve, the hotel decided not to run a buffet for breakfast. As an ex hotel financial controller, I can see the logic - if occupancy is low in holiday season, avoid food wastage to control food cost. But, why was this not advertised on the menu board at the restaurant entrance or advise guests in advance? My family walked in on Christmas Eve morning looking forward to a buffet breakfast only to be advised by an apologetic waitress that they can only provide a la carte menu on that morning. We were so disappointed that we left and had breakfast at a nearby hotel. The staff in the hotel were great - friendly, helpful and services were liveried with smiles. However, management needs to have a good look at its amenities in general, if it is serious to be rated as a corporate hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and sharing your feedback with us
We would like to apologize for the services in other areas of the hotel that did not meet your expectations. We truly appreciate your comments and observations and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at the Capital Hilton for three nights in late December, just before Christmas. We paid to stay in an executive room, expecting the normal privileges that we have enjoyed elsewhere in Hilton executive rooms. We were disappointed with most aspects of our stay as follows.

All we received for paying over one hundred dollars more for an executive room was bathrobes and an extremely poor continental breakfast. Turns out there were no bathrobes in the closet. We had better continental breakfasts staying in 2 or 3 star hotels while we were driving across the U.S. The cut fruit was old, which you could tell by the rounded edges and the tired look of it. Some of the breakfast plates were dirty. There were polystyrene cups rather than real cups for coffee! The bread did not fit the toaster. A small thing I know, but all these small 'fails' add up to a dissatisfying experience overall.

We tried to sleep in for two of the days. On the first, the maid tried to come in at 8am to clean, waking us up. On the second, she was cleaning the room next door and kept coming in and out of the door, banging it each time, about five times in total. Of course, waking us again.

We ordered a meal from room service, which when it arrived at our room, we found out was $10 more than the price on the menu due to extra 'charges'.

The gym or fitness centre is not complementary, unless you are a gold or silver honours member. Otherwise it is $15 a visit. This was a real surprise. We have stayed at a lot of other places and the gym is always complementary.

There were no afternoon drinks in the executive lounge which is a standard inclusion for executive levels in Australia. No complementary news papers. No happy hour at the bar on the weekend. No complementary wi-fi in the rooms. No fridge in the room although they brought one up after we asked about it.

I could go on with a bit more but I'm sure you get the picture. Invest your hard earned dollars elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't pay for an executive level room, it's not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your honest review of your recent stay with us. At our hotel, we like to provide a personalized experience for each of our guests, but also look for ways to keep costs low while providing comfort and convenience. We appreciate your feedback and we’ll keep it in mind as we work to make our services better. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and if you would like to discuss your stay further, please feel free to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed at the Hilton for three nights and have found this one of the best hotels on our around the world adventure. The staff are friendly and courteous especially the night time doorman "Nesibu"
The rooms are what you expect from a hotel off this standard, clean, spacious and are comfortable. The location is fantastic close to the White House and the Natioal Mall.

Room Tip: They would all be equally as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review. It is certainly gratifying and reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also delighted to know that our friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We take pride in our product along with our warm and welcoming staff but nothing could make us happier than to hear great compliments for our staff and the services they provide to our guests. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capital Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.