We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Capital Hilton to your Saves list
Capital Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off Weekends!
Ranked #90 of 137 Hotels in Washington DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over priced and poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at the Capital Hilton for three nights in late December, just before Christmas. We paid to stay in an executive room, expecting the normal privileges that we have enjoyed elsewhere in Hilton executive rooms. We were disappointed with most aspects of our stay as follows.

All we received for paying over one hundred dollars more for an executive room was bathrobes and an extremely poor continental breakfast. Turns out there were no bathrobes in the closet. We had better continental breakfasts staying in 2 or 3 star hotels while we were driving across the U.S. The cut fruit was old, which you could tell by the rounded edges and the tired look of it. Some of the breakfast plates were dirty. There were polystyrene cups rather than real cups for coffee! The bread did not fit the toaster. A small thing I know, but all these small 'fails' add up to a dissatisfying experience overall.

We tried to sleep in for two of the days. On the first, the maid tried to come in at 8am to clean, waking us up. On the second, she was cleaning the room next door and kept coming in and out of the door, banging it each time, about five times in total. Of course, waking us again.

We ordered a meal from room service, which when it arrived at our room, we found out was $10 more than the price on the menu due to extra 'charges'.

The gym or fitness centre is not complementary, unless you are a gold or silver honours member. Otherwise it is $15 a visit. This was a real surprise. We have stayed at a lot of other places and the gym is always complementary.

There were no afternoon drinks in the executive lounge which is a standard inclusion for executive levels in Australia. No complementary news papers. No happy hour at the bar on the weekend. No complementary wi-fi in the rooms. No fridge in the room although they brought one up after we asked about it.

I could go on with a bit more but I'm sure you get the picture. Invest your hard earned dollars elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't pay for an executive level room, it's not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your honest review of your recent stay with us. At our hotel, we like to provide a personalized experience for each of our guests, but also look for ways to keep costs low while providing comfort and convenience. We appreciate your feedback and we’ll keep it in mind as we work to make our services better. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and if you would like to discuss your stay further, please feel free to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed at the Hilton for three nights and have found this one of the best hotels on our around the world adventure. The staff are friendly and courteous especially the night time doorman "Nesibu"
The rooms are what you expect from a hotel off this standard, clean, spacious and are comfortable. The location is fantastic close to the White House and the Natioal Mall.

Room Tip: They would all be equally as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review. It is certainly gratifying and reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also delighted to know that our friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We take pride in our product along with our warm and welcoming staff but nothing could make us happier than to hear great compliments for our staff and the services they provide to our guests. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Good:
- The gym is excellent - free for Hilton Honors Silver and above $15 for the rest - but could be worth the $15 if you take a class and workout
- We asked for a later check-out and got it - no charge
- The 10th floor executive lounge was simply, but free soda and water along with free breakfast (con) was great
- Free internet for Hilton Honors Gold and above
- Asked for a fridge and one was delivered in 1.5 hours
- Walking distance to White House and other sides
- Starbucks across the road

The Bad:
- $38 to park
- Found a Qtip under our sink in the bathroom and there was a lot of dusk on walls of the room
- We had a suite and it did not have a fridge or mini bar
- Staff were positive but did not go out of their way to help - maybe acceptable for four stars
- Our room (777) had a faint damp mold smell to it
- Rooms at the back look over an office building and are very dark!

Room Tip: Aak for something at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 195binney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and sharing your feedback with us
We would like to apologize for the services in other areas of the hotel that did not meet your expectations. We truly appreciate your comments and observations and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Formally, one of the great hotels in Washington, this hotel shows its age, but still retains its convenient location and some elements reflecting its former role as one of the best hotels in the city. The luster of this area on "k" street has been tarnished, but it is still a short stroll to the White House and relatively convenient to other tourists sites. Rooms show their age, but hotel often is a relatively good value for a reliable, convenient stay, particularly if you are doing business in the White House/Exec Offices and want to avoid the luxury rates of its close competitors.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpmsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
National Harbor, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night. Check-in was quick and easy. We arrived early and the bellman stowed our carryons for us. Our room was on the smaller side but was ok for us. Just enough room for a queen bed, chair and desk/dresser. The bathroom was very nice and clean.

We did have drinks in the lobby. Pricey for a glass of house wine ($11).

The biggest con was that we had one of the rooms that faced the club across the street that other have mentioned. It was very loud (like someone was throwing a party in the room next door). It is not the hotel's fault but if you are a light sleeper and/or go to sleep early this may not be the hotel for you.

The biggest pro is the location. We were able to cross the street, get coffee at a Starbucks, then walk 5 minutes and we were at the White House. We walked to and from dinner the night before and felt very safe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at the Capital Hilton Thanksgiving weekend 2012. It is a lovely hotel, with great access to subway. We stayed in a double queen junior suite and it was roomy and comfortable. It had two large flat screen TVs and a cozy sitting room with a coffee bar. There were two large closets and a large chest with plenty of storage. We had excellent room service and great breakfasts in the concierge lounge. We will stay there again on our next visit to DC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to hear that our convenient location and breakfast was a plus factor during your visit. We truly appreciate your comments and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Connecticut
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I am staying at this hotel now for the third time within three months. My client requests that I stay here but if I had a choice, I would avoid this hotel at all costs.

First of all, I guess because of its location, in downtown Washington and just two blocks from the White House, it is incredibly expensive. I have stayed here at my client's request and have gotten their "discounted rate", which is $365 per night! And what does one get for that rate? Its easier to state what one doesn't get.

At that rate, Internet service is not free. It costs an additional $14 per night. If you are a Hilton Honors Gold or Platinum member, then of course your internet is free.

The hotel is old and every room I've stayed in, including my current one, is in the oddest layouts I have ever seen in hotels. My room now has a sofa with no lights or tables next to it. As I am sitting here typing this. I need to have my entryway light on so I can see. When I checked in last night I ordered room service, but there was nowhere for me to eat! The person who brought up my food had to leave the cart in my room so I can eat off of it. I do have a desk, but it is in an alcove, facing the wall!

I've been in rooms where the TV is so far away from the bed that if I want to watch TV in bed, I need to raise the volume so I can hear it. These rooms are old and need major renovations.

The bathrooms are small. And this time, for whatever reason, the water pressure in my bathroom is incredibly low. I notified the Front Desk about it this morning but no follow-up and no change in the water pressure.

The TV itself is a wide screen HD with plenty of HD channels, so that's one positive about this hotel.

Another positive is the location. It is within two blocks of the White House and an easy walk there. Also within walking distance are a variety of restaurants, shops and other government buildings and museums. Metro has two stops that are a short walk from the hotel, so if you wanted to go visit other parts of DC, it is very doable.

Overall, this Hilton does not meet my expectations of what a Hilton hotel should be like, I would stay here only if you have to. There are other hotels all around, which I'm sure are just as expensive as the Capital Hilton, but I'm sure in much better shape.

If you decide to stay here; Buyer Beware!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonypct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your honest review of your recent stay with us. At our hotel, we like to provide a personalized experience for each of our guests, but also look for ways to keep costs low while providing comfort and convenience. However, we would like to apologize for the condition of your guest room. We appreciate your feedback and we’ll keep it in mind as we work to make our services better. If there is anything we can do to rectify this stay, please contact us directly. We would love to have you as a guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#50 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,654 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 137 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#89 of 137 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capital Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing