We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Request a quiet room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Hilton

Save Saved
You added Capital Hilton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capital Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $159!
Ranked #81 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Seoul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Request a quiet room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The location of this hotel is great and you can get fairly good deals considering that factor. You must request a quiet room, however, otherwise you may getting up at night because of the sirens outside and general traffic that comes and goes at all hours of the day. Steve (I think) at the front desk was great in changing my room to a much quieter place.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review. It is certainly gratifying and reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also delighted to know that our friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We take pride in our product along with our warm and welcoming staff but nothing could make us happier than to hear great compliments for our staff and the services they provide to our guests. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    486
    214
    91
    30
See reviews for
265
260
53
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed at the Capitol Hilton November 2012. GREAT location, central to EVERYTHING! Near Metro and around the corner from the White House. Medium size rooms, VERY comfortable beds! Large LCD flat screen TV. Strong shower and plenty of under sink storage for toiletries. Very nice, accommodating and helpful staff.

Here are the draw backs:

- No refrigerator in the room, so if you need one, simply request it and they will deliver it and NO CHARGE
- The heat is centrally controlled and it is turned on at a certain time of year....it was NOT on the last week in November and it was very COLD in the room. The good news is that they provided a space heater, again at no additional charge
- They have a nice gym onsite which also offers classes. The downside is that you have to be at a certain level of Hilton Honors membership in order to use the gym for free, otherwise if you have not reached that Hilton Honors level, you are charged $15 per day to use the gym. I was there for 4 days and it adds up!
- Hotel restaurant is VERY expensive for breakfast and forget about ordering room service... with the cost and the fees...FORGET ABOUT IT! If you want breakfast, plenty of great restaurants in the area plus the Cosi 1 block away is starting delivery service. So in the meantime, put your coat over your pajamas, walk a block to Cosi, bring it back to the room and have breakfast and hot coffee in bed that way!

Room Tip: It's a big hotel ask to not be placed too far from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Most downtown Washington hotels are a little pricey, but the Capital Hilton's quality and convenient location makes it stand out. Three subway stations are within 2 blocks, and it is convenient to walk to the White House, Smithsonian, Chinatown, DuPont Circle, etc. Nice perks for HHonors members.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Nation's Capital. We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton soon.
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

You have might have experienced the situation before - you check in - the check in agent tells you - 'Oh, we have upgraded you to a Junior Suite' - and then you are disappointed when you see the room.

The rooms are worn out, the design is very 80is (you remember the TV Series 'Dallas' with JR Ewing?) and the Executive Lounge is not open for Members on Friday (all the fat-cats have left already and for the ordinary guests there is no need for a promised Hilton Honours Diamond Benefit).

Windows can open!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and I have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. I hope that next time you are in town, you consider staying with us. Thank you once again for your comments and happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Windows can be opened. No minibar in room but you can have one delivered.
Executive lounge serves very basic and simple breakfast and snacks in the evening.
Drinks are not free and come with crazy prices if you consider that you already did pay for executive lounge access and you have self service.
The only benefit in executive rooms are two free small bottles of water.
Room 1126 was offered as junior suite which it is not. You can not watch tv in bed.
For an extra payment of $ 8,- you can "enjoy" the Am breakfast buffet in the restaurant which is for international visitors a big disappointment. It has nothing in common with Hilton breakfast in Africa, Asia and Europe where chefs and pastry chefs show their skills at buffet.
Altogether for US businessmen and tourists the Hilton capital is sufficient.
The fact that apart from BBC there is no other international tv program as CCTV, AL Jazeera, RT, NHK, TV5, DW-TV or arirang shows clearly that like in most HIlton in the US foreigners are not welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and I have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. I hope that next time you are in town, you consider staying with us. Thank you once again for your comments and happy holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed at the Capital Hilton on business. They charge $300 a night for a 'deluxe queen' and will 'fee' you for everything from WIFI (note: PER DEVICE) as well as $15 a day gym fee (unless a Silver HHonors member). The place is not the most glamourous I've stayed at - from the outside, it looks very boxy and like a dorm room hall. The lobby is very simple. However, the hotel is very clean and the staff are very friendly. The rooms are pretty small from what I'm used to however, this is a city. Just keep in mind (here's a visual.....) when you're going to the bathroom, the bathroom door handle when open, will be right in your face. Yes, the room is tight. Shower is standard without a massage and the water takes a while to heat up - I was nervous that it wouldnt' get hot after showering different times during the week. It did, just slow. Pressure fair. Nice makeup/ighted mirror. Room Sevice 18% + a $5 fee. I complimented the chef on the goat cheese/artichoke ravioli with mushroom sauce/spinach. Delicious - I actually got it twice. The bed linens are very soft and feel upscale/comfortable. All fixtures are modern and new. TV is 40" flatscreen. No TVland LOL. The gym (name is MINT) - is conveniently attached as well as a small spa. Free USA Today. Overall a great experience - convenient to office as well as tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view that when you look out, look directly into another room - so be aware that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review. It is certainly gratifying and reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also delighted to know that our friendly staff factored in the success of your visit.
We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

The location is outstanding. Just a fewblocks from the White House and the National Mall. The hotel is just like any other Hilton. Similar amenities. Good fitness center. The room is spacious. To the Hotel manager: please replace or clean the shower curtains.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#75 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#75 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capital Hilton 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.