We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Hilton

Save Saved
You added Capital Hilton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capital Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $159!
Ranked #83 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Most downtown Washington hotels are a little pricey, but the Capital Hilton's quality and convenient location makes it stand out. Three subway stations are within 2 blocks, and it is convenient to walk to the White House, Smithsonian, Chinatown, DuPont Circle, etc. Nice perks for HHonors members.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Nation's Capital. We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton soon.
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    351
    493
    225
    92
    30
See reviews for
274
263
53
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

You have might have experienced the situation before - you check in - the check in agent tells you - 'Oh, we have upgraded you to a Junior Suite' - and then you are disappointed when you see the room.

The rooms are worn out, the design is very 80is (you remember the TV Series 'Dallas' with JR Ewing?) and the Executive Lounge is not open for Members on Friday (all the fat-cats have left already and for the ordinary guests there is no need for a promised Hilton Honours Diamond Benefit).

Windows can open!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and I have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. I hope that next time you are in town, you consider staying with us. Thank you once again for your comments and happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Windows can be opened. No minibar in room but you can have one delivered.
Executive lounge serves very basic and simple breakfast and snacks in the evening.
Drinks are not free and come with crazy prices if you consider that you already did pay for executive lounge access and you have self service.
The only benefit in executive rooms are two free small bottles of water.
Room 1126 was offered as junior suite which it is not. You can not watch tv in bed.
For an extra payment of $ 8,- you can "enjoy" the Am breakfast buffet in the restaurant which is for international visitors a big disappointment. It has nothing in common with Hilton breakfast in Africa, Asia and Europe where chefs and pastry chefs show their skills at buffet.
Altogether for US businessmen and tourists the Hilton capital is sufficient.
The fact that apart from BBC there is no other international tv program as CCTV, AL Jazeera, RT, NHK, TV5, DW-TV or arirang shows clearly that like in most HIlton in the US foreigners are not welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and I have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. I hope that next time you are in town, you consider staying with us. Thank you once again for your comments and happy holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed at the Capital Hilton on business. They charge $300 a night for a 'deluxe queen' and will 'fee' you for everything from WIFI (note: PER DEVICE) as well as $15 a day gym fee (unless a Silver HHonors member). The place is not the most glamourous I've stayed at - from the outside, it looks very boxy and like a dorm room hall. The lobby is very simple. However, the hotel is very clean and the staff are very friendly. The rooms are pretty small from what I'm used to however, this is a city. Just keep in mind (here's a visual.....) when you're going to the bathroom, the bathroom door handle when open, will be right in your face. Yes, the room is tight. Shower is standard without a massage and the water takes a while to heat up - I was nervous that it wouldnt' get hot after showering different times during the week. It did, just slow. Pressure fair. Nice makeup/ighted mirror. Room Sevice 18% + a $5 fee. I complimented the chef on the goat cheese/artichoke ravioli with mushroom sauce/spinach. Delicious - I actually got it twice. The bed linens are very soft and feel upscale/comfortable. All fixtures are modern and new. TV is 40" flatscreen. No TVland LOL. The gym (name is MINT) - is conveniently attached as well as a small spa. Free USA Today. Overall a great experience - convenient to office as well as tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view that when you look out, look directly into another room - so be aware that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review. It is certainly gratifying and reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also delighted to know that our friendly staff factored in the success of your visit.
We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

The location is outstanding. Just a fewblocks from the White House and the National Mall. The hotel is just like any other Hilton. Similar amenities. Good fitness center. The room is spacious. To the Hotel manager: please replace or clean the shower curtains.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Fl.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here for the FSU v. Maryland game. 2 blocks from white house and walking distance to everything in town. If you want to get to Arlington, it is easy to jump on the metro. Nice staff and rooms. Doormen nice and everyone is not looking for a tip around every corner. Nice restaurants are close (even a gentlemen's club across street if wife wants to partake and make hubby happy). Will definitely stay there again. Good prices compared to other hotels nearby. Had to pay 15 bucks for the gym, wife wasnt too happy about that. Took Super Shuttle from Reagan to hotel, not a bad price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We are delighted that our convenient location and friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We take pride in our product along with our warm and welcoming staff but nothing could make us happier than to hear gracious compliments for our staff and the services they provide to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here one night in2007 .excellent top floor accomodation with lounge area on each loot with all the usual bonuses. Great comfortable stay after drive from New Jersey.Friends who also stayed here with us then walked us around Washington and hotel well placed for famous sights

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to note that our location worked well for your visit in Washington DC. We hope to have a future opportunity to host you here in Washington DC.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capital Hilton 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.