We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic. Great Location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Capital Hilton to your Saves list
Capital Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $109!
Ranked #85 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nostalgic. Great Location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here for a quick overnight business trip. As a Hilton Honors member the gym was free. The gym is AMAZING! I think the price to use it is $10-$15. I don't know if I would pay that, but FREE was awesome. The gym is fully equipped and they have nice ice cold face towels infused with basil and herbs. Such a nice touch after a hard day and workout. The hotel rooms are small, but nicely updated. Room service was excellent. Hotel has an older musty smell.....as most old hotels do. If you are a history buff and enjoy old architecture then this hotel would be fun. Room was clean, no view though :( Location is great. Two blocks from the White House. I would stay here again if I needed to, but not my first choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Nation's Capital. We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    583
    280
    110
    36
See reviews for
324
310
65
529
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a handy place to stay in the DC area, especially if you are sight-seeing in the White House/Smithsonian/Mall areas. Good eateries close by and a nice walk to just about anything you want to see. The staff is accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We are delighted that our convenient location and friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We take pride in our product along with our warm and welcoming staff but nothing could make us happier than to hear gracious compliments for our staff and the services they provide to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a nice couple day vacation with our little ones. The service was nice and the location was especially excellent. It was within walking distance to so many things....a few blocks to the White House and several other museums. The hotel staff was great and very friendly. The smell on our floor was a little off putting but otherwise, all was good. The Executive Lounge staff were excellent and made my a.m. and p.m. experience especially enjoyable! Overall good stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Excellent location, superb service and wonderful food food! The hotel is located within walking distance to restaurants and attractions. The staff is pleasant, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. The corner room was spacious and very clean. The decor of the room could use some updating, but all in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I lodged there for the entire Presidential Election Day week on the 7th floor facing 16th street, about three blocks from the north entrance of the White House. On Tuesday night it was very difficult to sleep from 11:00 p.m. to about 2:00 a.m. because of the cacophony of noise emanated from the hordes of over zealous crowds marching down 16th street to the White House screaming, yelping, colorfully cursing the loosing candidate while praising the winning candidate with equally expressive words of passion as happy horn blowing and not-so-happy police sirens added background music to the scene. Sure it was an historical week in America and human expression is to be expected, welcomed, and perhaps embraced. I agree BUT I did learn something about the Capital Hilton that I found less than adequate for a prestigious hotel located in a populated city – BAD WINDOWS! More than 90% of all the exterior noise comes in through windows and doors. So when windows face a noisy city street, then installing soundproof windows can reduce noise levels by 75-95%.

Other than the poorly acoustically engineered windows, the Capital Hilton was a delightful place to lodge in all categories – But do know that it is never a good choice to get any sleep during a local celebration or even a political demonstration on the streets of Washington.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. I appreciate you selecting our hotel during such a historic event! We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I understand that the noise was an issue during your stay; while we do have additional security and overnight managers available during high traffic periods - we regret that noise was disruptive to you. I have however; taken your suggestions about installing soundproof windows and at this time we are discussing potential options that we can implement to reduce noise. I thank you very much for your comments and do apologize if you were inconvenienced during your stay. I do hope the next time you return to the area you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryans Road, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Enjoyed this stay! In town to see a concert at the Verizon Center. Very convenient a nice comfortable walk. Room was very clean, bed was extremely comfortable. woke up and enjoyed a nice workout in the gym. Starbucks directly across the street. Beware of the overnight parking fees.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review. It is certainly gratifying and reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recently stayed at the Hilton overnight. The hotel is very nicely located near all the big monuments in DC. The rooms a bit outdated but it is to be expected. The one thing I didn't enjoy about the hotel was the fact that the cleaning staff knocked and tried to open our room door 4 times in a period of 2 hours. We didn't put the DND sign out but thought that they would only try once. They kept waking us up (which is why I didn't put the DND sign - was sleeping). Other than that it was a pleasant stay. Breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#75 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capital Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.