We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of quality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Hilton

Save Saved
You added Capital Hilton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Capital Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $159!
Ranked #81 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Cancun
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lack of quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It's a Hilton, nothing spectacular but great location. What it seriously lacks is service. In 24 hrs i have received 9 different room card key because they never work, i have had to wait to somebody to take my to my room because the card keys don't seem to work (mine and all others in executive floors. Today the guy at front desk seemed to barely care about my problem and my (obviously) bad mood (just minutes ago). Finally at my room... I have not a single towel. Yesterday cockroaches at the coffee machine, and the manager: "Really?" C'mon!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbrown231, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and I have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Again I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced while staying with us. I’ve worked team members to correct all issues mentioned. Thank you once again for your comments and we hope to have another chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    347
    487
    216
    91
    30
See reviews for
267
261
53
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, CT
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I spent a week here in October. It is close to the White House and in a good part of town. Service was adequate. It is not opulent and fairly expensive but such is DC. I had an executive suite on a private floor (card access). Nice place with a sofa bed and second TV. Very quiet room. Bathroom small but adequate for 1-2 people. Bed was comfortable. There was a continental breakfast in the executive lounge. Not much else. I am glad I didn't pay a fee for lounge access. Not very exciting. Rarely had a concierge on duty. They advertised hors d'oeuvres in the evening but never anything out when I checked. Health club was attached and free to Hilton Honors members. It was ok but nothing to brag about. Again, would not pay for the experience.

Room Tip: Upgrade with points, not $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincroft, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The room was a good size and the bed was comfortable. Nice location super close to the White House. Everything was very clean and requests made for extra towels and toiletries was answered very quickly. Concierge was knowledgeable and pleasant. Down sides...the noise from the street was pretty loud until around 2AM and we were charged 13.99 twice for one day of wifi use. When I called to inquire about the double charge they said it was "per device" and we had used 2 ipads. Kind of lame as we weren't told about that ahead of time.

Room Tip: We were in 794 was very noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbrown231, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience at our property; we are sorry to hear about the inconvenience with the noise and cost of our wireless internet service at our hotel.. While we do charge an additional fee for wireless internet, we try to be competitive with other hotels and offer quality services and amenities in our guest rooms. We hope you’ll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The location of this hotel is fantastic-right up the street from the White House and in a decent neighborhood.
The lobby is gorgeous...everything from the gym to the bar to the lobby bathrooms were large, elegant, and spacious. The gift shop had a great selection but was insanely overpriced (almost 4 dollars for a granola bar that you can buy a box of for $2.50 in the grocery store!). Parking was also very expensive ($44 including tax per night), but that seems to be the average price for the area.
We were very disappointed in the size of the room. We travel a great deal, and this room had to have been the smallest that we have ever stayed in...ever. The bathroom door could barely be closed and the entire setup just made us feel claustrophobic. The tv, chair, bed, and desk were modern, but everything just seemed to be almost on top of each other. The walls were also very thin and you could clearly hear drunken people loudly talking and walking down the hallway at night. We were also awoken at 8:15 a.m. by a housekeeper who knocked on our door (and all the other doors around us) yelling "HOUSEKEEPING!" She obvoiusly was not using a check-out list...

I am giving this a "very good" 4 star review because of the nice lobby, clean facility, and terrific location. However, if you stay at this hotel, beware that there are some teeny tiny rooms-and you may want to inquire about this before you book. Judging from other reviews, there are some larger rooms available at this hotel-I guess we just didn't get one of them...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegaltripper
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Booked at 24 hours notice, we were due to be in New Orleans but because of Huriacane Isaac went from NYC to Washington for a couple of days.

We used Hilton hhonors points at 24 hours notice, at booking in reception were fantasic booking us into the Harry Truman suite, what a treat the Grand Piano and all that. The guy at reception said "the trip is all about the lady '' How right he was thank you so much.

Breakfast even excelled the usual Hilton experiance, selection and service superb

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We got this hotel on hot-wire, and it was an incredible deal! The room was very beautiful, and the service was awesome.
When we first checked-in we noticed a faint smoke smell in our room and then saw cigarillos outside the window (we were on the second floor, by the second floor roof), so we called and mentioned it so we wouldn't get charged for damage etc. They offered a room change, but we declined, as it didn't bother us. When we returned from dinner later we noticed that they had freshened up the room with deodorizer etc.
In addition, the gentleman working at the door was so kind and helpful.
The beds were very comfortable too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Roads, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a room that looked out on the street. Noise level was so loud we could not sleep until 1:30AM. Car horns, sirens, people yelling all night and there is insufficient buffering --- curtains do not cover the windows. Parking is pretty much valet only and it is the typical D.C. $38 for a night. Drinks at the bar are expensive and forget room service. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable enough to toss and turn in until the sound level became bearable. A few blocks from the White House, so it did have a decent location. We have stayed in D.C. a half dozen times and this was the worse place we have ever stayed. You can find better for less.

Room Tip: Choose an inside room not looking out on the street or expect a long, loud night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbrown231, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I sincerely apologize for the noise issue encountered during your stay. Your comfort and safety is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our location again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#75 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#75 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capital Hilton 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.