We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right down street from white house!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Capital Hilton to your Saves list
Capital Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
new york
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Right down street from white house!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

First the positives, Centrally located right near White House and restaurants etc. Bed was comfortable. Given smoking room on 9th floor by accident then changed to another room on 5th floor. Came here for business conference in September. Nice sized room. Pillows good support. Bathroom nice and the Peter Thomas Roth bath products were great. Towels nice and soft. Cons: it was warm the 6 days I stayed here and I could not control the room temperature. It kept shutting down to economy and the room was warm when I came back into it. Had to keep pushing down the AC to on and adjusting the temp and then it would re-set itself 15 minutes later. Very annoying. Walls were paper thin.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbrown231, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your kind comments and regret that the temperature in your room was not in keeping with your expectations. Thank you for advising us of this, and allowing us an opportunity to investigate the situation and improve our services. Regards, Greg Brown, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    714
    338
    135
    42
See reviews for
405
381
78
683
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I have never felt the need to write a review but our experience at the capital Hilton was so bad I am compelled to do so. My husband who is a Hilton honors member hosted a conference there this weekend for 20 people and was embarrassed by the treatment and service in all aspects.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbrown231, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I regret you had the experience you reported, and hope to have a future opportunity to regain your goodwill. Please feel free to contact me personally to further discuss. I will appreciate having an opportunity to understand the challenges you experienced, and to assure you of our commitment to improvement. Regards, Greg Brown, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is one of my favorite hotels to stay at for its location, amenities and great attentive staff. Everytime I go to Washington DC I try to stay here at least for one night. I like to work out and a fitness club is attached to the hotel and it has just been upgraded. Took a spin class and the equipment is new. This rivals your gym at home. The hotel is old but updated on the room floors. The Executive level has nice food andd drinks. The staff always is nice and some actually remember me. If a good workout is something you like book your next DC stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERMUDA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

This hotel is fine. Nice clean room with a small loveseat. Free wifi in the lobby, you can pay for itin the room - would be nice to have it free in the room. Great gym and spa. Eating choices in the hotel were all very high, but there were affordable places within walking distance to eat. E had rented a car and found it difficult many times to reach the valet to bring the car out. We also felt it was an annoyance to them to bring the car out unless we were checking out.
The location is convenient and we got a good rate on Hotwire so we stayed for a night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Fantastic hotel right next to the White House. For the VIP guests there is access to the gym and the lounge. The only thing what was missing - a swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

This was a one day business meeting. I took the train into DC and was easily able to walk from the station to the hotel. Check in was efficient and I found the room clean, modern, and well appointed. You have to pay for internet use but there are computers for airline check in in the lobby. The rooms are secure with door latch and peephole. There are about 40 channels on the flatscreen TV but many are second rate filler. No international channels were noted. There was no traffic or room noise in my 6th floor room. You must go down an escalator to get to the lobby and access the elevators for the room. The hotel is very close to the Capitol building and the Mall and not far from the Metro. The Newseum and National Gallery are about 4 blocks away. Other Mall museums are a somewhat longer walk. We had breakfast and lunch served for our meeting and I though both meals were very well prepared, attractive and fresh with interesting bends of flavors considering they was served to a group. I did not use the fitness center but many folks run the loop around the Mall to the Washington Monument and this is a good launch point. I got a good deal for DC with a $180 senior discount.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We have stayed at the Capital Hilton three times with a very economical Hotwire rate of less than $100. At other times advertised rack rates can be as low as the mid hundred dollar level. At these prices the Capital Hilton is a capital good deal because of its premier location. Our rooms have always been comfortable and reasonably quiet even when they have overlooked the very busy corner of 16th and K.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbrown231, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that your experience was a good one, and we look forward to having you as a guest when business or pleasure next brings you to Washington. Regards, Greg Brown, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters in Washington, D.C.
Club Quarters in Washington, D.C...
#78 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Downtown / Chinatown
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#59 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#90 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capital Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.