We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro Style, Beautiful Suite, Awesome Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added State Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
State Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Retro Style, Beautiful Suite, Awesome Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I chose this hotel after reading all the reviews on Trip Advisor. They were not wrong. It is in a great location - close to the Mall and the Metro. It is located in Foggy Bottom and George Washington University. Lots of night life and great restaurants. I booked a king suite which had a full kitchen and a separate vanity area so I could do my makeup while my friend was brushing his teeth in the bathroom. The bed was perfect, and our room was cleaned beautifully every day. The only downside is the lighting in the room was a little dark for reading, unless you took off the lampshade. The staff was very helpful (except one young lady who will remain unnamed). The only weird thing was the two buildings and crossing through the garage, but this was minimal. If you want a great place to stay, you need not look any further than the State Plaza Hotel. We will definitely be back, and this will always be our go to hotel in Washington.

Room Tip: Upper floors are a little quieter - there is a hospital not too far from the hotel so there were a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Julie R,

Thank you for such a glowing review. I am happy to see that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel from our spacious rooms to our friendly service. We appreciate your recommendation and we can’t wait to see you again on your next visit to Washington DC!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    502
    160
    45
    25
See reviews for
318
311
81
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I chose this hotel for the price but was blow away by the experience. A short walk from the metro through the vibrant George Washington University neighborhood, this place has style. When I checked in, Augustus asked me if I'd like a room with a kitchen. Delighted to see a range with gas burners, and cupboards full of pots, pans, plates, and utensils, I went to the nearby Whole Foods for ingredients. Every time I saw a staff person, even if there were five of them in the same room, they would personally say hello to me, giving the place a warm feel. I didn't use shoe shine or laundry services, but loved having a vanity and a writing desk with stationery and envelopes, mail drop on site, stamps from the CVS next door and a Washington Post outside my room every morning. Great service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Rib S,

We were so happy to have read your review. I am delighted to hear that each interaction you had with a member of my team was both pleasant and helpful as we strive to ensure all of our guests feel welcomed. We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back !

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

What a pleasant surprise we got on check in. I was traveling with a friend and her daughter and we booked a two queen room. We expected that mother and daughter would have to share a bed. Upon arrival we were updated to a lovely sweet which included a bedroom with the two queens and a couch bed in the main room which gave us each a bed. The suite included a kitchenette and eating area and we couldn't be more delighted.
The staff was friendly and extremely accommodating
Parking at the hotel was $40 from check in to check out and well worrth it. Cabs were easy to catch
The location was just fine about a half mile from the national mall. So even though it was very hot, walking was convenient.
There were some bugs in the bathroom but other than that the room was clean and comfy.

Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Nancy H,

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that we helped to make your stay more comfortable by giving you a complimentary upgrade, as our number one goal is ensuring that our guests are satisfied. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I had a fabulous stay in this hotel. We had reserved two nights but when we drove to DC, we decided to drive straight through and arrived earlier than planned. We phoned ahead and the hotel staff was able to revise our reservation to include an extra day. We didn't get to our hotel until 11:00 pm on a weekday and the hotel staff helped us find someplace within walking distance to grab a bite to eat. The room was spacious, renovated, and very clean. To our surprise, it was a suite with a kitchenette (so bring along your own drinks and snacks). My husband asked for extra coffee the first morning and the maid service remembered that for the next two mornings. The hotel is in The George Washington University area and within walking distance to all of the DC highlights. (Example: around 5 blocks from the White House). If we travel to DC again, we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Lynette S,

Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted to hear that we were able to accommodate you on your impromptu arrival and with such helpful service, as we strive to make sure each of our guests are comfortable and feel as if they are at home. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed in an over 4 days in July. We really enjoyed the location of the hotel and how spacious the room was. We have a lot of friends in the area, and it was nice to have the kitchenette. It allowed us to invite them back to the hotel for a cup of coffee or a snack. The staff was always so friendly and helpful. Every time we stepped into the lobby we were greeted with a bright "Hello!" and a smile.

Pros:
- Location! This hotel is in downtown DC and close to the monuments and the
Georgetown shopping district. Great for walking. Also there is 24 hour CVS directly
next to the hotel. This came in handy more than once.
- Dunkin' Donuts and Starbucks within walking distance.
- Very spacious and tastefully appointed suite.
- Room service offered until 11 pm and a handful of places will deliver quite late - 3 am!
- Very comfortable bed.
- Great water pressure in the shower.
- Very clean room.
- Loved the kitchenette. Was able to stock up on some staples which helped save $$.
Includes a microwave, stovetop, refrigerator/freeze, tea kettle and coffeepot.
- Ordered a shrimp Caesar salad and a seasonal cobbler with ice cream from room
service. Large portions and decent flavor.
- We stayed during a very hot July week and the air conditioner worked very well and
was east to control throughout our stay.
- Stayed on the 8th floor and neither the street or the guests were too noisy (though I am
from NY so.....)

Cons:
- Room service order took over an hour to get to room for an order I was told would take
20 minutes (a cold salad and a slice of pie with ice cream).
- Low lights. Would have liked the option to have the room more brightly lit on a few
occasions.
- Though free wifi is offered, I could never get it to work for an extended period of time on
my iPhone.
- Would have liked to select on demand movies for the nights we stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Tiffany N,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review. We appreciate each detail of feedback received, as it helps us to better serve our guests. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent hotel. Clean and accommodating! We stayed in the north tower which is close to F street. Great rooms with comfortable bed dressing area and kitchen. In the Georgetown University area close to Foggy Bottom metro. Safe area!! The Garden Cafe is great but pricey like most hotel restaurants. Would recommend Carvings deli on F street close to 20th street.
About a 20 minute walk to the mall.

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear J.R. D,

We were so happy to have read your review. It is always great to hear how much our guests are enjoying the service and amenities that we provide, as guest satisfaction is our number one priority. We look forward to welcoming you back to the State Plaza!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was a great find. It deserves higher ratings than it has. Huge huge room, lovely kitchen, space for extra seating and even a dressing area. The bed was extremely comfortable. The fitness centre was well equipped and modern. The staff were very helpful. Location was ideal - walking distance from all the sights plus a trader joe and whole foods nearby.
I really don't understand the negative reviews for this hotel as I thought it was 5 star!

Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Watties_12,

Thank you for such a glowing review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us, as we strive to provide excellent service to each of our guests. We are very grateful for your 5 star rating and we can’t wait to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#60 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#16 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,412 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#24 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#105 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — State Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and TIG Global so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.