We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rolling Thunder Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added State Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
State Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Wise, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Rolling Thunder Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stay here for the Rolling Thunder Motorcycle event. Last year was great! They had saved all of our riders a parking spot just for our motorcycles. Check in went fast with no problems. However, this year was a mess! They were not prepared for us at all and check in took forever and was all messed up! To start with the guys working the parking area was very very rude! And not friendly at all!!! Then once we were checked in they had given two of the couples with us the same room so they had to go back down and go through the long check in again, with the not so friendly people working the front desk! And still one of those rooms were not right. We have reserved a king room and eneded up with a double bedroom. When asked about the room simpley was told they had no more king rooms, even though that is what we had reserved! On the positive, housekeeping is great and friendly The rooms are very clean and lots of room in them. The hotel is in a great location and walking distance to many attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    475
    159
    44
    25
See reviews for
300
289
81
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wise, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We recently traveled to DC for the Rolling Thunder motorcycle parade during Memorial Weekend. Previously we had stayed at this hotel eight consecutive years and brought friends with us. We always booked at least 4 to 5 rooms. In the past, we were welcomed and check in was smooth. The hotel was always prepared to park motorcycles in their garage and we were treated with the utmost courtesy. This trip, however, they were NOT prepared for our parking needs. We were rudely turned away from our usual spots, and it took over an hour for the valet staff to move cars and make room to park our motorcycles (which they knew were coming). We were treated as if we were an annoyance and as if we were not the right "class" to stay at this establishment. We soon learned from the staff that the hotel was under new management. Well, this management did not seem adequately prepared for the portion of the 450,000 bikers that came to DC this weekend that were staying at this hotel. While the rooms are clean and the location is convenient for our needs, we will take our business elsewhere next year to an establishment that respects all customers.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This is a very nice hotel that gives you a warm wellcome trough its friendly staff. The hotel has good rooms, comfortable and nicely decorated.
The price is very reasonable for what they offer.
They have a well trained staff.
One area they could improve is the food they offer wich is good but with limited choices.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have had an amazing stay at State Plaza! The rooms were quiet, spacious and included a dressing room with vanity, as well as a kitchenette with table for two! We ate all of our breakfasts in the room and were even able to heat up leftovers, from dining out, for an additional dinner, saving us money! Walking distance to all the attractions, and valet parking gave us easy access to our car when needed. Definitely will stay here again!

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for Memorial Day weekend and it was great. Loved the little kitchen and beds were very comfortable we were on the 6th floor and heard no street noise. Very easy walk to the monuments. The staff were very nice and accommodating to our needs and the bell man named Omar was very good !

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for six days and, with food/drink purchases from CVS pharmacy next door, was able to make my large suite in State Plaza a home from home. The suite was bigger than some apartments I have stayed in and it was cleaned immaculately each day. The staff were friendly and helpful. Good WiFi in the room, and good air conditioning. There's a reasonably sized fitness centre downstairs in the basement. Pity there isn't a bar or coffee shop/lounge - but v nice staff in restaurant made me a coffee when I needed one. I was rather sad checking out as I really felt at home in the State Plaza. Only drawback of area is that it is a good few blocks to a decent restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we highly recommend this reasonably priced hotel in a great location in DC. although we were in the older section of the hotel, it is very well kept, clean and well lit. the staff was more then accommodating and even allowed us to leave bags before check-in and after check-out. i came wearing a boot for a sprained ankle and left with same plus a slight head cold so they let me rest in the lobby with my foot up before finally departure. what hotel is that nice?

again we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — State Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, BookIt.com and TIG Global so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.