We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel to stay with affordable price!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added State Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
State Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Up & Go Package
Ranked #57 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“The perfect hotel to stay with affordable price!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

So good hotel, suites with fully furnished kitchen, so big and comfortable room, so good housekeeping, very clean, quiet, in a great location. The receptionist were very nice and helpful.
Very good price too.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    443
    144
    43
    24
See reviews for
288
267
76
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My recent stay at the State Plaza hotel was due to a group booking for a conference. I'm a little puzzled by some of the positive reviews but I think that it's a matter of perspective.

The hotel is well situated in Foggy Bottom near George Washington University. It is within walking distance of the White House and other major sites. The immediate area around the hotel is good but not exactly Georgetown or a nexus of high-end hotels.

As noted by other reviewers, the rooms are quite large. When considering the price, this makes the State Plaza a good value. The decor is dated and the carpet is a shade of taupe that looks like it's a result of wear and tear rather than design. The bathroom is small and dated like the rest of the room. The kitchen is very functional but, again, quite dated. Other hotel facilities like the lobby and business centre are quite basic. They work but nothing more. Breakfast was included in the rate and serviceable. Most evenings, neither the front desk or front door were staffed. I have to say that the king bed had excellent linens and was very comfortable.

I've done three trips to DC in three months. I have to say that I much prefer the nearby Melrose Georgetown; but the tradeoffs are clear...for a similar price you get the Melrose's very nice design, closer access to Georgetown and a posh feel to the place but would be sacrificing the State Plaza's living space and kitchen. I guess that it depends on your needs for the particular trip.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the state plaza the first week of December. Fantastic stay. Well appointed room and the bottle of water in the evening was nice. I had a renovated room and I could see the Washington monument from my window. The internet was fast and worked well. Having a kitchen was nice. Front desk staff was great. Thank you for a pleasant stay. Great job to everyone who took care of me. Definitely coming back.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I just got back from my second stay at the State Plaza. Both times I had a room in the E Street tower. I had heard those rooms were renovated so have always requested this particular tower. I cannot comment on the condition of rooms in the F Street tower, although might chose that on my next trip, just to see.

The rooms are clean and quite spacious. I have stayed in both a queen and a 2-queen room. The bathrooms are small (1 person), but clean and had everything I needed (loved the original pink/green subway tiles!). There is a sizable "dressing area" off the bathroom, perfect for finishing up hair/makeup while other are in the shower. The kitchen is spacious with a full size fridge and gas burners. The space is well laid out for families.

The hotel has 2 towers which are located on E and F streets, adjacent to GWU. A nearby CVS, Whole Foods Market, Metro stop and numerous restaurants make it perfectly located to anyone with business in Foggy Bottom. My daughter (a GW student) and I enjoyed a leisurely 10 minute stroll to the White House this morning.

The staff is friendly and accommodating. I have used the valet parking service and it is cheaper than other hotels in the area. I have returned to the hotel walking late at night and have always felt safe.

Room Tip: Request the E Street tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was friendly and ready to help. Location is very good - you can walk and see all the interesting spots as everything is 15 to 30 minutes away. Rooms are really big and comfy, dated a bit yes but I kind of like that . . . World Bank is really close which is great if you have meetings there. If you don't feel like making breakfast or coffee (as you have a kitchenette) you can order or go to CVS (virtually right next to the hotel), Subway, Starbucks , Dunkin' donuts are right there - like a minute away. Metro is also close by if you don't feel like walking or if you wish to do some shopping in Pentagon city mall, Georgetown or some more sightseeing and shopping in Alexandria. There might be some minor issues with Wi-Fi but that is not a big deal at all. I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came across this hotel on hotwire and were pleasantly suprised by it. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a large room on the 7th floor - much larger than your average hotel room. The room was very clean and well presented.

The hotel is in a good area - perfect for exploring the sights of the city and walking distance to most sights and museums etc.

One gripe would be the cost of car parking - I think it was around $34 dollars per day - this may be normal for the area although I felt that this was quite expensive for hotel guests.

All in all it was an enjoyable stay and I would stay here again.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatape, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I found the hotel on hotwire not realizing what it was, when I arrived I was upgraded and had a 1 bed 1 bath full size apartment. They got me anything I asked for. Amazing service. Slightly dated but close to the mall the the white house and the university. Tons of food around and yoga too.

Room Tip: you need to request a microwave and other items in your room. They offer free water and come around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — State Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TIG Global and Tingo so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.