We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added State Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
State Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 131 Hotels in Washington DC
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel have a good environment; since we arrived, the front desk people is very professional and offered us a free upgrade. The room is wide, with a kitchen, refrigeraror, living room. A bathroom with good shower. Ther is a comfortable bed.
The GYM is little and does not fill rhe expectation. The hotel announces it as "the state of art gym" but is almost average.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    437
    143
    43
    24
See reviews for
284
262
75
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location. the room was HUGE - two queen size beds; a desk; full kitchen; changing room and bathroom. Easy walking distance to Washington Monument and Alfred Einstein Statue. We happened to see a motorcade zoom passed us as we were walking to catch a bus tour. Very exciting.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I find this hotel to be really comfy and cosy. The staff is super helpful, the rooms are enormous, and each has a separate kitchenette with table and chairs, stove, fridge,and microwave (ours was missing, asked about it and it was delivered immediately). While it is a bit of a walk to the Metro (8-10 minutes to the Foggy Bottom Station) it is very convenient to the Lincoln, Vietnam, Korean War, MLK, and FDR monuments. The area is lovely and it is a short 15 minute walk to the White House.
The rooms are a bit tired, and the heating system can be difficult (too hot in our case) but management gave us a few clues and sent up a large fan that did the job.
No pretenses here, just comfort and friendliness. Recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Got a couple of days to enjoy Washington with a dear friend, she booked the hotel and what a treat. Hotel had a great location, really close to the National Mall. Check in was smooth we even got an upgrade and was an apartment. All really nice. At checkout we asked for the hotel to hold our baggage to enjoy the day and to have transport ready at an specific time to take us to the airport and they accomodated us perfectly. I recommend to everyone.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Awesome place close to the national monuments and right next to a CVS. As for the rooms I was in Room 824 giant room, king size bed, full kitchen, desk, changing room and very clean rest room also they gave a bottle of water every night. Hotel also has a small restaurant. As for staff, did not have any problems all good. One staff that stood out for me was Robert, lobby attendant. Great personality and very helpful. Room rate was reasonable and will not kill your wallet.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here 30th October for 4 nights - 2nd time at this hotel - very central for all the key sites with the White House about a 20 minute walk away - close to Foggy Bottom metro too and the GW University - easy walk to Georgetown - rooms are big and have a kitchen with a fridge and electric rings - we only used the fridge - kitchen so big it had table and chairs too - it saved us getting breakfast out every day. Staff very friendly - rooms very clean - would definitely go back

Room Tip: Avoid rooms the back onto the back lane to avoid noise re bin collections but it is only minor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the State Plaza for a week, Oct 28 to Nov 5, 2014. This is a wonderful suite hotel. The rooms are very well appointed and clean. As previous reviews have said very nice rooms indeed. The kitchen had no microwave but you can request a room with one, it did have a full size fridge and 4 burner stove, no oven. Came with pots & pans, utensils and cups, glasses the full meal deal. We enjoyed having breakfast in the room although the Garden cafe located in the hotel offers a very nice breakfast at a good price. Breakfast could be had for 12 to 14 dollars, supper from 14 to 28 dollars. All the staff were very nice and enjoyable to deal with. We had a very early flight home and we were able to book our taxi for 4 AM with no problems. They also offer laundry service if required.

The hotel is in two towers, one facing E street and the other tower faces F street, so they are literally back to back. You can walk through the buildings from one side to the other via the small enclosed parking garage or take the alley between the two buildings.

We stayed in the F street building, and next door to us was a small deli and store that is used by the students at the University (you are at George Washington U campus) but it is open to everyone and the deli sandwiches are very good for about $9. Nice place for a light supper to eat in your room or at the small park between the hotel and the deli. There is a CVS and a Liquor store at the E street building so everything is close.
The area was very quite when we were there (Halloween) not much in the way of noise at all.

You are walking distance (10 minutes) to the White House and the Mall. The Kennedy Centre is about 3 blocks away and the same with the Lincoln Memorial and the Vietnam. We walked to the Smithsonians and also to the National Portrait Gallery. You can also walk up to Georgetown from the hotel. We took taxi to Arlington Cemetary and also took a Hop on Hop off bus tour that we got at Union station. Take the bus tour as it will take you everywhere you need to go for $45 a person, we took it on the last day to see the stuff we had missed.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor, very quite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sharon M,

Thank you for such a glowing review. I am pleased to hear how helpful our location was for you when visiting all the attractions, as we are just minutes away from the National Mall. It is always great to hear such positive feedback regarding our hotel and our associates within. We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to our nation’s capital!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — State Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TIG Global and Tingo so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.