We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people Close to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added State Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
State Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great people Close to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We found this property staffed by friendly knowledgable people . The rooms are well maintained and very clean . Parking was available but limited . We could walk to all the major venues. Restaraunts were close by

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    426
    139
    43
    24
See reviews for
278
253
72
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is great if you want a place to stay that's close to all of the DC sights including the White House. I agree with a previous reviewer that said "why change the yellow tile - it's in perfect condition." This hotel embraces its retro look and adds a friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms, on-site parking garage plus a kitchenette all for a price that's below the newer hotels in the area. One note - the kitchenette includes a sink, refrigerator and cooktop, but NO microwave, so keep that in mind if you're planning to make your own meals. You may also have to request additional cookware from housekeeping - our room only had one large kettle. Another thing to know is there's a CVS and liquor store next to the hotel to buy anything you forgot plus the CVS has a prepared and fresh food section.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I chose to stay at the State Plaza Hotel 5 years after we first stayed there. We love the location and the kitchen is very handy. This time we were upgraded to a junior suite. It was very nice to have a full living room, kitchen, and bedroom. Our bed was incredibly comfortable, the bathroom bright and clean. We love the foggy bottom area and feel safe walking here any time of day. If you walk south about 4 blocks you are at the Lincoln Memorial/west end of the National Mall. There is a CVS and liquor store next to the hotel in case you forgot something or need a beverage before heading out for dinner. The staff is friendly and helpful. There are no ice vending machines, but the bell man was able to hook me up with a bag of ice from their back room.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was a good surprise. We got a newly refurbished room. The room had a full kitchen as well, so a great room if you're staying for a while. There's free wi-fi, which is great. The minus is that it takes about 10-15min to walk to nearest metro station and it is a little far from Georgetown and Dupont Circle (to walk). On the other hand it is close to The National Mall and the white house. Because of the value I would consuder it again, but if location is most important to you, this hotel might be a bit off the beaten track.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Chose this hotel just from the reviews on this website, and we were not disappointed. Stayed there September 2014. About 5 or 6 blocks from the White House, and so close to all other major sites, this was a superb base. Rooms are comfortable, lovely big, comfy beds, clean, and most have their own basic though fully equipped kitchen, with gas hob, refridgerator and microwave oven!
There are 2 buildings, and each has its own lobby and reception desk.
Small gym, and the restaurant was great for breakfast, though also open for lunch and dinner, and service was good.

Hotel rating is 3-star, but we think it is more a 4-star standard, apartment type hotel, without a swimming pool...though there is so much to see in DC anyway!

Bathroom was small, though clean and good all round. Shower was the most powerful I have come across! Very invigorating!
This hotel is on the campus of George Washington University, in Foggy Bottom.

The Metro train system is great, and so easy to navigate.

Lincoln memorial, Reflecting Pool, Washington Monument, National Mall, are all very close by and very walkable, in about 20 or 25 minutes. Taxis are not expensive too.

Nearest Metro / subway station is Foggy Bottom, about 10 or 15 minute walk.

We stayed in the newer building, with the restaurant, but it is easy to walk between the 2, they are connected, with a car-park in-between.

Staff are great, and nothing is too much trouble, and all requests are dealt with straight away.
Would highly recommend this gem of a hotel in DC, you will not be disappointed! Unbeatable location!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This location is excellent as it is well placed to explore the Mall and downtown DC. It is also only a few minutes from Washington National airport. The staff was very welcoming and helpful.

The facilities are disappointing. The rooms are spacious as the building used to be used as apartments. The faint smell of smoke throughout the building was noticeable even in our 'non-smoking' room. At approximately 8AM, I awoke to fresh cigarette smoke wafting into our room. Presumably this came from an adjoining room, but the smell was so strong that I was not going to be surprised to see somebody standing at the foot of the bed with a cigarette in each hand.
The walls also do not contain noise well. It was loud and clear whenever our neighbors used the bathroom, or when their alarm went off.

Due to the location, this place has great potential. However, I'll think I'll be looking for other options when I next visit DC.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the State Plaza for one night on a recent trip. The hotel absolutely needs to be updated (boring paint and decor, old drapes, slight smell of stale smoke, etc) but the bed was comfortable, the shower was hot, and the location was great for walking around the mall at night. It was close to some fantastic restaurants and the staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — State Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TIG Global and Tingo so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.