We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly quiet & convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added State Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
State Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sizzling Summer Savings!
Ranked #61 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazingly quiet & convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Shared a spacious two Queen bed room in the older South bldg with my two teens for a tour to DC. Pleasantly surprised to see a full kitchen and Frette linens on the comfortable bed. The lobby is small and the decor a little dated but the room size and location (just blocks from Lincoln Memorial) make it a great find. If your child goes to George Washington U- this is the place to stay close to campus. A short walk to the Foggy Bottom Metro and buses, the Mall, and not a bad walk to the museums We found that catching the DC Circulator bus a great deal ($1 fare) was very convenient on 21st and Penn for heading to museums or Georgetown. The valet-only parking is a bit steep $32 a night, but they were quick to get the car. Staff very international and pleasant to deal with. Many wonderful restaurants are a short walk away, 24 hr CVS is right next door. I would definitely try to stay here again.

Room Tip: I did not see the rooms in the newer North bldg, but the rooms in the lower South bldg were apt size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    407
    134
    42
    24
See reviews for
273
233
72
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey/Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I spent last Saturday night here after moving my son into his dorm at GWU. The hotel is just around the corner from his building so the location could not have been more convenient.

Since the State Plaza is a low-priced extended stay property I had expected a barely adequate experience at best. In fact, the room was large and clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fine. I didn't use the eat in kitchen but it would come in handy for a longer stay. I was on the E Street side and was not bothered by noise. I didn't try the restaurant.

Wifi could use an upgrade as I couldn't get on at all. And the $32 parking fee felt high, even though most hotels in DC charge about the same, because it was almost 1/3 of the room rate.

DC is blessed with many good hotels but this one is an unusual bargain. It's far from stylish and doesn't provide the amenities of a more expensive hotel, but I've stayed in other hotels of this type that weren't nearly as good. I'm not wild about the location apart from its proximity to GWU. However, I will certainly consider the State Plaza for our next visit to school.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz,NY
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Traveled to DC to move my son into a GWU dorm near this hotel. This hotel has two buildings that are connected. The main entrance is on E street but you there is also a small lobby on F street. We stayed in the F street building which is a quieter street and very convenient to the campus and dorms. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Valet parking is expensive but the room prices and free wifi were worth it. We booked a suite with two double/queen beds. Very comfortable and roomy. Full kitchen with nice touches -bag of ice in the freezer, bottled water daily, stove, pots and pans, plates and flatware, coffee maker, toaster all provided. Nice dressing area, clean newly renovated bathroom. Comfortable beds (pillows a little hard). The elevator is a little slow. We have stayed in 4 hotels near the Foggy Bottom campus so far and this was the best of all of them. Definitely going back. Did not eat in the restaurant - it has a new name and no published reviews so we didn't try it. Do not see a room service option.There are two great deli's nearby and a 24 hour CVS as well. Close to the mall and White House.

Room Tip: We stayed in the F street building on the 6th floor. No problems with noise - room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at the State Plaza Hotel for nine nights on a sightseeing trip to Washington DC. We loved our stay and have already been recommending the State Plaza to friends. The location was excellent.....only about four blocks to the metro going north and about 3 blocks to the Lincoln Memorial going south. Just to the east a few blocks was the White House and to the west the Kennedy Center. We took a taxi from Reagan National and the cab fare to the hotel was about $20, including the tip. We took the Metro going to the airport on our return and that was very easy (as long as you don't have a mountain of luggage). The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The complimentary bottled water each night was a nice touch. We asked for the renovated North Tower, but the rooms there were all taken and we were given a corner room on the 8th floor of the South Tower.....it was HUGE, more like an apartment than a hotel room. We could even see the Washington Monument from the living room and kitchen windows. The unit was somewhat dated and sparely furnished, but very clean and well maintained. It was perfect for our needs. There was an entry hall, a small full kitchen (which was great for breakfast....there is a CVS with some groceries next to the hotel and a Whole Foods grocery store near the Foggy Bottom metro stop.....their muffins were superb), a dining area, a big living room, two closets, a bedroom with a king bed and a smallish bathroom with lots of mirrors. We had plenty of room to settle in for our long stay. Free WIFI is another nice touch and we had no problems at all with it. The only two teeny-tiny complaints we had were the super slow elevator and the fluctuations in shower temperature occasionally, but these were very minor. The bed was comfy and there were lots of pillows and nice big fluffy towels. There were several good restaurants within walking distance. The best was Founding Farmers.....be sure to make reservations! All in all, we were very pleased with our stay -- the price was reasonable for downtown DC and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 801 was awesome! We could see the Washington Monument from our window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife was attending a concert at DAR Constitution Hall, so we decided to make a family weekend out of it. I scored a deal for the State Plaza Hotel on Hotwire for $89. Check-in was a breeze. Valet parking is $32 per night + tax. A bit steep for those not accustomed to paying for parking, but it beats trying to decipher DC parking regulations. We had a standard suite with a kitchen and a view of the Washington Monument. Even though we did not cook any of our own meals, the kitchen came in handy for bringing home leftovers from the amazing dinner we had in a nearby restaurant. The suite was clean and spacious with comfortable bedding. The hotel is relatively small and quiet with not much noise from either the hallway or the outside. It feels more like an urban apartment building than a hotel. While we enjoyed the room, the best part of the State Plaza Hotel was the location. It was just a 10-minute walk to DAR Constitution Hall. My wife felt comfortable walking home after the concert. There's a 24-hour CVS and a liquor store right downstairs. Not only is it convenient for stocking the fridge with cold beverages, but as we discovered later, it comes in handy when you need to purchase emergency stain remover at 2am. Our only real quibble with the hotel was the painfully slow wi-fi. While it's tough to complain about a free service, our daughter was unable to watch Netflix on her tablet because of the slow connection. Overall a great deal in a great spot.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms on higher floors have a view of the Washington Monument.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Service: This hotel had excellent service. The front desk staff were exceptional. They went out of their way, for example - we wanted to go to a shop and wanted to get a taxi. The lady at front desk said we can also catch the metro and then explained exactly how the DC metro works, providing maps etc.
All staff greet customers and are friendly.
10/10
Room: The room was clean and well equipped. We rented a double room ( 2 queen beds) and had a kitchen. The kitchen had sufficient space. The room housekeeper saw that we drank coffee and brought extra coffee sachets without us even asking. The room was quiet. FREE WIFI.
Location: This hotel is literally next to the GWU and 5 mins from the nearest metro. The hotel has 2 entrances and has two buildings. The guests can enter and exit from either side. The hotel is walking distance from the tour bus route (big bus tours - i think red and yellow lines). There is a CVS chemist next door to hotel where you can buy some food/drinks as well - 24 hours.
10/10

Food: We had breakfast (all American option). This was not so good. The options were limited and was repeated exactly as the days before. The confectionery items were not good at all. However, mid way through our stay they upgraded the breakfast and it improved considerably but still just okay. Again the staff - waitresses were excellent.
5/10

Problem: The room had bed bugs and my wife was bitten on her feet and face. This was quite annoying for her as she was itching the whole day for 3 days.

Room Tip: floor 7 queen beds double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved having the State Plaza for our home for 4 nights. The large rooms are immaculate, the beds were very comfortable, and it was very quiet. The space was wonderful to have after a day of site-seeing. The small kitchen was great to use for one or two meals a day. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. You will feel good the minute you walk in the door. It's close to the monuments/memorials, and the White House. Wifi worked great.

Room Tip: I noticed on their website that some rooms have sofas, but ours did not. We did not miss it. I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — State Plaza Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TIG Global and Venere so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.